We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bushmans Retreat Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were made to feel welcome. Thank you. Quaint retro decor (we loved the style) and very clean room with a comfortable bed. We ate in the restaurant and our meals were homestyle and of generous proportion. This motel is a winner. Great value for those who would enjoy a change from the more expensive chain style motels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank karyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
23
16
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I stopped here overnight on a long trip. Vash could not have been nicer...very friendly, a lovely young guy. The rooms are clean, no complaints whatsoever. We are stopping back here shortly on another overnighter...this time with our little dogs...no problem at all...how many motels accommodate you like this?...a haven for dog lovers. To those who want something fancy...look elsewhere...this motel is for those who want a "homey" atmosphere and can feel relaxed as if they were at home...not a motel for snobs. Good on you Vash...well done
Mate !!!..(and hugs to "Scooby-Doo"...your gorgeous little dog !!!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cavsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Give this motel a try. You will not be disappointed.The rooms are so very fresh and clean.The very nice young fellow Could not help us enough when we dropped in with our pet.The meals were plentiful. After being on the road for a couple of days we were sick of fast food.So we ordered 3 different meals when we booked in.Service was so quick and meals were hot .The beds were good at least I didn't have any springs poking me in ribs..Wishing I could order a home cooked meal right now.Thankyou very much.Will be calling back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebelyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked the family room for a night in January and it was not worth the $140 we paid. We had to use two mattresses on one bed coz we could feel the slats of the bunk bed through the "mattress". And didnt want to sleep under the sheets coz they seemed kinda nasty and unclean. The pool was pretty gross too - a weird shade of stagnant green. Nice enough if we had paid backpackers hostel rates - not hotel rates. Paid $30 less the night after for a family room at another hotel in town and it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 873SamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gundagai hotels

Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

this motel is by no means 5 (or even 4, or 3.5!) star, but it was adequate for what we needed: a stopover on a 1300km road trip with 3 kids & an infant.

We had Family Room #3 - booked in advance, on a booking website (can't remember, maybe wotif?). Room #3 has a set of bunks, a single, and a double. very basic. well & truly dated. However, it was clean, tidy, all facilities worked (there's a microwave and small bar fridge, we got a small carton of milk as well), and i have no complaints, really - i knew what to expect, which is key.

There's even an above-ground pool, which the kids enjoyed a dip in on a 38C day before we headed out to dinner.

It is close to the first Gundagai fwy exit, Shell petrol, McDonalds & Hungry Jacks.

If you don't have high expectations, and only really need a bed for a break off the Hume, this joint is at a fairly resonable price ($130 total for the night, for five of us for one room).

I didn't take photos - we werent there long enough, and unpacked fairly quickly so the room untidy before i could take a shot!

Room Tip: As long as your expectations aren't too high, you really can't go wrong. We booked via wotif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I didn't have high expectations for this motel after reading the previous reviews however I needed dog-friendly accommodation to break the drive between Melbourne and Sydney and this seemed the best option. The manager was friendly upon arrival. The motel is old and definitely no-frills however the sheets were clean, as was the bathroom and the air-conditioning worked well (considering the 38 degree temperature outside). A small carton of fresh milk for tea/coffee was a nice touch (as opposed to the little UHT milks). There is a small fridge & toaster.

There is an area to walk your dog. The motel was full however I didn't notice any barking from other units.

Would I stay here again? Yes, in similar circumstances. If travelling as a family or for more than overnight, I'd look for something more modern.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

after reading reviews about this establisment we very nearly didnt stay. but i looked at other establishments that knockers of this motel have posted hey supprise supprise they are serial whingers one comment on a one of sydneys premier 5 star hotels end result they got what they wanted discounts freebee,s we decided to try it ourselves my wife and 3 grandchildren stayed for 3 nights we have no complaints yes it is an older style motel, but it suited us the kids kicked a football around the large lawn area ajoining the motel, which i might add we were not on tender hooks waiting for other guest to complain kids are kids they are noisey when playing but playing in the paddock was a .bonus for us oldies
we asked the owner to open the motel restuarant at 8.45pm for dinner as all (except) maccas were open. no problem enjoyed county style meal with good old country hospitality *******

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gundagai hotels
0.1 mi away
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Gundagai
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gabriel Motor Inn
Gabriel Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Gundagai
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gundagai Motel
Gundagai Motel
#3 of 7 in Gundagai
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Poet's Recall Motel
Poet's Recall Motel
#6 of 7 in Gundagai
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai
1.3 mi away
Gundagai Cabins & Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushmans Retreat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmans Retreat Motel

Property: Bushmans Retreat Motel
Address: 116 Mount St | Corner Mount & Cross Streets, Gundagai, New South Wales 2722, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gundagai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bushmans Retreat Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushman's Retreat Motel offers 20 rooms and a Restaurant that's open Monday to Saturday from 6:00pm to 10:00pm. We seat upto 30 people and are well known for our Steaks, Schnitzels and Grilled Fish!. All rooms have HD T.Vs with Foxtel, Movies & Sports. Pet friendly rooms available upon request. The rooms are equipped with tea coffee,hairdryer,fridge,electric blanket,toaster shower and Reverse cycle a/c. The motel caters for large coach bookings and breakfast is also available and delivered to units. Wi-Fi is available in restaurant, will be available for rooms in soon. A guest coin operated laundry & Dryer is available on premises. Walking distance to McDonalds, Hungry Jacks & Shell Servo. Short drive to town for Pubs, Clubs & Chinese Restaurant New bed covers have been added to most rooms and the improvements are continuing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Bushmans Retreat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing