We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value @ 95 bucks.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloucester Country Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value @ 95 bucks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Lets face it, you don't expect much for $95 these days. My room was classic 80s decor including the dreaded "shampoo & body wash" dispenser but very clean and everything worked. Soap was provided.

Just good basic accommodation. Other reviews mention the surrounds and views but as a mythical recluse I arrived after dark and left at dawn. Had very good scotch fillet brought from the club next door ($30) and the rear door was very handy in case paparazzi had the front staked out.

Plenty of parking space for the Caddy and austar music channel playing classic hits. Strangely, TV had Sky News Business but not Sky News. A tip- unless adjusted, the wall mounted heating directs the warm air straight behind a curtain (from above). Room got quite cold before I twigged.

Would return, but not too often- always changing my movements. Thank you, thank you very much.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllvisPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    58
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
72
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for one night here and I think it's fair to say it was ok, nothing remarkable. The rooms have bare brick walls which seem very popular in certain motels but makes me feel a bit like I'm sleeping in someone's garage.
The bathroom didn't have a bath in, nor was the shower tall enough for someone over 5'5", which seemed a bit strange given the bathroom itself was absolutely huge.

There is a country club next door which is convenient for dinner although again the food is nothing to write home about.
Overall this place is just average for me, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed here twice at different times with family.

Beds were very comfortable with clean and fresh bedding. Towels were nice and soft.

Rooms were clean. Our only issue would be with the floor (easily solved with a steam clean). Our small children after playing on the floor in both rooms had black hands, feet, and knees.

Hot room service breakfast arrived on time and was tasty.
The golf club next door also serves fantastic meals that can also be ordered from the motel.

One of our rooms had a great view of the trees, cows and mountains.

The owners were very friendly and accommodating, and they have a great range of information available at reception.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. We had not booked and arrived at 9.30 pm. There was no-one in the office but they have a security camera at the door, and a lady came out when I started walking away and asked if we wanted a room. She was very friendly, and offered to look up website for me to see if roads to Queensland were flooded. We had two dogs with us and were advised they could not sleep in room, but that was ok. Told her they would stay in car. The room we got was huge and very clean. The shower had good pressure. There was one queen and one single bed in the room, both very comfortable. Coffee, tea, biscuits and milk were supplied. There was a microwave and a mini bar. The room was very quiet. We would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongo_stardog
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a base to visiting the Barrington Tops and it was a great retreat from the hustle and bustle of Sydney. Very quiet, clean and large room. The highlight was opening the back sliding door to see a magnificent vista of the mountains and meadows with cows grazing. There are chairs outside so you can sit there and watch although put some insect repellant on! Next door is the golf club that do great food for a reasonable price with a typical generous country size portion.

We'll be back someday to stay again at this Motel.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room where the back faces the mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bongo_stardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

These rooms were very clean and quite. A perfectly peaceful setting with verandah seats to sit and take in the views of the Bucketts Range and watch the birds on the grass.
A couple of small maintenance issues which were fixed the same day but really didn't detract from the quality of the motel.
I loved it and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,233 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a 3.5 star motel located about 2km from the town immediately beside the local golf club. The rooms are well set off the road, which appeared to carry only very light night time traffic midweek, so it is reasonably peaceful and quiet. Off street parking is plentiful and all rooms had level access. We had 2 rooms, both were spacious, clean and comfortable. The golf club is a great option for dinner as situated beside motel, a 50m walk. Is easy drive into town but would not recommend walking, as no pathway, and doubt public transport is a relaible alternative. Only negative for some may be small flat screen TV. Hosts are excellent. I'd stay again if in area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.6 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#3 of 9 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
3.5 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Country Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Country Lodge Motel

Property: Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
Address: 4663 The Bucketts Way S, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloucester Country Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 star Gloucester Country Lodge Motel is situated at the base of the Bucketts Mountain and adjacent to the fully licensed Fairway Restaurant of the Gloucester Country Golf Club. We are located in an idyllic, quiet and peaceful rural setting two kilometres south from the centre of Gloucester on the Newcastle to Taree Bucketts Way. During your stay, you can visit the World Heritage listed Barrington Tops, enjoy scenic drives and walks in the area, play a round of golf or relax in our saltwater pool. All rooms have views out to the Bucketts Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Gloucester Country Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing