We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck is the star turn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Sesame

Black Sesame
Ranked #20 of 127 Restaurants in Gosford
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Duck is the star turn”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful duck with a subtle orange sauce. Nice decor and tastefully laid table together with polite friendly service made for an enjoyable evening. The wasabi beef is also worth a mention.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    46
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely Chinese in East Gosford !”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit concerned after I read some of the reviews as I had booked the restaurant for ourselves and our friends, but we were very pleasantly surprised ! The food was delicious and even though there was a mix up with the order we wanted our meals served, it was quickly rectified! The meals were just the right size and we left very satisfied! Would gladly go back, but make sure you ring and book a table as they seem to be always full!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieandSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underseviced”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went with a group of 20 people on Friday night and ordered the banquet for us all. Their portion size is very poor for the money they charged us. We received a very small portion of only 4 dishes they cooked us for the $30.00 per person we were expected to pay. most of us left feeling hunger and ripped off.
This is a byo (wine only apparently ) as we all took a few drinks each with us and were asked by the staff to ensure we take our empty bottles with us when we leave . The food quality was okay but I have had better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food wasn't to bad but service was terrible and restaurant was over crowded!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The resturant was far too overcrowded, the waitress even told us that they were too busy and she was really stressed trying to keep up. They forgot our drinks twice until we asked a third time which took over 40 minutes in total. The food was okay but the service and over crowded restaurant let it down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fine_diner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Being Ripped off!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Be warned. After the untrained waitresses took our order. We waited half an hour to recieve our drinks let alone any food. First to come out were our mains, then the entree then our drinks. They then took our mains back so we could try and enjoy our entree which was pathetic in size. Then 25 minutes later they brought out the same mains which were now cold after they had left them on a bench! The waitresses were told about this and promptly disapeared. When we approached the manager, he showed little interest said he was sorry but still charged us full price. I feel the responsibility to warn the public about the appalling service that we recieved at this restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sesame also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to Black Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing