We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Jem on the North Coast New South Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just had 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was FANTASTIC!!. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. We had apartment 402 which was near the BBQ and just near the pool and hot tub which we used every day. Oceanside is a short walk from the beach and in the 3 days we were there we saw Whales every day which was an unexpected bonus we also saw a lot of Dolphins on the beach and in the river. The staff are very obliging and nothing seems a problem to them and they do their job with a smile which does not always happen. We have been looking for 5 years for good accoimmodation on the mid north coast a couple hours drive from home and we think we have finally found it. GREAT PLACE -GREAT ACCOMMODATION - GREAT PEOPLE

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked a great deal for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and on request was given a ground floor unit. The unit was oldish, but comfortable and had everything we needed. Unfortunately, it was right next to the barbecue area and there are no noise curfews imposed on the use of that area at night, so we had noise issues nearly every night of our stay. This was despite the fact the managers live on site above the office.
Thursday night was beautiful, the restaurant does a very tasty dinner and happy hour. Unfortunately, the place is away from other shops and the restaurant doesn't open until 8am for breakfast!! I suppose we were supposed to make our own. Other shops a few blocks away, were only open a few hours a day - except for the bottle shop. But, the fishing is great at the beach just down the road.
Would have enjoyed it if the noisy bunch hadn't moved in Friday and monopolized the Pool, BBQ and all outdoor areas for the weekend.
NO Free WiFI - it is availble but expensive.

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the BBQ / pool area and ask for something in the new section - they looked real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just recently got back from a lovely 4 night, 5 day holiday in hawks nest staying at oceanside.
The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. They new alot about the area and surrounds.
the onsite heated pool and spa and the beach being a short stroll up the road made it a stress less trip away from all the hussle and bussle the city has to offer and I will definitely be booking another holiday with them soon.

Room Tip: providence suites are self contained and big enough for the whole family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a lovely time, I was there with my 3 grandchildren and their Au Pair from Germany for a 2 night stay. My grandchildren absolutely loved it.
It was so close to the Ocean, so the name is totally appropriate and we had a lovely time at the Beach, we would come back from the Beach and they would then spend heaps of time in the Motel Pool that has a great Slippery Dip into the water.
The room had a small Kitchen, no Hotplates but there was a Microwave and we organised our own breakfast. We also had a small view of the water and there was a BBQ area near the pool.
The rooms were a little run down but the beds were comfortable and the shower very good, but for the price and with Children we were all more than happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view, there is no street noise at night as it is a sleepy llittle beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good value family holiday. The children had a great time in the pool and on the waterslide. The location of the motel is perfect with just a short walk to beach. Clean and tidy room, had everything we needed. Staff were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Im with Booneroo.... This place is such good value for a family holiday. The location is gorgeous and with two kids the waterslide is a fab distraction. We had no problems with our room and the staff were more than happy to help. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Oceanside to anyone.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bought a voucher on Scoopon. Made a reservation to stay 3 nights over the long weekend. Wanted extra for the long weekend. The room was okay beds were comfy enough was supposed to have a view instead got a view of the caravan park across the road.
The bathroom was like a shoe box and the shower did not keep it's temperature one minute it was boiling hot next minute freezing cold.

The restaurant was so expensive although the Pizza's were nice but so expensive $50 for 2 pizzas.
Pool was so small and was absolutely packed by 10am. Kids couldn't even get a swim.
Miles from anything except the beach which was a short walk away.

Left 1 night early management didn't seem suprised must happen often.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a few of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
5.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range: $123 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing