We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"welcoming and clean"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huskisson Bayside Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“"welcoming and clean"”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I went to huskisson for a friends wedding and had not been before. We phoned a couple of places and could not get accommodation ( very busy on weekends) Finaly the Bayside had a room available.
We found the Hosts very helpful and friendly and the accommodation clean and comfortable. The Motel was in a good location, we were able to walk to the restaurants, and the beach. The pool was good, very deep, could not touch the bottom.
Huskisson is an "Amazing" part of the South Coast, a great spot for a short break!
I will recommend this Motel to friends, basic but comfortable!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vehicle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskybayside, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    44
    20
    16
See reviews for
23
65
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed for $130 in the most appalling room we ever seen in our travel. The mattress was saggy, carpet worn out, and the plumbing from the upstair room was gracing our ceiling and the smell of human excrement were wafting through our room.
The tap-ware was leaking, the basin dirty and a couple of spiders made themselves at home in the bathroom.
To dare selling such a room to travellers is nothing short of criminal. My wife and I had to get Physio once back in Sydney to straighten our sour back.
It felt like a crack lab without the high.

Scandalous.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomainLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskybayside, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It is very unfortunate that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Sundowner Huskisson Bayside Motel. The issues raised are currently being investigated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huskisson hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We booked a Superior room on Wotif.com for a weekend stay. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly chap who I assumed was the male co-owner. Then we got to our room. Nothing at all “Superior” about it.

There was no bathmat provided on the first day, the bathroom floor was unclean, the toilet had a leak, and a cracked reservoir and the resultant odour was extremely unpleasant. The toilet paper roll holder was broken.

The springs in the bed are almost beyond their lifespan, and in our opinion, rather than installing flat screen TV’s into these outdated rooms, the management would be better advised to upgrade the bedding. They could also repair a broken drawer handle as well as it wouldn’t cost much.

The air conditioner filter was unclean, the machine itself was very noisy.

One of the key selling points at the time of booking was the pool, however, this did not meet basic hygiene standards as it had a murky green colour, and sludge on the bottom.
Although the filter seemed to be running, it looked as though it needed servicing. My partner was very much looking forward to swimming in the pool as she is not a beach person, but after seeing the state of the pool, she said “I wouldn’t let my dog swim in there”.

Overall, there seems to be a general inattentiveness on the part of the owners in terms of property upkeep, as well housekeeping.

The only redeeming part of the stay here is the proximity to eateries and beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskybayside, Manager at Huskisson Bayside Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at Sundowner Huskisson Bayside Motel. We were very disappointed to read of your negative experience and have taken the necessary measures to address and resolve the issues raised.
It was unfortunate your wife was unable to access our pool, which yes is one of the best features of the hotel. Over the time you stayed we had a chlorinator breakdown, which has been replaced and once again the pool is fully operational.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My partner and I were travelling up the south coast of NSW and spent 2 nights at the Huskisson Bayside. Huskisson is a wonderful, picturesque seaside town - we cannot recommend Husky enough.

The Bayside was ok. We had not booked anywhere along the coast for our trip and had initially called the two campsites in Husky however they were booked out (if booking in advance, check out these places first). We jumped on wotif.com and found that the Bayside had a double room available. We called the motel directly and were charged $10 more than wotif (for some reason).

The room was ok. The bed was comfortable enough, the room big enough and the toilet/bathroom comfortable enough. The room had a slight smell to it however, almost like stale sweat. The location is fantastic. Very, very close to shops/cafes and a 3 minute walk to the beach (Note - the closest beach is great, however has a considerable amount of rocks and seaweed - however still crystal clear water).

All in all, the Bayside is decent enough accommodation. Our only concern was the price - $189 per night. Granted it was peak season, however we felt it was a little overpriced. We were very grateful though as the rest of the accommodation in Husky that we could find was booked out, and reception did give us a couple of tips for eating out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MipKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We are frequent visitors to Huskisson and stayed last year at the bayside.
Brian was extremely friendly and helpful and gave us great advise on where to eat and visit, as we are not locals he told us about many things to do that we had not previously known about.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, the location devine and the spa an added extra that was very enjoyable.
Would highly recomend a stay here

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We spend a wonderful weekend here at Huskisson. The motel is in front of the park and the bay. A short walk to the pub, shops, rsl club and marina. In the reception, a friendly and helpful Brian will tell you where to go and where to eat to enjoy your stay. He even tell you what's the prices in the restaurants around. RSL Club got the best views, cheap and nice food with huge serving. We had dinner at Stone Grill for 30 bucks each including entree, main and dessert (cook yourself in the stone plate for mains).

The motel room we had got a balcony with water views, with spa and very roomy. They also have a small swimming pool but who needs it, gorgeous beaches are around.

We went a couple of times at Booderee National Park and saw the whitest beach (Guinness World Record according to Brian). A bit of bush walking, relaxing at the powdery white beach and saying hello to wallabes and kangaroos made our weekend exciting and fun.

We love our holiday here and will definitely comeback!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherelydf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
1.9 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#2 of 4 in Huskisson
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Huskisson
The Huskisson
#6 of 6 in Huskisson
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskisson Bayside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Bayside Resort

Property: Huskisson Bayside Resort
Address: 28 Bowen St | corner Bowen & Hawke Streets, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huskisson Bayside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Huskisson over looking a beautiful park/play ground and Jervis Bay. We offer vintage style accommodation to suit a variety of travellers. We are centrally located to restaurants, shopping, bus stop, activity options and of course the beach. Our rooms are clean, staff are friendly and we look forward to seeing you at Huskisson Bayside Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Huskisson Bayside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing