We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful with clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Certificate of Excellence
Bucasia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful with clean rooms”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late in the day with no booking but ended up getting last room, and at a discounted rate. Great service. Found the room to be well presented and extremely clean. Nothing flash, but comfortable and clean was all we wanted at the end of a long day and we were not disappointed. Thanks.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have been very busy lately so glad we could assist at the last minute. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    29
    7
    0
See reviews for
25
46
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a nice basic,clean Motel.
We thought it could do with an update re-furnishings, could be a bit lighter, needs a microwave and toaster as well.
Enjoyed talking to the lady on Reception, she was very helpful and even upgraded us, how lovely.
We would certainly stay here again and I am sure with a change of decor it would attract clients back more often.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 583Dianne1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are currently discussing a soft refurbishment for the rooms and hope to have that underway in 2013. Our housemaids do a great job with the cleaning and Gail, whom you spoke to at Reception is one half of our Management Team - the guests love her. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Friendly, good room layouts, clean and easy to find. Recommended if you need to be in Gundagai! Rooms are set out in different buildings around the property and some of them may be difficult to park outside if you have a large 4 wheel drive: however there are plenty of parking bays close to the rooms anyway. You do need a map with your keys!
Staff easy to deal with and friendly. Hotel very close to main street (Sheridan Street) of the town where there are a number of good cafes if you need a good coffee. Cafe on Sheridan was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie_Explores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. From the street the motel looks to be small but once down the driveway there are another 3 buildings of motel units - great idea for the map!! If there are no coaches staying at the motel there is the bus bay that can be used for larger vehicles and trailers and we also own a vacant block adjacent to the motel that we use for larger vehicles. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked in to a budget room and man was this budget. Stayed for one night , but this was one night too long. Tiny room that just fitted the double bed. Archaic tv. Upstairs along an old creaky corridor. It was winter and hardly anyone staying there so I don't know why they cannot put people in a slightly better room where you can actually move around the room. I certainly will not be returning to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our budget rooms are small and priced accordingly to suit those who are travelling to a budget. Our guests do have the option of looking at all of our rooms before deciding which one they would like to take. The majority of the motel units are very spacious and as you can see from previous reviews receive great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The disabled room is on the ground floor and near the door to the car park which makes it easy to unload and reload the car. The room is fine and the disabled bathroom is huge.
We were able to arrive late (11.00pm) and we weren't the last in (very good when driving long distances) - they also had the heater on for us in the room which was very welcoming.
It is easy to get off the Hwy and easy to find the Motel and far enough off that you hear no traffic noise at all. The bed was comfortable and the complimentary continental breakfast was good.
All in all a good stopover on the road from Sydney to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned we do get a lot of late night arrivals and when we know of this in the winter, we put the air-con on so that the room is warm and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at this motel one night. Very small room, like a converted pub room. Avoid rooms 6 to 15 as they are upstairs and in a corridor setting. Very clean but claustrophobic. A rating of 6 in the town is fair. Other rooms may be OK. You get a better deal if you get book direct.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 16 and up. They seem to be reserved for people who book direct with the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superdraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woywoy123, Owner at Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. The room that you stayed in is classed as our budget room, due to the smallness of the room and the rate reflects this. The majority of our rooms are larger than a normal size motel room and we would welcome you to inspect this next time you are in Gundagai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a two bedroom room. It was situated on the first floor up a flight of stairs. No lift. It was quite small and felt a bit claustrophobic as only very small windows in each room. It did however have a small table and chairs in the 2nd bedroom which was handy. A very small tv in each room. Friendly staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Befle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gundagai hotels
0.1 mi away
Gabriel Motor Inn
Gabriel Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Gundagai
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Gundagai
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poet's Recall Motel
Poet's Recall Motel
#6 of 7 in Gundagai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Motor Inn
Garden Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Gundagai
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bushmans Retreat Motel
Bushmans Retreat Motel
#7 of 7 in Gundagai
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gundagai Cabins & Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai

Property: Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai
Address: 26-28 West St, Gundagai, New South Wales 2722, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gundagai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gundagai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai is just 5 minutes' walk from Gundagai's shops,clubs, pubs and restaurants. All rooms offer a LCD TV, Foxtel, refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi in all areas. Set along the banks of the Murrumbidgee River, Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai is 2 minutes' drive or just a walk across the park from the Gundagai Visitor Information Centre, The home of Rusconi's Marble Masterpiece. All rooms are air-conditioned and feature ironing facilities, and ceiling fans. Each has a private modern ensuite with a shower and a hairdryer. Most rooms offer satellite channels. A guest laundry is available. Ample off-road parking for larger vehicles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Sovereign Gundagai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing