We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newcomers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Harrington
Tuncurry, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newcomers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A friend booked a site on my behalf and also himself. It was our first Big 4 experience. Being new to the caravan world we were so disappointed at the small size of the site, my van is 27 feet with draw bar and over 40 feet when towing, my site was directly opposite a very large tree which made reversing very difficult. I asked the office staff do they ask about van sizes before they allocate sites, blank looks. I asked do they accept 'What's Up Downunder' cards, "don't think so" and that was the end of that. The site was sandy and grass,full of rubbish, litter, sand flies and plenty of hard standing left empty, I would have paid any extra fee. Many of the surrounding permanent static vans were a shambles. Despite the efforts of this Big 4 site we enjoyed our friends company. Needless to say I will never return, once bitten twice shy and I'll be telling anyone who wants to listen

Room Tip: Take your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangok123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Harrington, Manager at Discovery Parks - Harrington, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your stay at our Park. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Every effort is made at the time of booking to allocate a suitable site to all our guests and please accept our apologies that we got it wrong in your case. Unfortunately we are unable to change your recent holiday experience, had we known that you were unhappy with your site on arrival, we would have gladly moved you somewhere more suitable. Harrington is a beautiful place and I do hope you will one day visit us again. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    47
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
94
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed during the Sept School holidays and had such a wonderful time. The facilities were good, modern & very clean. The staff were pleasant & helpful. Harrington has lots to offer, perfect coastal location, great places to eat - we found the local pub had a very pleasant family atmosphere. Our kids were happy safe & well occupied. We miss our early morning walks down the break wall. Highly reccomended....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful holiday at Big 4 Harrington Holiday Park. We stayed in a villa and the comfort was second to none and cleanliness excellent. Thank you for a well run park where couples and families alike are welcomed and made feel very special.
Well done Owners, Management & Staff for a special place to spend a holiday. Will certainly return again asap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernagittins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We've stayed in Holiday Parks all over the world, and by far The Big 4 at Harrington is one of the best. It is Australia's best kept secret! The staff treated me and my friends like we were part of their family, nothing was a problem, you could tell the staff were passionate about making sure we had a great stay. The Cabin we stayed in was immaculate, with modern features, and for the cheap price we paid we were pleasantly surprised to find out we had a spa in our room! The housekeepers attention to detail was also outstanding, we made our beds and went for a walk along the beach, to return later on to find the beds had been stripped and replaced with fresh linen, and our towels we had hung up to dry had also been replaced with fresh ones. The lovely lady at reception couldn't talk to us enough, and recommend several great places to check out as well as an awesome local cafe and bakery at the shopping village to have lunch at. I highly recommend the Big 4 Harrington, The Staff, The Service, The Location, The Price & The Amenities are second to none. We will definently be staying there again, and from now on we will also check to see if a Big 4 is in a town we would like to stay at. Thank you for a great experience!

Room Tip: Talk to the Very Friendly & Knowledge Reception Staff for great restaurant and activity ideas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonothan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Harrington, Manager at Discovery Parks - Harrington, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for this feedback. It is always great to hear that we have delivered a great holiday experience. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

January this year, a group of us from Sydney visited a friend of ours who lives in Harrington. We decided to stay at the Big 4 Holiday Park because he told us how fantastic the rooms were and how great the location is... He did not lead us astray. The rooms/ cabins we stayed in were clean, neat, comfortable, stylish, romantic, ect. Although the rooms were great, the service and friendliness of the Holiday Park is what will bring us back next year. We met so many great people at the Park, who were clearly enjoying the "vibe" of the place, just as much as we were. The weather was perfect each day, which allowed us the take advantage of the beautiful Harrington Waters Golf Course and the fantastic beaches on offer. Harrington is a must. And the place to stay in BIG4 Holiday Park.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 26JayW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had an amazing time here with my girlfriend. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The staff are sooo friendly!!
Lots to see and do around the place and it helped that the weather was good.
All in all a great holiday.

We will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Harrison was never somewhere I had heard of, it was just a sign off the Highway and a drive through some fields but then you arrive at the winding road by the sea and we found ourselves in a little bungalow at the Big4 Harrison Holiday Park and it was an absolute delight.
The staff are so friendly. Our kids loved the theme-park style pool complex. It feels like a friendly neighbourhood that you've lived in for years.
Please, if driving up the coast past Port Macquarie, Harrison's Big4 Holiday Park is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrington
2.9 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle East's Ocean Shores
21.2 mi away
BIG4 Bonny Hills Holiday Park
16.3 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hallidays Point
Gateway Lifestyle Beachfront Hal...
#2 of 3 in Hallidays Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
BIG4 Great Lakes at Forster Tuncurry
1.7 mi away
Harrington Village Motel
Harrington Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Harrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colonial Holiday Park & Leisure Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Harrington

Property: Discovery Parks - Harrington
Address: 50 Crowdy St, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia (Formerly BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Harrington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Harrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing