We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huskisson Bayside Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Smelly room”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked only 1 night in January 2014 thank goodness. When we arrived the room smelled strongly of air freshener, and after switching it off during the night the smelly room it was concealing came through. The TV didn't work, although we specifically said we wanted to watch the Australian Open that evening. When we complained to reception we were told that TV didn't work in that room "don't know why you were put in there". So we had to watch on a tiny TV in the bedroom. The room was dated, there was a kettle and toaster provided but no sockets to plug them into! On reporting this to reception in the morning, the response of the manager was "what do you expect for a 3 star motel in a 5 star resort". We paid $165 which was very poor value after paying $145 for a superb waterside unit in Bateman's Bay the previous night

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Winniewin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBpossum, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It has been a bumper season here in Huskisson with the Motel enjoying an extended Summer season. More and more people are discovering the beauty of Jervis Bay and we are seeing a greater number of International Travellers staying with us. The great weather, great location with plenty to do keeps people coming back.
Thank you
Shay Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
23
63
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We just turned up on the day driving through and luckily of us rooms available. Very helpful management and handy coffee shop on site. Perfect spot for the beach, need to book table if you are going to eat out locally.. Good spot was The Husky Pub... We stayed in January 2014 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have just spent two nights at this motel as a family. We walked into the large room and found it to be very clean. We slept well at night as the room was quiet despite the motel being fairly well to capacity. The motel is very basic and not one where you would go if on a romantic stay. It was a good place to rest as we were out and about during the day. I can't comment on the service as we only needed to pick up our room key and then drop it back into the office.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked late and we're happy to get any accommodation On arrival we were met by the most helpful owner in Matt. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was as the website. Large and older in style but offering all the basic needs. We wanted a great spot for R & R and that is what we got. Perfect. The location is great and it is up to you what you make of it from there. Beach walks, restaurants, clubs, day trips and the beach. All steps away. If you don't go expecting the Ritz you will be very happy with this great spot with friendly owners eager to make your stay a happy one.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here New Years Eve and we're very happy with the motel. It's less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of Huskisson and 2 minutes to the beach.

The room itself was clean, with basic facilities like Plasma TV, Fridge and Tea & Coffee facilities.

Can't really fault this place. What they advertise is what you get.

Highly recommend staying here if your in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Although the decor is very dated, the room was clean and very very large. I guess this was why it was rather expensive,but we enjoyed our stay in beautiful Huskisson and and Matt (the owner) was very nice and helpful. The motel is in a fantastic position.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBpossum, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you had a nice time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went for the weekend. When we walked in to the room our hearts sunk, the look of the room was depressing. We just weren't happy with it. We would stay out all day avoiding to go back to the motel so we would stay out till late. So we practically just slept there. And looking at the photos of the rooms that people have posted up ours had to be the worst.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HananRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBpossum, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
All experiences are subjective and although the weather was not good on the weekend people were out and about enjoying themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huskisson hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
1.9 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#2 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.0 mi away
Golf View Motel
Golf View Motel
#2 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskisson Bayside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Bayside Resort

Property: Huskisson Bayside Resort
Address: 28 Bowen St | corner Bowen & Hawke Streets, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huskisson Bayside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Huskisson over looking a beautiful park/play ground and Jervis Bay. We offer vintage style accommodation to suit a variety of travellers. We are centrally located to restaurants, shopping, bus stop, activity options and of course the beach. Our rooms are clean, staff are friendly and we look forward to seeing you at Huskisson Bayside Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Huskisson Bayside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing