We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stopped here for a night on trip from Melbourne to Sydney. Very spacious newly decorated rooms. We even had a couch. Spotlessly clean. Separate toilet and vanity great. Heated pool. Wished we could have stayed longer!! We were travelling on Good Friday and most restaurants in town were closed. Chose room service at the Tuckerbox. Lovely home cooked meal and reasonable price. One small improvement could be heating in bathroom for the chilly Gundagai mornings. Regardless I will be going back to Gundagai and this motel!

Room Tip: Room 2 was great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneR2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Tuckerbox Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the best showers I've ever found! My room was spotlessly clean, the linen immaculate and they'd even opened the windows to let in some fresh air. I can also recommend the room service - nice homestyle food, generously portioned and delivered right on time. They also get a big thumbs up for the crispy bacon in the morning!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I travel through the area all the time and this is the best country motel I have stayed in. Awesome family rooms very big...recommend to anyone easy access to highway north or south bound. You won't find better.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stopped off here for the night en route to Melbourne and what a lovely treat this place is. Angela and Larry have only been running the place for 6 months, but what pros they are already! The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, light and airy. We ordered continental breakfast and opted for Larry to deliver it that evening - plentiful and very tasty. We had also opted for a room with a spa bath - a lovely relaxing start to the day - and the WiFi meant that we managed to catch up on e-mails from home. Great location if you are doing the trek from Sydney to Melbourne, great hosts and a relaxing place. What more could you need? Thanks Angela and Larry - if we come this way again, we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very obliging and helpful.
Room was large, quiet and comfortable. Felt like home, and we felt rested in the morning. I could not fault this hotel one iota. Very impressed!
Bathroom was clean, and room had separate toilet and washing facilities.
Kitchenette was well fitted out with good sink. Good large mugs and nice crockeries. All facilities were very clean and in really good condition. I will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at this motel several times and rate it as excellent. It is often booked out so it pays to book early. There were new owners for our most recent stay but they seem to have maintained the standard and have kept a moderate tarrif .

Located close to the Hume Highway and near a service station and fast-food outlet its a no-brainer for a stopover on the Sydney to Melbourne run. The rooms are large, modern and very clean with no appreciable noise from the highway. Grounds are attractive with parking at the door, a good pool and very handy barbecue facilities, complete with a microwave (which is a bonus as Gundagai is not the world's best place to get a meal at night). The only small downside is that the rooms have been over-decorated with artificial flowers - a bit like a funeral home.

Room Tip: Book early as it often books out
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariel500cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The owners/managers were great - (okay he is a bit quiet) really helpful

The rooms are excellent - clean, tidy, well organised, nicely furnished, perfect

The BBQ area was a boon for me, with two young boys its hard to find a food outlet that caters to all their taste's.

The pool was brilliant, warm, so - so clean

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the rooms with the spa's - the pumps are a bit noisey
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gundagai hotels
1.3 mi away
Gabriel Motor Inn
Gabriel Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Gundagai
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gundagai Motel
Gundagai Motel
#3 of 7 in Gundagai
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bushmans Retreat Motel
Bushmans Retreat Motel
#7 of 7 in Gundagai
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Poet's Recall Motel
Poet's Recall Motel
#6 of 7 in Gundagai
116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Garden Motor Inn
Garden Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Gundagai
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckerbox Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckerbox Motor Inn

Address: 87 - 97 Mount St | (Cnr Mount & Middle Sts), Gundagai, New South Wales 2722, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gundagai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Price Range: $97 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuckerbox Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuckerbox Motor Inn is Gundagai's only AAA rated, 4 Star motel. Just off the Hume Highway at South Gundagai, we have a range of spacious, modern rooms available. With plenty of parking for cars, trailers and caravans; a pool, BBQ area and free WIFI and FOXTEL, we are the ideal stop over. Contact us direct for the best available rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tuckerbox Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuckerbox Motor Hotel Gundagai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing