We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One out of Two”
Review of Saltbush Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltbush Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hay
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One out of Two”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Saltbush twice on our trip to Sydney in September and on the return to Adelaide in October. On the way over we had a good experience, although the young woman on reception recommended a local restaurant where we had one of the worst meals of our lives. On the way home however, we were not given the family suite that we had booked but instead given a single room with 3 beds. I had explained when I booked that our son has an issue with sleeping but clearly, making more money by squeezing as many people into the motel as possible is more important. The people who did get our room were up half the night sitting outside talking, which only added salt to the wound. I originally complained but was told there was nothing that could be done as the other people (to whom the family suite had been given) would be there soon). There was a makeshift apology the following day when we were leaving.

Room Tip: Make sure the motel isn't heavily booked or you'll be put somewhere at owner's convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Their_Mum_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback I'm only sorry it has taken you three months to provide it. Firstly I would like to address your feedback regarding the recommendation of the local hotel. We provide everyone with a list of what is available in the town for meals. Three pubs, two clubs and two takeaways. It is our habit also, to advise everyone who stays, that the meals available are not "posh pub" meals but rather the old fashioned counter meal. I am not sure how our motel can be held responsible for the quality of the food at another establishment but I will take your comments under advisement and pass them onto the hotel concerned, I am sure they would appreciate your feedback. I suggest you put a review on their site rather than ours. Now to clear up any discrepancy regarding your booking. On your first trip you booked a family room of which we have three. One is two bedroom unit and the other two are spacious twin suites with a queen bed and two single beds (available to view on our website). We actually do not have any single rooms in our motel, the smallest room being a standard queen room which has a queen bed only. You had sent an email prior to your return booking explaining your son was scared of the dark and needed company in order to sleep. We then made an incorrect assumption you required to be all in the same room. On arrival you were less than undestanding to my poor young trainee and she called me in tears. On my return to the motel I met you in reception where I explained why my assumption had put you all in one room, even showing you the ambiguous email you had sent and notes I had made to ensure your family was accommodated as you had requested. This fell on deaf ears. The next morning, in front of a reception full of guests, you once again voiced your displeasure and I heavily discounted your room and you threatened "to slate me on every website available" and stormed out. I then called you on your mobile to once again apologise for the confusion over your request and your husband, who answered your phone, repeated your threat. My apologies, profuse apologies, would hardly be sited as makeshift. So, what to do?? Wait for your slating and respond appropriately?? Furthermore, with regard to people sitting outside your room talking? Really, how inconsiderate of them. I only wish you had pushed 9 on your handset and advised me you were being disturbed that evening rather than wait to advise me in the morning when there was absolutely nothing I could do about it. I could have them asked them politely return to their room in order not to upset other guests. As simple as that. Unfortunately, some people, no matter what you do, are determined not to be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    82
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
103
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crafers, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This a no brainer for our little family (3) to stay here on our way to/from Adelaide-Sydney. From the friendly reception, to the clean and comfortable rooms, we find we all look forward to staying here. It really is a little oasis in the middle of the 'big' drive. My daughter loves the pool, it's basic, but a welcome relief particularly after a long, hot drive. We do a lot of road trips in Australia and wish all motels could be like this.
We've stayed in the family room, standard room (with an extra bed popped in) and the cottage. All great. Highly recommend.
Oh and it's quiet, have never had any issues with noise.

Room Tip: For any size family the family suite is excellent. Big rooms and at the end of the building so you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We love seeing our guests time and time again and appreciate any feedback we receive to ensure that you do come back. With regard to the pool area, we have plans underway to upgrade the surrounding gardens and source some new furniture in time for the full onslaught of our Hay summer. We look forward to seeing you next time you make the crossing from Adelaide/Sydney/Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in the family unit and were very happy with the cleanliness and the size of the rooms. We were there in Winter and we were very pleased that the unit was very well heated. Wifi worked well - which is not always the case at other places.The Saltbush Motor Inn was by far the best place we stayed on our family road trip. Even the little extra of having a bucket of water and windscreen cleaner/squeegee available in the car park impressed us. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. It was a shame we didn't stay for longer! I have been recommending this place to everyone I know of that is travelling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmerFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Its always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Our WIFI is high speed, as it needs to be, for the convenience of our guests. Thanks for recommending us as well. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I feel compelled to write a review and I have only been checked in for two hours. The place is so clean and the check in was friendly and efficient. What I really love though are two things:
- the Wifi works better than anywhere you could find
- the car spaces are massive so there is no crowding
Top job - really like it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Ben, thanks so much for your great feedback. We have 22 carparks and 19 rooms at the motel. This allows for a couple of rooms to bring a trailer into the carpark or an additional vehicle. We really try hard to make everyone feel welcome on arrival and make the check in as painless as possible. Hay is a long way from anywhere, so most of our guests are fairly travel weary on arrival and the last thing they want is a holdup in reception. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had the fortune to stay at this motel on my way to Sydney. What a great motel. Excellent facilities. Very courteous staff. Will definitely stay again. The only comment I would like to say is that there was nothing to use to heat food in microwave. Maybe put some microwave dishes in cupboard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay in Hay and at our Motel. Thank you for the tip regarding the microwave dishes. Certainly food for thought. We look forward to you staying with us when you next visit Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thanks to Elle and the staff for makeing our stay there fantastic. I had just spent a week in the desert and it was great to feel like I was at home.

Staff was very friendly and helpfull.

We stayed in the cottage and it was fantistic, Clean and just like walking into my home. It has all the comforts of home including internet, TV in each room and washing machines.

I am planning a trip with 20 friends from America next year and will be sure to spend our nights at Saltbush Motor Inn.

My only regret was that I did not spend another night or week there!
Mike Morris

Room Tip: If you have a family or group be sure to stay in the Cottage or the House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Wow Mike, what a review!! Thank you. The Saltbush Cottage is a great place to stay for families or groups and an extra special spoil for a couple. Lots of room and all the comforts of home. We look forward to your next trip to Hay and hope you are able to stay longer next time to take full advantage of all that Hay offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived here after driving through from Broken Hill, and felt that we had come 'home'. Our room was spacious, with a big warm bed (it was a very cold night out there) basic cooking facilities, and a huge television. The lady on reception was very helpful, recommending where we could eat and what kind of cuisine/cost.
In the morning after a hearty country breakfast I met some more of the staff when I went over to the laundry. They were so nice and friendly but unobtrusive.
I would recommend this place particularly for families - the family rooms near the pool were spacious, and tucked away down the back so that you wouldn't have to worry about disturbing other guests.

Room Tip: We had a large Queen room (suite?) halfway down the left hand side (from the street view), and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather and Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltbush88, Owner at Saltbush Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and made use of free laundry facilities. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hay hotels
0.1 mi away
Nicholas Royal Motel
0.9 mi away
Bishops Lodge Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Highway Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bidgee Motor Inn
Bidgee Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Hay
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cobb Inlander Motel
45.2 mi away
Corynnia Station
Corynnia Station
#1 of 5 in Hay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltbush Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltbush Motor Inn

Property: Saltbush Motor Inn
Address: 193 Lachlan St, Hay, New South Wales 2711, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Hay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltbush Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saltbush Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltbush Hotel Hay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing