We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but dated. Ideally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huskisson Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean but dated. Ideally located”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean, comfortable but old fashionned. We had a room with view (a bit noisy during the day)
Position is very good close to the beach, shops,restaurants and cafes.
Bathroom clean but very outdated.Free wifi but couldn't get access form our room, nor from our teens' one located at the bak of the hotel. Checkout time is 10 am. No delay accepted !!
General air of defensiveness in this hotel.
Great location and very acceptable when it is full everywhere

Room Tip: Rooms with outlook are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuskissonBM, Owner at Huskisson Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi all,
we have taken over the motel on the 1st of august!!! Many plans in place, new modern linen,upgrading internet, face lift and restaurant coming in 2014. A fresher, friendly approach to all your accommodations needs for the south coast area!!!!



regards

Huskisson Beach Motel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    103
    58
    21
    18
See reviews for
69
116
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean and comfortable but very dated with 80s style fittings and fixtures. In a great location and very acceptable for an overnight stay. Hussky certainly is a beautiful spot and this motel is close to beaches, restaurants, pubs and all the area has to offer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The room is small but adequate for two people in a standard room, the bathroom was bijou but ok for an overnight stay. The motel, most importantly, was spotless and smelt clean. Access to wi-fi was restricted as in many places but cable TV channels are a blessing if it rains. There was no outlook from our room but the room was quiet (towards the back of the motel) but we can imagine that it could get noisy with a big crowd in the motel. Position was very good, within walking distance of everything you need. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and all motels would do well to update their beds to a good comfortable standard - that's what we all look forward to after travelling. The owners must have had some bad experiences with the public because there is a general air of defensiveness about the motel - you have to collect the hairdryer and iron from the office and the kettle was old. This is a basic, clean motel that could improve its feel enormously with a few added extras like some nicer bathroom shampoos and soap. New carpet was being installed when we were there. The overall feeling we were left with was that it must get rough here at times and the owners are tired of being trodden on by some guests..

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the front would have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would like to give it 3.5 stars but since I can't, they've got 4.

The motel is like any motel you can expect, with a few extras. It's clean but dated. They have cable which will suit folks who like to chill out in the evenings. They are in a great location, across the road from the park/beach and around the corner from the main shopping strip.

The room is equipped with a kettle and a toaster if you want to take some of your own bread and spreads. Coffee/Tea is also provided.

They offer free wifi but unfortunately I couldn't get access from our room.

The shower is not high pressure, but there is quite high flow so that was fine.

The room rate is expensive, but it was the Australia Day long weekend and the other accommodation in the area were just as expensive (if not more) and was trying to force us into staying for three nights. So while a lot of people have pointed out that it is expensive, I personally think that it is just the whole area in general!

Room Tip: We had room #31 which overlooked the bay and had a balcony which you could sit out on and have a dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The value of the motel didn't match the price we pay for this stay on our road trip from Sydney to Melbourne. The room is very small, the air condition is turn to the top but still hot inside. The Barth room was so small even we are small but couldn't turn around in the shower.
The Internet access was so bad, you almost couldn't do anything on that kind of the speed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linmom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We like staying at this motel when we visit beautiful Jervis Bay because unlinke most of the other accommodation during high season times, they do not have a minimum night stay and we prefer to stay less than 7 nights. We also don't need to book too much in advance.

The advantage of staying in Huskisson is that this is where all the restaurants and attractions are hence we drive 10-15 minutes to a stunning beach, such as Hyams, during the day but return to shower off and walk to dinner in the evening. The thing i hate most about 3 star motels is that disgusting bedding that i personally believe never gets washed (that thick cover with a thin sheet underneath) - i am convinced that only that thin sheet gets washed regularly. So what we do is take our own bedding with us which makes for a much more comfortable stay.

The rooms are somewhat clean, but one thing that grossed me out is that the knob to turn water on in the shower had all this filth on it. Half was cleaned but the other half wasnt so obviously the cleaners didnt do a thorough job and clean the whole knob underneath. Also the shower head was broken and kept falling down when you tried to shower.

We like to stay in the bayview rooms which have their own verandah even though its probably not REALLY worth it for the extra money - considering the views are obstructed by trees and across the road. Another problem with the bayview rooms is they are right on the road, and although Huskisson doesnt strike me as a 'dangerous' place through the day at all, i feel a little afraid at night as almost EVERY NIGHT i heard people hooning and yelling from their cars as we tried to sleep. I have learnt to take ear plugs. One year there was even somebody yelling in the middle of the night somewhere in the motel complex (sounded like they had wondered in from the street)... my sister also heard it in their room and it was quite scary.

All in all, it is what it is, its probably cheaper for than any other hotel you will find in the area, especially during school holidays and high season, and it is in a good central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We would have given this Motel an extra star but it seemed like they were taking advantage of the Holiday rush and charging high prices for their rooms as they were bound to sell out on the weekend we visited. Of eight Motels we stayed in on our trip this was the most expensive and, while good, certainly not the best. The location is good with Beach, Bars, Restaurants and Shops all very close. The room was of a decent size and layout, clean and tidy with exposed brickwork which looked good. The bathroom was OK and the bed comfortable and of a decent size. The Air Conditioning unit was small but efficient and the TV had Fox Sports which was appreciated for a change. WiFi was available but the signal was very poor in our room at the end of the car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception if you want to use their WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
2.0 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
283 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huskisson Bayside Resort
Huskisson Bayside Resort
#4 of 4 in Huskisson
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#2 of 4 in Huskisson
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskisson Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Beach Motel

Property: Huskisson Beach Motel
Address: 9 Hawke St, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huskisson Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Huskisson Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing