We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price and very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gosford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gosford
Ranked #1 of 4 Gosford B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for the price and very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel Gosford is perfect for what it is - affordable accommodation in a convenient location. The room and communal bathroom were clean (and I was surprised and pleased to get a fresh towel each day). The food and service were excellent. The street could get a bit noisy at night but it was my choice to keep my window open. The Hotel is old but very well maintained - a real step back in time. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan H, Owner at Hotel Gosford, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    87
    33
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
45
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Hotel Gosford is the perfect place to stay, especially if you have to be close to the Gosford Hospital, it's just a short walk (up a steep hill, but it's easier than trying to find a park nearer the hospital). The rooms are small, but they're clean. The meals there are excellent and reasonably priced (can recommend breakfast, lunch & dinner!). The staff were friendly and helpful. Yes the lift was an experience, but it was fun to try out. All in all a nice place to stay and if the need arose would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan H, Owner at Hotel Gosford, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in Gosford again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked a family room, (queen bed and 1 x single) with balcony for 2 nights. Upon arrival, no reception for accommodation you need to check in at the bar. Our room, 3rd floor, don't for a minute think you can ride the lift if you have more than 2 large bags (good luck holding the heavy doors open and trying to get in and out with bags). We took the stairs, 3 flights up we found our room. A cupboard with no doors blocked the entry, once in, no balcony, 1 x double bed, a single chair and no table to eat off. A must to take ear plugs to try and block out the noise from the street below. (Good luck!) Shared bathroom, shower heads do not stay up, so don't expect the water to spray on you unless you hold it. Always keep your doors locked, we had a drunken man(in his underpants only) try to get into our room twice!! Be prepared to hear everything the people next door are watching on their TV! Rooms extremely hot, ceiling fan doesn't cool the room at all.

Never again! Hotel disgusting!

False advertising, nothing at all like advertisement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funstick, Owner at Hotel Gosford, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, we do our best to provide clean, affordable and comfortable accommodation, however we don't claim to be anything more than a 2 1/2 star pub style hotel. We apologise you felt the room was not what was advertised, had you advised staff of this we we would have done our best to ensure you were in the right room or at least refunded the difference in cost. This was an honest mistake, not a case of misadvertising, as it is not in our interests to falsely advertise and disappoint our guests.

One of the features of a 2 1/2 hotel is they don't always have a reception area and as stated on our website we ask guests to make their way to the bar where our trained team are always available to check guests in and help with any issues.

The Hotel is 85 years old and only has 4 rooms out of 35 that have their own bathrooms which is the norm for hotels of this age. We clearly state on our website whether rooms have an ensuite or not. We realise the lift doors aren't easy to get into with bags although it is licensed to fit 6 people. We are unable to change the lift because it is heritage listed, however many of our guests consider it a feature of the hotel. We are continously restoring and maintaining the builiding and rooms to ensure the comfort of our guests. When reported maintenance issues are dealt with promptly by our onsite maintenance team. This year alone for example all rooms and bathrooms have been painted and refurbished with new beds, bedside tables, lamps and flat screen TV's.

Unfortunately street noise and the drunken man are out of our control but it is expected you would lock your doors no matter where you were staying. We live on the first floor and have a 6 month old baby and we have rarely been woken by street noise, but some noise is likely if you are staying in the heart of a busy city.

Again we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and appreciate you took the time to provide this feedback as we always endeavour to address any issues within our control and improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

..but I probably wouldn't stay again. In their defence, they don't claim to be anything special, rated at 2.5 stars, that's exactly what you get. The hotel itself is charming and retains many features of this obviously historic building in a beautiful little city on the Central Coast. I didn't have a choice regarding the accommodation as it was booked by another member of our travelling party, however there really isn't much that I can fault, it's just not the sort of hotel I would generally choose. It's a big step up from a backpackers though, and the price was incredibly reasonable at $115 for 2 nights.

The hotel was in a perfect location, literally across the road from the Gosford train station and a shopping center on the other side, plus all the services you could need were within an easy walking distance. The staff were very helpful, the bistro served excellent meals and the atmosphere was very "country pub", with a hint of RSL. We stayed a Friday & Saturday night, found things to be quite noisy in the street both nights unfortunately, but that isn't the Hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funstick, Owner at Hotel Gosford, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our team love hearing compliments from satisfied guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hotel Gosford may not be 5 stars but it was an absolute pleasure staying as their guest. This beautifully restored, award winning, 1926 heritage listed hotel offers everything you need on the NSW Central Coast. I booked a 'single' room with shared bathroom (they also advertise a 'small single'), the room was clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV, sink, wardrobe, fridge, tea and coffee and an electric blanket. I was on the third floor, so no noise from the bar/restuarant. The restaurant served an excellent range of food - I can highly recommend the steaks. Staff were extremely friendly and the Hotel is in the middle of town so you can walk everywehre. True country hospitality and value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiouslyrelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funstick, Owner at Hotel Gosford, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are very proud of our Hotel and love hearing happy customers saying positive things. We hope to see you next time you are in Gosford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Although we booked late in the holiday season we found availability at Hotel Gosford. Centrally located in Gosford opposite the station but surprisingly quiet at night. A lovely old Hotel at a reasonable price. Good food in the Bistro with daily specials. Close to a whole lot of beaches without the sea view price tag. Clean rooms, good service. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Erina street side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnonstop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funstick, Owner at Hotel Gosford, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Your positive review means a lot to us. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosford
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Gosford
Ibis Budget Gosford
#3 of 5 in Gosford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn The Willows
Quality Inn The Willows
#5 of 5 in Gosford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gosford Palms Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Gosford Motor Inn
Gosford Motor Inn
#4 of 5 in Gosford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gosford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gosford

Property: Hotel Gosford
Address: Corner Mann and Erina Streets, Gosford, New South Wales NSW 2250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gosford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gosford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gosford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gosford is the only accommodation in the Gosford CBD. This beautifully restored 1926 heritage listed hotel offers everything you need on the NSW Central Coast.Situated directly accross from Gosford train station, Hotel Gosford is the only accommodation in the centre of Gosford. Within 5 minutes walk to Bluetongue Stadium, Central Coast Leagues Club, Gosford waterfront and Gosford Showground.This family owned and operated business boasts a friendly environment to relax for a drink and a great meal in the 1926 Brasserie, beer garden or sports bar.All rooms offer a classic pub feel with modern amenities. There are 29 rooms suitable for all tastes and budgets from family rooms with ensuites to single rooms with shared bathrooms. All rooms have flat screen TV's, tea & coffee facilities, bar fridge's and all are non smoking. We also have a several balcony rooms.No matter what your reason for visiting Gosford you are guaranteed a great time at the Hotel Gosford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gosford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing