We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and stinky”
Review of Comfort Inn Gemini

Comfort Inn Gemini
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Gemini
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Griffith
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived on a Tuesday afternoon, the traffic was very loud and could be heard from our top floor room. The entire lobby, third floor and elevator smelt like the pub down below. Bathroom was terribly outdated, old plastic toilet and a shower I forced myself to use (but wore my thongs). The pillows (all 7) were flat and old, my dog has a better pillow! The room was huge and had a great TV with many channels. The air conditioner look like it was fitted in the mid 70's and did not heat the massive room one little bit, also no electric blankets...middle of winter, we froze!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waffles1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Gemini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here with the family. It's centrally located on Banna Avenue, so it's close to lots of cafes. However, on a Saturday night downstairs turns into a nightclub. There is some sound leakage, but nothing too bad.

The room is very basically appointed, but spacious. The staff were courteous and welcoming, which was nice.

However, the room needed a refurbishment. Specifically the bathroom: there was some mould growing on the ceiling, and the taps could have used a scrub and a change (were a bit loose). Bed spread seemed tired, and my pillowcase had two washed out drops of blood.

All in all not too bad, quite average, but could use a spruce up.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Comfort Inn in Griffith, and I was not overly impressed. To be honest I did not sleep all that well, thanks to the bed, pillows, curtains and the noise. The noise was the biggest issue - with a railway siding being across the road behind the police station. I don't mind trains, except when they start doing shunting at 2am. With the design of the place, particularly if you leave the vents in the bathroom open, any train noise will come straight into the room.

The blinds were not big enough so that they would block out the light on both ends of the window at once. The person who installed them has obviously never actually tried to sleep in the room.

Finally, I made the mistake of using the stairs generally, rather than the lift. Two fire extinguishers were missing in the stair well. They were missing on the first day I was there, and missing the third day when I checked out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrylFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the Gemini in a big group. The check in was handled well despite an overflow of luggage in the lobby. The room was a good size with a sliding door and balcony overlooking the main street. It had one queen size bed and one single. Very different mattresses, one extremely soft with a well worn dint in the middle and the other a little harder. Good enough in our opinion. The bathroom was a good size and clean. The shower had continuous hot water with lovely firm pressure. There was a faint smell of cigarette smoke in the room. We had not been responsible for the bookings, so it was likely not a non-smoking room. Again not deterred by this. Griffith is really a beautiful place and we enjoyed the area immensely. However, night time was a bit of a shock. The Gemini accommodation is situated right on top of a night club. We were there on Saturday night. Going to sleep was not an issue; there was the throbbing of the music but it was even enough to drift off. But from about 2am, the nightclub and the pub across the street started winding down and the patrons spilled out onto the street to continue their partying. Well, it seems Griffith know how to party hard and loud. Each time the doors opened to let someone out of the club, the volume of the music would grow -boom, boom boom, followed by yahooing, yelling and finally loud car engine noises. It was a full hour before things settled down at 3am. There was nothing untoward, but that was probably thanks to the police car(s) surveying the area between the two establishments, which suggested to me this was a regular Saturday night scene. Breakfast was the standard continental buffet cuisine. Nothing flash but adequate. The staff were pleasant but I'd chose to stay elsewhere next time because of the noise.

Room Tip: Dont stay on Friday or Saturday nights if you are a light sleeper
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenrock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The location was great rightb in Banna Ave... We wanted something central and close to the shops and restaurants.

Agree with other reviewers, it could do with a re-ferb...but this is Griffith, not a big coastal city.

It was clean, comfortable and had a 40 + Inch TV.... I would suggest with the extra space they could give you a bigger fridge/freezer...

For the $130 we paid, we were happy. Security could definitely be upgraded and a lock on the back door.. we were lucky and got parking early, but the carpark was full by 8pm.. make sure you get in earlier to get a spot.

For the price, it was money well spent!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMPoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Good location , nice room but very noisy if ur staying on fri sat night , apart from that all good , nice and clean

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Was tired when I arrived here and found there was no parking - checked in to a less than average room and went down for dinner, that thankfully saved the day. The food was great, as it was at breakfast, and made a pleasant change from the otherwise dismal accommodation.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is much choice - would definately ask to be off the road frontage - and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Griffith hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 10 in Griffith
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Motel
The Grand Motel
#1 of 10 in Griffith
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acacia Motel
Acacia Motel
#2 of 10 in Griffith
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Griffith Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Coro Club Motel
Coro Club Motel
#8 of 10 in Griffith
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citrus Motel
Citrus Motel
#6 of 10 in Griffith
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Gemini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Gemini

Address: 201-207 Banna Ave, Griffith, New South Wales 2680, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Griffith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Griffith
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Gemini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Gemini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing