We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pub with accommodation”
Review of Hotel Gosford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gosford
Ranked #1 of 4 Gosford B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A pub with accommodation”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over Easter. we did not know there was an A league football match scheduled for the weekend but that did not bother us much, except we could not get a seat at dinner that night.
The hotel prides itself on its 1920s decor which is fine for the accommodation part (the lift is a treat) but it stops there. You could be in any pub when it comes to the dining area.
The hotel is situated on the corner of two main streets. Our room was in the back so noise was not an issue. If you had one of the front rooms with a balcony it may be.
Our room was small, too small for the gear we had. The cupboard was a short one and too small for the clothes we needed to hang. When you opened the door it hit the bed end and you had to push to get it fully opened. The bar fridge poked out from the wall and had to be negotiated around to get past the bed. The bed was a double which was all that could realistically fit in the room, being a 1920s building. We had an en suite with shower, toilet and very small hand basin. The room had no fly screens so mosquitoes were a problem. There was a ceiling fan but no air conditioning. The room was serviced daily.
When we arrived we directed by signs to the bar area where we were given a key and left to our devices. As I said this is a pub with accommodation. No where did we see any concession to people in wheel chairs and one afternoon while we were having a beer in the dining room we saw an older lady struggling with her luggage to get the heavy double doors open so she could come in. My husband helped her with that.
This is a pub with accommodation, handy for the football stadium, just about across the road from the railway station and across the road is the Imperial Centre for shopping. There is a residents only car park behind the hotel with a boom gate to limit parking for hotel guests.
I guess it was an OK stay but the focus of the business is a pub with accommodation so take that as you will.

Room Tip: If you are off average height and build the rooms are OK. Select one at the back to avoid noise. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Viscountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    33
    10
    12
See reviews for
33
47
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic central location, helpful staff, good value for clean and well appointed rooms. Not clear of wi-fi is available which would be a plus. Complimentary real coffee is a nice touch in the morning and breakie in bistro is very good. Its an ideal location and rates for A-League football fans who have travelled to Gosford from around Australia for games at Blue Tongue Stadium vs the Mariners. If you have time to spare, a bus trip (routes 67 and 68) to coast at Terrigal is a great sightseeing option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed down here for a 2 day course I was completing on the central coast. I wasn't able to afford much so selected this pub due to price and managed to get a room with ensuite. Before I checked in, I sorted paperwork with my course reps who were locals, which had me worried about my booking once I told them where I was staying.

I now need to say how relieved and surprised I was at this hotel. I had no issues with the room, and it was spacious and clean. Being so close to the train station I was worried about noise. I was a couple of floors up and heard nothing all night. I love that there was lit, off-street parking. The hotel itself has been restored and the interior is lovely. Loved the old elevator with brass sliding door. Lots of charm and character in this pub, and it was quiet for the Friday and Saturday nights that I stayed. Room itself had everything you would expect in a normal hotel. Great value. Good ensuite, but it was handy to use shared facilities to use the loo when the ensure was occupied by the other half.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyShopper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff are very friendly, room was neat and clean, u couldn't really get a better location cause its right across from the train station and made life very easy, we ate In there restaurant and the food was great, I will be staying there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyjay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just a short walk from the train station, a convenient and clean place to stay. The pubs a good place for a drink and a feed and i didn't hear any noise from it from the room on the third floor. Great Value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't come expecting a 4-5 star stay and you will love it. It was fairly quiet, especially for a Saturday night. The room was extremely small but that is all I wanted.
Staff were friendly and food is decent enough. Room and toilets were clean.
If I had to complain about something, the TV didn't work and no AirCon... but I have no problem recommending this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriskgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location as a short walk to the station - as we only needed an overnight stay to attend a function it was ideal: very reasonably priced , staff friendly & most obliging - good breakfast & good coffee, comfortable bed
Room was very small but not an issue for a brief stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosford
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Gosford
Ibis Budget Gosford
#3 of 5 in Gosford
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn The Willows
Quality Inn The Willows
#5 of 5 in Gosford
64 reviews
5.5 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gosford Palms Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Galaxy Motel
Galaxy Motel
#2 of 5 in Gosford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gosford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gosford

Property: Hotel Gosford
Address: Corner Mann and Erina Streets, Gosford, New South Wales NSW 2250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gosford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gosford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gosford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gosford is the only accommodation in the Gosford CBD. This beautifully restored 1926 heritage listed hotel offers everything you need on the NSW Central Coast.Situated directly accross from Gosford train station, Hotel Gosford is the only accommodation in the centre of Gosford. Within 5 minutes walk to Bluetongue Stadium, Central Coast Leagues Club, Gosford waterfront and Gosford Showground.This family owned and operated business boasts a friendly environment to relax for a drink and a great meal in the 1926 Brasserie, beer garden or sports bar.All rooms offer a classic pub feel with modern amenities. There are 29 rooms suitable for all tastes and budgets from family rooms with ensuites to single rooms with shared bathrooms. All rooms have flat screen TV's, tea & coffee facilities, bar fridge's and all are non smoking. We also have a several balcony rooms.No matter what your reason for visiting Gosford you are guaranteed a great time at the Hotel Gosford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gosford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing