We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Poet's Recall Motel(Gundagai)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai(Gundagai)(Great Value!)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gabriel Motor Inn(Gundagai)(Great Value!)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaroo Motel(Tumut)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merivale Motel(Tumut)(Great Value!)
$79
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Motel Farrington(Tumut)(Great Value!)
$117
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashton Townhouse Motel & Suites(Tumut)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gundagai Motel(Gundagai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
16
27
16
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
27
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslicensed restaurantoff the highwayhome cookedovernight staymotel offersquiet locationin townroastsydneyfuneralcountrycomforttariffheatingbreak
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 64 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

An older style motel with good old fashioned cleanliness and friendliness. An excellent place to stay almost half way between Melbourne and Sydney. The hosts are wonderful and dinner in the dining room can not be beaten for value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLT1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Garden Motor Inn nestles on a hillside with commanding views across the Murrumbidgee floodplain and surrounding hills. Whilst the traffic on the Hume highway is visible in the distance it in no way interferes with the comfort of the stay at the Garden Motor in.

There's something reassuring and grounded about the motel and this is best appreciated through the excellent service provided by a business that's been operated by the same family since 1988. The lamb roast at the motel's licensed restaurant which also has a terrific outlook is well worth trying and is another aspect of that traditional and comforting quality of this motel.

We've walked to the top of this hill that overlooks the town and separately bicycled into the town centre just a kilometre or so down the road. Gundagai has an interesting and rich history including that of the Waradjuri people prior to European settlement. Check out the old bridge and story of floods of the Murrumbidgee river.

This is a really worthwhile and comfortable stopping point on the Hume Highway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose-Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Welcoming staff, lovely clean rooms. The motel is on top of a hill overlooking the beautiful valley.
Restaurant has wonderful food and very reasonably priced. Lovely guest house atmosphere. It's just out of town but having the restaurant with home cooked meals was certainly a wonderful bonus. Would stay there again when traveling that way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Excellent welcome courteous owner, rooms older but spotless very quiet, had dinner in restaurant trout was superb, also breakfast to our room next morning great value very well presented, do not be put off my older style would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After a very bad experience the night before this place was a welcome rest stop. The hosts were very friendly and introduced us to the Golden Chain group. Being from out of country we weren't aware of the benefits which we used in other stops. The rooms were very clean and comfortable the small dining room served up a very nice meal which was thoroughly enjoyed. There is nice pool which we made good use of. I left my watch at the motel and the owners contacted me straight away and subsequently shipped it back to Canada for me. I would definitely recommend the Garden Motor Inn

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews