We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small clean rooms without the character of a boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King Street Boutique Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small clean rooms without the character of a boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here one night mid week. Its in a great location as its walking distance to the main street to get dinner. Clean and tidy looks new. Inside the rooms are very small - we had a double bed that was very hard. Not much room for anything else. Small en-suite and shower. Not sure why its all so small in the rooms when the central common area (which we didnt use) was quite big. Its a shame it was not a character residence, which is what it is promoted as. Looks like it might be from the front but the whole building is new. Might as well be in a motel.

Staff were pleasant. Swimming pool is isolated and back yard undergoing renovation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Ekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve and Ruth P, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
thank you for your review, We appreciate all reviews as we require this feed back to improve our facilities and services. We are not sure whether you may have mixed another property with ours as we do not have any double beds on the premises, all of our rooms contain premium Queen size beds and we do not promote our business as a particular character residence. we sincerely apologize if we did not satisfy all your expectations with the facilities offered. The size of the rooms and en-suites are standard sizing for the industry and Yes we have been doing some work upgrading the facilities by adding the pool, spa and outdoor entertaining area as well as undercover parking of which we are trying very hard not to inconvenience our guests while progressing with these upgrades. Again thank you for taking the time to forward the feed back, we do appreciate it. We will take it all on board and assess the areas you have addressed for us that are relevant to our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
44
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst exploring the Barrington Tops and Gloucester Tops. The large house has 8 or so rooms arranged around a central lounge/dining/kitchen area. As we arrived late, we decided to self-cater using the kitchen - fortunately there was a Foodworks just down the street, so we could pick up the ingredients necessary to make a delicious dinner :-)

The room was a good size, though the shower was a little small. There was plenty of parking out the back. There was no noise problem with the two other guests who were there that night.

We'd definitely stay here again the next time we pass through Gloucester.

Room Tip: We took the room up the back on the western side so as to be able to watch the fog lift over the val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve and Ruth P, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for the review, we appreciate all feed back as we were recent owners of the premises and have been working very hard at upgrading the facilities for our guests. we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the country. We are glad you were able to see the fog over the buckets it is an exceptional sight. we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gloucester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the King St Motel, along with two other couples.

Firstly, I found Chris and Vivien a pleasure to deal with. Very friendly and offering tips for the weekend, given we were in town for a wedding. They were also up-front that noise could be an issue and gave advance warning that they would be preparing breakfast early for another group. Besides hearing a few footsteps (and smelling the bacon cooking), this wasn't a major issue. I was more concerned with our friends in an adjacent room who woke me up when they were killing a moth with a shoe!

Secondly, the rooms are a good size, very clean and the bathroom is modern. Well maintained. Well fitted out. TV works. AC wasn't needed for us as we used the window and fan. The common lounge area is large with self catering available. We didn't use this, and I imagine it could be noisy for other guests if used late. Parking is ample and the motel is less than 5 mins walk to the main drag.

In short, it does what it says on the tin and I recommend this motel for a short stay in the region.

Room Tip: Back of the house (rooms 4, 5, 6) are closest to the car park and possibly a little louder given the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshaunbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve and Ruth P, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi sshaunbb,
Thanks for taking the time to review the property. Ruth and I purchased the property in March 2013 and have since been improving and upgrading the facilities to ensure an even better stay for all prospective guests. Since your stay we have install an exceptional salt water pool, Outdoor entertaining area, outdoor kitchen/BBQ, and a Hot tub/Spa. We are also installing a dry Sauna and coming soon will be some undercover guest parking. We have relocated the laundry away from the main building and the inclusions and decorating have been substantially upgraded which has with other items lessened the noise from the common kitchen area. It would be great for you to call in next time you are in town to have a look at the improvements. Thanks again.
Regards
Steve and Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night recently, we asked for a spare bed and paid an extra fee for the bed. The manager brought the linen & mattress to our room & told us to make the bed ourself. The bed wasn't required & she offered to refund the money for the extra fee we paid. I asked that she put it straight back onto my credit card & she told me that she would refund the following week. I have made two phone calls, to be told she was too busy to discuss & the 2nd call wasn't answered & I left a message which surprise surprise wasn't answered.
On the night we stayed there was a big group in, we were asked by the manager to be conscious of them in the common area if we came in late, which we were, but at 6am the manager was up cooking them breakfast & the noise was unbelievable, no one could sleep through that (from the manager also), regardless of the quality of the room, the service was disgusting. We will never stay there again, nor would I recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away and have a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve and Ruth P, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Alison, Thank you for taking time to review the property. I understand that your experience was not as enjoyable as it should have been and I can only apologize but not on behalf of the previous management and owners.
My wife Ruth and I purchased the property in March 2013 and we were upset that you did not enjoy the stay. Since we have taken over we have made many positive changes to the facilities. We live on site as owner/managers have installed a saltwater pool a spa and outside covered entertainment area with BBQ. we are still upgrading the facilities with more improvements to follow. The décor has been upgraded as have the room facilities which is proving to be a great hit with our current guests. We can only hope that you may call in and say Hi and have a look at the new upgrades so you do not judge us by the previous management
Regards
Steve and Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just had a weekend in this motel/b&b. It was clean and comfortable but a massive downfall was there was a big group in as well which were up at 545 in the morning getting breakfast cooked for them. It was soooo noisy nobody in the place could ever expect to have gotten a sleep in,very disappointing had we have know this would happen we would never had stayed there and will never again for to this major issue

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizardclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at King Street Boutique Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at King Street Motel, We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

We were most concerned to hear of your comments in relation to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations.

The large group in question were Rural fire service and SES personal many of which were volunteers who were fighting the many bush fires that were prevalent in the Gloucester region during that particular two week period. Due to their early starts and long hours cooked breakfasts were served at the unusual time of 6am. King Street Motel fully supports our hardworking service personal who had the arduous task of protecting our beautiful bush land and our community. King Street Motel apologizes that this may have caused an inconvenience to yourselves.

Traveler, I would like to have the opportunity to discuss with you directly your concerns in a bid to redeem ourselves to you. This is not indicative of our service and our product offering. I can be contacted on 02 65589020

Whilst I cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and hope to hear from you soon so that we may have the opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from King Street Motel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had the family room for an overnight stay in Gloucester. It was extremely centrally located and we all walked into town for a meal and a wander around during the day. The room was very clean and tidy. The house facilities ie: the common room area are very tasteful and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melovetotrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Well kept accommodation with nicely renovated room and bathroom. Owner Chris was friendly and accommodating. Plenty of parking. Close to centre of Gloucester. The central common area might be noisy to rooms though if people using late or early but the room doors are quite solid to help keep the noise to a minimum. I booked through Bookings.com for $115 + $5 internet access although internet was free wifi anyway so didn't really need to add this as an option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
0.3 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Street Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Street Boutique Motel

Property: King Street Boutique Motel
Address: 52 King St, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia (Formerly King Street Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Street Boutique Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Street Boutique Motel is a modern colonial style property situated a short walk from the heart of Gloucester's bustling CBD, vibrant cafe culture, shops, parks and clubs. We have Nine charming spacious air conditioned rooms, complete with their own en-suites, TV's, queen sized bed, minibar fridge, Free WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. Three of our rooms have balcony's that overlook the beautiful mountains- The Bucketts. We provide complimentary specialty teas and a Pod coffee making machine. Our accommodation enjoys the best location for discovering Gloucester and the surrounding areas! We've taken the extra step to ensure that you can relax and unwind in modern comfort and style. BBQ facility, and guest laundry and in 40 minutes you can be at the start of the world heritage Barrington Tops National Park or horse riding in one of our beautiful rain forests. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included in the Tariff as is bottled water for all our guests. Group bookings welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your King Street Boutique Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing