We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Place I've Stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Inverleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst Place I've Stayed”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Yes it was a Groupon Deal and yes it was cheap but according to the deal it was save heaps on this Romantic Getaway.
As I opened the door to our so called one bedroom suite I thought Oh No!
The place was hardly big enough to swing a bag. The furnishings, if you can call rickety cane chairs furnishings were apalling and full of dust. Cobwebs on the walls and the carpet was disgusting.
Management were not interested in any comments.
My advice to anyone contemplating staying here is look elsewhere!

I have also travelled extensively in this country and overseas and I can say without hesitation this takes the Worst Ever award!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GeorgeV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    109
    64
    44
    49
See reviews for
121
145
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Cannot believe the negative reviews I have read about this resort just had 2 wonderful nights at oceanside and could not fault it in anyway.Itruly do not know what people expect for the price they are paying with groupons i have travelled extensively in this country and overseas and for the price you pay at this motel i think it was just wonderful maybe people today are just expecting to much and should get out of thir motel room and have a look at what a wonderful place this motel is situated in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booneroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bought a deal got a no deal. Barren cold style rooms with a cheap bottle of wine.
The barbecue area was a bring your own booze and be loud and noisy.Heavy Drinking in and around pool area seemed acceptable there.
The only pleasantness was the beach which was a short walk.
The Booner restaurant was clean with a nice atmosphere and friendly staff. It is a shame it is connected to the backpacker accommodation behind it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hawks Nest hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just like everyone else got sucked into the romantic break for two on groupon stayed one night and left. Went for a beautiful walk and had a great dinner at benchmark on booner which is independently owned wouldn't suggest hotel unless u like backpacker style (basic, small, things falling apart) My boyfriend believed his tent was more romantic and more comfortable

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sccooper207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I bought a voucher on a daily deals website and used this to make my booking as well as paying an additional $60 at time of booking for an upgrade to spa room. For the $60 it was also supposed to include a bottle of sparkling and chocolates. The wine provided I could have bought down the road for about $12 and the chocolates were a 3 pack of Ferrero Roches and they were not even sitting on the table with glasses or anything - didn't look romantic what so ever.

The location of the motel was good. It is situated in a quiet spot near the beach and across from a caravan/holiday park. A stroll down the road took us to some corner shops where there was a newsagency, gift shops and a couple of restuarants and cafes. I found majority of food was very expensive in this location, possibly due to it being a tourist destination.

The room we were allocated (204) was ok. It had 2 single beds pushed together to form a double bed. The bathroom was really quite small, although this is all we needed for just a few days. The balcony was quite small but still nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy the sun. Fridge provided was very small and would only just fit the few nibbles we took with us.

For families or people who want to adventure Tea Gardens is very nice and there is plenty to be done around the other side of the bay - Fingle Bay, right through to Anna Bay.

Overall it was extremely basic and there is no way I would pay full price for what we received. At the price we payed for the voucher we were happy and with the $15 off drinks when dining was also good to use in the restaurant down stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We bought our accommodation on a social network deal and found it to be very satisfactory.
It is 5 mins from the beach, has it,s own pool, restaurant, bar etc. Very close to Tea Gardens where u find a huge range of restaurants and cafes.
We caught the ferry to Nelsons Bay a larger town on the water, again with loads of restaurants and cafes.
My down side would be as senior people not to go in school holidays. It is ideal for families, but not a lot of room or chairs etc around the pool. But would recommend it for a break away for a few days.
Bathroom is very small, but just a couple of days one can deal with that. We had a kitchenette but didn,t use it. We bought takeaway coffee for the bar at the front of the hotel, much better!!.

Room Tip: Don,t get a room fronting the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in July 2012 and like most other reviewers it was average accommodation wise. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which had a strong smell of urine?? upon opening the door, We tracked it to the lounge though but still could not hide the smell...
Powerpoint in laundry hanging off wall with tape over it saying "do not use", very unsafe.
The staff at reception seemed quite okay and helpful on the day we booked in which is always good.
The restaurant was very good though and the meals were fantastic, great service, and great milkshakes for the kids too. I think the restaurant is the saving grace here and with a discount voucher the accommodation is worth putting up with for the dining.

Room Tip: The restaurant is worth the trip as it was fantastic food and great service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank areasontosmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawks Nest
1.8 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
194 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
82 reviews
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
0.0 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Hawks Nest Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel

Property: Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Address: Corner of Booner & Bennet Streets, Hawks Nest, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Hawks Nest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawks Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hawks Nest Hotel Hawks Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing