We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs make over..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grenfell Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grenfell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grenfell Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grenfell
Adelong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Needs make over..”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very friendly elderly hostess who was quite helpful in pointing out places to eat an evening meal.
The rooms.... sorry to say that the soft furnishings look like they have come from the op shop... bit harsh I know but really nothing 'matched'. Carpet old & stained in places. Apricot walls & faded green curtaining. The towels however were new & were soft & fluffy! Laminated shelf held with big shelf brackets only 'bench' in room. I would imagine with some TLC & a revamp it could be quite an appealing place to stay This is the only motel in Grenfell & I am assuming might have a fairly good occupancy rate that would enable the rooms to be refurbished.. they really do need to be done & very soon!!!
The two mobility carts in the drive gave a bit of an indication as to the mobility of the owners...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Would not stay again ever!
Not usually a whinger I cannot explain how terrible this place is. Its owners are quite elderly and I would say the mattresses, pillows and linen are even older!
We had low expectations from reading previous reviews however it is the only place in town. And although we were prepared for bad, we were not prepared for shocking!
Although it seems reasonable the $85 a night cannot be justified in any way, as even the basic good night sleep was impossible due to the discomfort of the age-old bed. A child under 2 was charged an extra $10 a night for the privilege.
Also be very very careful if you are offered rooms 21 or 22, these are charged at $25 a head per night, flat rate including children. They are great if you would like to set the scene for a horror film, dark basement style rooms with terrible conditions. In fact we were not aware that places like these actually existed in this day and age. Rat poison, collapsing cement walls and rotting pipes along the ceiling are some of the stand out features of this room.
Although at first I was sympathetic to the old couple, it seems their ill state and age has affected their concern for customer service. With a "Business For Sale" sign on the door, it would be nice for them to pass on the torch so someone can totally revamp the place to reflect the beauty of Grenfell!
We had a large group stay at this time, can only hope that the profit can allow for the purchase of a new mattress or two or even just some air freshener and disinfectant.
Made for a wonderful talking point and memories not to be erased. Thanks Grenfell Motel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The previous reviewer has pretty much said it all: this is definitely only 2 & 1/2 stars. There were 4 x families from our tennis club staying here at the same time, and the feedback is consistent. The shower has hot water, but is terribly erratic: lovely one minute, then the next second it goes freezing cold, all by itself. The beds are so-so... the sheets and blankets are from Grandma's oddments-drawer; pillows ... well ... the pillows are in a class of their own. Lets just say they are unbelievably flat. Bring your own.
Air-conditioning is primitive at best: it's the luck of the draw: some rooms were OK, some rooms had none, and others had a bar-heater only.
Good point: breakfast to the rooms was reasonably good (bacon, eggs, toast). The elderly owners are very nice, but obviously the gentleman is in ill-health, so it's a rather sad situation, I feel.
Stay here if you need to, but BYO pillow, have a short shower, and bring your warm clothes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozkazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a two and a half star property by all the local motoring associations. That's an appropriate assessment in our view. It has the basic facilities and it is reasonably clean but it comes across like the owners made an investment about 30 - 40 years ago and not much has been done to update the property or it's fixtures since then. The fridge could barely be described as working. Certainly not functional enough to freeze anything at all in the freezer compartment even when turned up to the max. The fridge was also fairly noisy compared to a more modern version. The price for a double is $75 a night per room and I though this was expensive for what you get. The lighting in the room was poor. OK for me but my mother's eyesight is not the best and she didn't have enough light to ready by. The beds were very old and soft due to age - which actually wasn't too bad. Better than beds too hard. The airconditioner in our room was beyond bad. I wouldn't even turn it on. Bits were hanging off it, however in early october we were quite comfortable temperature wise without it.
Saturday night we experienced a bit of noise, but the following night was very quiet. The property seems very busy - which is probably due to not too many other accommodation options being available in this lovely little town. We have certainly stayed in worse properties, but we've certainly stayed in better for the price.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Snodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grenfell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenfell Motel

Property: Grenfell Motel
Address: 84 Main St, Grenfell, New South Wales 2810, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Grenfell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grenfell
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing