We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The park was so lovely we didn't even get to the beach, which was right behind us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Parks - Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Parks - Harrington
Taree, Australia
1 review
“The park was so lovely we didn't even get to the beach, which was right behind us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful park, in a beautiful part of the world. Friendly staff, great Chinese takeaway just across the the road, with yummy fried ice cream. We had a walking path to the beach right beside us (we stayed for two nights in out own van) though we didn't actually get to the beach, as the two days were spent making the most of the park. Will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micknjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Harrington, Manager at Discovery Parks - Harrington, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. it is the greatest compliment when guests cannot drag themselves away from the park and we are happy to hear this was the case for you. We can only suggest that you stay longer next time to take advantage of the many things that Harrington has to offer. Until then happy travels from the BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    46
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
92
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a really friendly family holiday park. The staff in front office were great. We could not get over the packet of tim tams on arrival...not the usual biscuits you get. It was a sign of things to come. The cabin was clean and there was so much to do for the kids from the jumping pillow, mini golf and the Kids Shed. I was very impressed with how well things were maintained and spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed at this park twice, though only overnight on both occasions, on a powered caravan site. Both times we were put into the "old" section of the park, with no slab, rough uneven ground and poor grass cover. On exploration the next morning we saw there were higher quality sites vacant, with concrete slabs and grass, and this was rather disappointing. If the park policy is to consider short-stay tourists as "second class" then we'll have to consider whether we'll stay there again. Amenities were clean and the general store across the road had basic supplies and newspapers.

Room Tip: Room comment not relevant - ask for a Caravan Site in the high rated part of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Harrington, Manager at Discovery Parks - Harrington, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com regarding your recent stay at BIG4 Harrington. We do appreciate your feedback as it assists us in improving our park.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the site you were allocated while staying with us. Every effort is made to ensure guests are allocated the most appropriate site and please accept my apologies that we got it wrong in your case. Had we known how unhappy you were we would have gladly moved you somewhere more suitable.

I can guarantee that guest satisfaction is taken very seriously and although we are unable to change your recent holiday experience - by way of apology, we would be delighted to offer you a complimentary night’s accommodation on a powered site when you next stay with us. We do hope that your stay with us was otherwise enjoyable and sincerely hope to see you back one day soon.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to take advantage of this offer and I would be more than happy to assist you in choosing an appropriate site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a nice holiday. We stayed in the 3 bedroom cabins, very nice... Kids never stopped and the facilities where nice, however the sandflies ggrrrr but staff assisted in anyway they could. Between the jumping pillow, water park, carts and Kids Shed out boys had a great time

Room Tip: Anywhere in the park is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Another great stay in the cabins using a cudo voucher this time including a hotel voucher for Harrington Pub, a bottle of wine and a packet of tim tams!

It's a lovely quiet place and the kids always enjoy the pool and the slides and the jumping pillow.

Spent time at the beach again at Crowdy Bay 2 mins down the road, so safe for kids. We saw dolphins off the headland as well.

We bought bait from the shop across the road and took the fishing rods out to the jetty at Crowdy Bay and all caught a fish! Totally undersized so had to be all thrown back but the kids enjoyed it.

I love how quiet the area is but we always go off peak. Can't wait to go back again soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jgv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited this park with large family and was so happy have booked again for next year. Cabins and amenities very clean. Fantastic jumping pillow and pool for kids. Staff amazing, made us feel very welcome to the point that they checked during our stay to ensure everything was ok and they couldn't help with anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Parks - Harrington, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It is always the greatest compliment when our guests return to stay with us again, Emma P so we are so pleased to hear that you are coming back to BIG4 Harrington next year. We will certainly do everything we can to ensure that your next stay is as enjoyable as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Such a clean, friendly park with great service and superb location! The kids area is fantastic and has an overall laid back atmosphere. It wasn't peak season so it was quiet. First time staying here since I was a kid but I will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie0891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrington
21.3 mi away
BIG4 Bonny Hills Holiday Park
16.2 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#3 of 3 in Hallidays Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
24.7 mi away
BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Styles River Lodge Harrington
1.7 mi away
Harrington Village Motel
Harrington Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Harrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.0 mi away
Meridian Resort
Meridian Resort
#1 of 1 in Old Bar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Harrington

Property: Discovery Parks - Harrington
Address: 50 Crowdy St, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia (Formerly BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Harrington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Harrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Parks - Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing