We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant believe the other reviews”

Luminous Brasserie- Gosford RSL
Ranked #36 of 127 Restaurants in Gosford
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cant believe the other reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is by far the worst food I have had the misfortune to eat. Now I can truly say this after four visits. The queue and wait for the food to arrive can be quite lengthy. Pricing is cheap it is an RSL guess why its seems popular it also draws a crowd from the motel next door too.
The issue is that the food is poor it can be burnt as was my tomatoes and single mushroom one night.
It can only marginally warm as was my mash potato another night.
It can also be cold and totally inedible to eat as was a roast mash another night.
They can also ruin a grilled barramundi with a covering of an atrocious mayo and covering of cheese.
Its an RSL my colleagues state - "what do you expect".
Just some decent food please.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    34
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for regular fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I eat here three to four times a week, mostly dinners but often lunch and in between as well. Great atmosphere to drop into for casual and solo dining. Food is of high quality in good serving sizes. Good value for money. Food is also usually served in a timely fashion considering the large crowds that gather - especially for Tuesday nights steak, salad, chips and beer all for 12 dollars. No time pressures to leave - can sit and enjoy the beer for a long time. Friendly staff. Great for regular fine dining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Very nice venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

A very pleasant meal. The menu was quite extensive as well quite a few daily specials. The four of us all had different meals and each was very well presented and quite delicious.

Being a RSL club both the meals and drinks were very well priced, real good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Freshly prepared and tasty food. Great service from friendly staff. Excellent value for money.
Bar food also available - equally good value

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LancashireGlasshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Vale NSW Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Better than mother used to make”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and daughter did some shopping nearby and on the spur of the moment we decided to call in here for lunch. Apart from the 5 or more large back-lit menu boards I spied an old time classic on the specials board, lambs fry and bacon. This was a masterpiece with the lambs fry cut into thin strips and char grilled, the bacon lean, the gravy delicious, all on a bed of fluffy mash with a sensational grilled Roma tomato and some fresh beans. The girls were more than happy with their selection of the chicken schnitzel, also from the specials board. The three meals came to a phenomenal $34.65 in total. There was a good selection of wines at the bar and I found a very nice white we had not heard of before for around $18.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminous Brasserie- Gosford RSL also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to Luminous Brasserie- Gosford RSL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing