We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Came from sydney wanted a place to stay close to the ocean so we picked oceanside at Hawks Nest, We were greeted with a friendly reception, their names Paul & Maragaret. The room we stayed was clean & tidy & the kids could'nt wait to swim in the pool, so quickly grab swimmers and we down to pool. The kids 'had a great time in the pool and then we had lunch(from Benchmark) beside pool. The food excellent, The sevice with excellent & all staff where wonderful. I will be telling all my friends about this wonderful place beside the seaside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redheadblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHN, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments we greatly value the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 355 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Oceanside hawks nest February 2012 and had a 2 bedroom unit with a balcony which was fine- we went back November 2013 after getting a deal early this year through impact resort marketing. We took the 3 night deal for $227.00. Thus time we were in a 1 bedroom unit no balcony and 2 big air conditioning units near our bedroom and lounge windows which were noisy especially at night when we were in bed. Room 107. We complained to the manager about the noise and also told him that we were disappointed about the room. His reply was "well you got what you paid for". He was a rude man with no customer service skills didn't offer to change our rooms, so after spending 2 nights, we left and didn't stay the 3rd night. The benchmark restaurant on the other hand was fantastic, great food, awesome service.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a 2 bedder with a balcony. Avoid room 107. Beach is very close but seemed to have...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

My response to you was you purchased a one bedroom package henceforth you were allocated a one bedroom unit.On your previous stay you had purchased a two bedroom package that have balconies. Upon making your booking our receptionist informed you that the one bedroom units do not have balconies when you asked so you booked the one bedroom unit. When you advised me of the noise from the air conditioners I went and checked them at 10.00pm and they were all quiet. Unfortunately we did not have any two bedrooms at the time for you to go to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just had the best holiday and stayed at Oceanside. Staff were always courteous and friendly, location fantastic - easy access to beaches and amenities. Pool and spa - clean and resort style - both kids and adults loved it! Just an awesome place to stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 133PatriciaM133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and i spent the weekend at Oceanside Hawks Nest in NSW this weekend for our 6 year anniversary. We had such a terrible experience flying from Melbourne as our plane was delayed due to the bushfires, but that is besides the point. I orginally booked this weekend away because i got a 2 night deal off scoopon for this hotel, cant remember exactly how much i paid but between the accomodation and flights it was really cheap. Was extremley dissapointed when i arrived at Newcastle airport to be told i would have to pay $280 for a tax from the airport to where we were stayimg at Hawks Nest, i was shocked this was almost more than the flights and accomodation combined. When i rang oceanside to comfirm my booking i asked what the best way to get from the airport to the hotel was and i was told a taxi woukd cost inbetween $50-$65, i thought this price was reasonable, this price is also written on the oceanside website for people travleing from the airport, i could not believe i had to pay $280 for a taxi. When we arrived at the hotel we were greated by a lovely lady, we explained what had happened and she also couldnt believe we had to pay that much, she also said it should of been under $70 so we were obviously ripped off, we were only staying two nights and then fkying back to melbourne so there was no way i was going to pay another $280 to get home. Oceanside Hawks Nest was a nice place but unless you have your own form of transport there was absoutly nothing to do! My parnter and i are both 21 and were really bored for the 2 days, lucky the weather was nice otherwise we would of been stuck in our room. Which brings me to my next point, i was dissapointed with our room, the cleaners used an extremley strong smelling chemical which made us both feel ill, we could smell it for the whole weekend and no amount of deoderant or perfume could get rid of the smell. If your going to stay at oceanside, i suggest you double check which room you are in and where in the hotel it is located, our room was directly above the kitchen of the resturant and we were woken up each morning at 6am by the staff throwing glass bottles into the bin right outside our window, the staff didnt have any respect and were loudly talking, laughing and smoking right outside our window. This woke us up in the morning and kept us awake at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahgpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

No staff start work before 7.30am. Beautiful surfing beaches and pristine river, nothing to do? lovely national park, henceforth river cruises, canoeing, surfing, fishing, bushwalking, free bike riding for getting around to see wonderful scenery .Ferry trip to Nelson Bay on the beautiful Port Stephens bay. Our housekeepers use only environmentally friendly chemicals to which there is no nasty smell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a return visit to Peaceful Hawks Nest. Everything was excellent - hosts, accommodation, environment and breakfast. The friendly hosts and excellent accommodation made it worth the extra travel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianto1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Oceanside Hawks Nest from September 13-15, 2013. We purchased the deal from Groupon, which included a box of chocolates, a bottle of wine, late checkout, and a few coupons for discounted activities in the surrounding areas. The Groupon deal was advertised as a romantic getaway, and we were expecting that when we arrived. Instead we got an awfully outdated and poorly designed room, chocolates from Kmart, and a five dollar bottle of wine. The photos and description that are on the website and Groupon are VERY deceiving.

We ended up being put in a room in the middle of the complex, with a concrete courtyard on either side. Our only window looked across a concrete courtyard at the doors of other rooms, and received no sunlight. We didn't have a balcony or a view or anything, and we could hear noise from other guests all night. The interior of the room was really dark and dirty, and the lay out made it feel really cramped. Everything was pretty outdated, and the bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was awful, exposed pipes, rusty mirrors, a shower so small my partner couldn't even stand straight in it.

The only good thing about Oceanside Hawks Nest seems to be its location. It's a short walk to the beach, and Tea Gardens is a short drive away. There is also a great restaurant attached to the building, and although we didn't use them you can rent bicycles at the hotel as well.

Overall it wouldn't be a horrible stay, so long as you weren't expecting anything when you arrived, and paid less than 50$ a night.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony or a view on the perimeter of the complex. Or, better yet, book somewhere...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelafrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is quite a nice place with a lovely tropical setting. However we booked a one bedroom suite & was put in a smaller motel room. I'm assuming they did this because the whole motel was booked out with a conference going on. I don't like being screwed over or dishonest management. The room & bathroom were small but that didn't bother us too much - being above the garbage bins was the real problem. If you book Don't book room 108. It's also a very noisy hotel. We booked for 2 nights but left after one.

Room Tip: Don't book room 108 it's above the garbage bins & pool & is very noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MargieMilperra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret c, Manager at Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your comment. Benchmark restaurant hosted a fund raising night for cancer research which is a very valuable cause. Sorry if you were inconvienced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
5.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,070 reviews
3.0 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range: $126 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing