We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont believe everything you read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I have just come back from Oceanside last week & really I don't know what these people are talking about.This Hotel was clean & the Restaurant was high class service & the food was great just like the hotel very friendly place.
The only thing I could fault was the room really wasn't big enough for 4 adults so if you are looking for a peaceful break do yourself a favor & go stay at Oceanside you will enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

Where do you start!, everything that was said by previous guests here is true. I was prepared to give the place the benefit of doubt, until I saw it all with my own eyes. The entire place needs an overhaul, starting with Management, the exterior of the place, the interior of the place, even the dead plants in the planter boxes on the balconies need to be replaced. The room did indeed smell strange, (not nice) the carpets and lounge were disgusting, I ended up putting towels on the lounge before we sat on it.

We ate at the restaurant below, found the meals were great, however the service left a lot to be desired.

So there you have it, Do not book a room at this place until they can boast about a total renovation having been completed, if you make the mistake of booking and paying before you read these reviews, like myself, I am sorry to tell you that you will not be getting your money back either, they have a NO CANCELLATION POLICY - but take my advise forget the money and book elsewhere - the Boathouse at Tea Gardens looks great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank timeoff621209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We were gassed by cleaning fumes on arrival to our room. This may be a good thing, but It was cold and we had to open all the doors and windows to air the place.
The walls were as thin as cardboard, lights didn't work, towels rails rusty, sheets smelt of smoke, only 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper provided, impossible to open the provided shower gel or shampoo etc (very frustrating when you are wet in shower!). Had to wash kitchen supplies before use - covered in greasy fingerpints - YUK! But the lounge was the dirtiest I have ever seen! I used a blanket off the bed to sit on lounge. Unbelievable that this has not been noticed. Looks inviting from outside, but needs heaps of work inside.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My partner, our infant daughter and I recently stayed here and unless you like the peace and quiet of a town, you will be bored once you have done all this place has to offer, such as scenic views of the empty beaches, dolphin and whale watching different times of the year, and fishing. It's only a 2 minute walk to the beach.

Our room was cosy, decent sized, clean, tidy, and equiped with the basic dinnerset, cutlery, toaster, kettle and microwave, reverse A/C, a TV and dvd player and bar fridge. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom was equipped with handwash, shaving cream and hand lotion that were dispensed from the wall. The shower had strong water pressure and also had shampoo and conditioner dispensers too. When you first the room, it had a very strong room deoderiser which isn't good for those who have sensitive noses.

Management were nice, friendly and helpful. The weather was not kind to us so we could not go swimming in the pool, however, it looked clean and inviting. The restarant serves top food, I really enjoyed the meals although they are very pricy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellangel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We booked a "2 bedroom self contained apartment" for three nights. It was the worst holiday of our lives. Please dont waste your money staying there and read the following, keeping in mind that MY HUSBAND AND I MANAGE A MOTEL so we know a thing or two about the levels of service and legalities involved.

We were not told upon booking or check in that our rooms would not be serviced as claimed on the website. Ther only way we found this out was to study the fine print on an in-room information sheet.

The reception, pool, restaurant and location were ok, even though the spa was out of order for the first 3 days, but thats where it ends and the real horror awaits inside the rooms.

The stove top was covered in crusty residue which I can only guess was from the occupants before us. The small dryer in the room was broken. The 2 small lounges in the living room were so dirty and smelly that an only-slightly-less-dirty blanket was thrown over the lounges to hide it. The outdoor setting in the tiny courtyard was in disrepair. The tiny bathroom was about the size or a w/c and the tiles were covered in mildue.

The state of the accommodation was overall very poor. But even more disturbing was the amount of rubbish (old take waway menus, reciepts) throughout the room as well as the fact that the drawers for our clothing in both rooms were full of dirty old books and boardgames and broken childrens toys. We had to remove all of these items in order to pack away our clothing into the drawers and waredrobes.

On the first night, we were exposed to an hour long voilent scene just outside our room. It appears on of the restaurant staff had smashed a bottle and was threatening the other staff with it. The whole Motel could hear it. To our horror the police were not called and about 20 minutes later we were having a cigarette in the back courtyard when the guy walked pat out room and to the phonebox where he proceeded to scream abuse at the person on the other line of the pohone about how he was going to kill somebody. we hid inside our room for the rest of the night. No police seemed to show up.

The inroom phone is for incoming calls only, only reception or room - to - room calls can be made on the phone but after hours, the reception phone is not manned and a mobile ph number is listed for "after Hours Emergencies Only", which would have been nice if we were able to call it but due to no mobile reception at the motel and no outgoing phone line we were left to stress about the disturbance.

A small sign in the kitchen stated that plates / cups / cutlery were provided and the cleaning of these were the responsibility of the guest during their stay (ie so to say dont be lazy clean them yourself and dont contact reception or housekeeping for clean replacements) which is just fine. Or so I thought.

3 hours after we checked out I got a call from the Motel telling me I had left a set of contact lenses in the room ( NONE OF US HAVE CONTACT LENSES, THEY WERE ALREADY IN THE ROOM ALONG WITH ALL THE OTHER LEFTOVER JUNK) and I was going to be charges an additional $50.00 cleaning fee due to the state of the room.

Now that would be fine if the room had not been left in an acceptable state. We stacked the dishwasher full and turned it on, we had the used towels left sitting in the wash tub. We wiped down the benches, dining table and coffee table. All the Blinds were shut, doors locked. This Motel told us this was unaccptable. As a motel manager I know how dirty the average guest leaves their room, and we left our room in an above average standard. It seems the motel wanted us to vaccumme the floor, strip & re-make the beds, repack the kitchen cupboards in order for their filfthy room to be considered acceptable.

So in closing if you want to stay in a fifthy room full of past occupants / owners junk, have no service of any kind and risk unauthorised charges being made to your card, by all means stay at Oceanside Hawks Nest, because we sure as h*ll wont be again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We booked over a month before our stay thinking we would get a decent room. Instead we were allocated room 7. The only window was a translucent bathroom size one over the wash basin. There was no other natural light. The other side of the room had a previous window slot near the ceiling boarded up permanently. This meant there was no ventilation. The biscuits in the room had been opened and stale. On Sunday, the day of departure, the cleaner came in at 9am and said that she had been told we had already departed. Despite having enjoyed many days in Hawks Nest, we will never again use this motel. If you make a booking, I suggest you ask not to be given room 7.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernhardSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Me and my husband spent a weekend at Hawks Nest away from the noisy city. Relaxing at the beach, driving around Tea Gardens, having a couple of drinks in the Golf Club nearby and basically just a lovely short break in a laid back atmosphere.

We only paid AU$ 70 (very cheap for a nice location) for the comfortable room complete with everything you need. Its not that fancy but its worth the price. The food in their restaurant are so good especially the gourmet pizza. Its just a bit expensive that we paid more for our dinner than the room charge. The motel is within one to two minute walk to the beach.

Hawks nest is a good place to go to if you want a quiet holiday along a white and not crowded beach. If you want more action, its not for you. Better go to nearby Nelson or Shoal Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherelydf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
213 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
111 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
#1 of 1 in Shoal Bay
1,027 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range: $88 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing