We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nicholas Royal Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hay
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Large rooms, clean and comfortable, the motel is very well located in town. We booked at short notice and the staff were excellent, going out of their way to make sure the room was warm for our late arrival.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acetog, Owner at Nicholas Royal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Mark,
Thank you for your positive comments.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Nicholas Royal Motel.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Being in centre of town, close to shops and restaurants and hotels. Staff very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend this motel. We are usually towing a boat and their is always somewhere to park and turn around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1980mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acetog, Owner at Nicholas Royal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.
Glad we were able to accommodate your boat.
As you know, we have ample parking available for trailers and boats alike.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way through Hay. The rooms are comfortable, and they are extremely clean, fo which they should be commended! The staff are very friendly and helpful, and we would stay here again based on this. Although the motel is on the highway, it was extremely quiet, and we heard no traffic noise from our room. There is a great restaurant next door, where we ate, and their meals were very enjoyable. Great value accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acetog, Owner at Nicholas Royal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Jasmine,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nicholas Royal Motel.
It is great to read such positive comments and we are glad you liked the restaurant next door.
They are still serving great meals, so we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The receptionist was very friendly and made us feel welcome. The motel room was basic but comfortable. A little overpriced. This is a 3 star establishment and has no restaurant. A cooked breakfast is included in the room rate and is brought to your room. Convenient location. Great for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acetog, Owner at Nicholas Royal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Stephen,
We welcome your feedback.
Just to clarify, we are 3.5 star motel and there is a great restaurant - the Jolly Jumbuck bistro just next door which is very popular.
We pride ourselves on our freshly cooked breakfasts, using local free range eggs, so we look forward to serving you another great breakfast when you return.
Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I always stay here when travelling out this way for work - The rooms are clean and modern and the staff are very professional with that country friendliness that one comes to expect. Situated in the middle of the main CBD for Hay NSW it if off the road so if you are travelling with family there are plenty of grounds and swimming pool for younger ones and the older ones. The rates are reasonable and what would be expected from this class of motel. Good restaurant next door and others close by

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same in this motel complex - They are off the street and away from any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acetog, Owner at Nicholas Royal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Tom,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nicholas Royal motel.
We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having had this motel arranged for us, lovely to see that we would not be disappointed as we were elsewhere. Comfortable, Clean and basically noiseless which were welcome after a long drive. Swimming pool bonus. Would definitely recommend and yes, if I were to be traveling through Hay again would stay here.

Room Tip: swimming pool rather than a fitness center which was clean and tidy and very welcome to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acetog, Owner at Nicholas Royal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for such a positive review.
We are so glad you weren't disappointed with the accommodation.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here over the long weekend in June. The new managers went out of their way to help us, very clean rooms and the breakfast was wonderful, warm and on time. Thank you Wayne & Tania will be booking in next time we are in Hay

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nez47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hay hotels
0.5 mi away
Highway Inn Motel
0.8 mi away
Bishops Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Saltbush Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bidgee Motor Inn
Bidgee Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Hay
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cobb Inlander Motel
45.3 mi away
Corynnia Station
Corynnia Station
#1 of 5 in Hay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholas Royal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholas Royal Motel

Address: 152 Lachlan St, Hay, New South Wales 2711, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Hay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hay
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicholas Royal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nicholas Royal Motel is situated in the centre of the main street of Hay, Lachlan Street, adjacent to the superb Jolly Jumbuck licensed bistro and is just metres away from cafes, shops, the Post Office, Council Chambers, banks and hotels. The 16 pleasant single story (ground floor) units are all non-smoking and enjoy a quiet, leafy garden setting; complete with saltwater swimming pool and guests BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nicholas Royal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing