We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gundagai Motel(Gundagai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
16
27
15
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
27
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslicensed restaurantoff the highwayhome cookedovernight staymotel offersquiet locationin townroastsydneyfuneralcountrycomforttariffheatingbreak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 63 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

So pleased we found this little gem. You can count on being well cared for, comfortable, and having a personal touch. I still can't understand why the big chains have more prestige than a place like this.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cairnsman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoy staying at Golden Chain Motels and the Garden Inn lives up to the standard of friendliness and cleanliness we have come to expect. The room, while the decor is a little old fashioned, was comfortable and clean. After a long hot drive from Melbourne, a dip in the pool was lovey.
We met with several fellow travellers who also appreciated the comfort at the Garden Inn. We had dinner in the restaurant, which is the only thing I'd criticise. Typical menu, we had the roast special, while a good value wasn't anything to write home about. Though the veg soup was very nice, the veg were boiled to death and lamb pretty flavourless. The apple pie was delicious!
However, having the opportunity to chat with other travellers made it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

When travelling the Hume Highway between Sydney and Melbourne we often stay at this motel. It ticks all the boxes although we have never actually dined in their restaurant or had breakfast there. The rose garden is a delight, as are the birds in the native trees at the back of the motel. We recommend you stay in one of the units on the hill at the back. If travelling north try the Long Track Cafe and Pantry at Jugiong, only 38 km north and just off the highway, but closed on Tuesdays.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndell U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This appears to be about a 1960s job, but is is pleasantly renovated and in all respects satisfactory. Located at the northern entry to Gundagai (Sydney side) it's set well back off the highway and offers a very restful night's sleep. It's well named - the garden setting shows a lot of love and attention. Average prices. We'd certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a basic motel, however the service is excellent, the food is great, the rooms are clean yet basic.

We had a delightful night, slept really well and had a delightful dinner in a dining room with fantastic views over the valley.

We met another couple who were there for their second visit and both us and another couple plan to return next time we are near Gundagai.

The cook is a scream, very funny and cooks up a great meal of good home cooking.

We have such nice memories of our night here at the Garden Motor Inn Gundagai.

Room Tip: Not really walking distance to town but worth the drive to and fro, but why dine anywhere else?
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsywaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews