We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bongo_stardog
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a base to visiting the Barrington Tops and it was a great retreat from the hustle and bustle of Sydney. Very quiet, clean and large room. The highlight was opening the back sliding door to see a magnificent vista of the mountains and meadows with cows grazing. There are chairs outside so you can sit there and watch although put some insect repellant on! Next door is the golf club that do great food for a reasonable price with a typical generous country size portion.

We'll be back someday to stay again at this Motel.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room where the back faces the mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bongo_stardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    65
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
74
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

These rooms were very clean and quite. A perfectly peaceful setting with verandah seats to sit and take in the views of the Bucketts Range and watch the birds on the grass.
A couple of small maintenance issues which were fixed the same day but really didn't detract from the quality of the motel.
I loved it and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,281 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a 3.5 star motel located about 2km from the town immediately beside the local golf club. The rooms are well set off the road, which appeared to carry only very light night time traffic midweek, so it is reasonably peaceful and quiet. Off street parking is plentiful and all rooms had level access. We had 2 rooms, both were spacious, clean and comfortable. The golf club is a great option for dinner as situated beside motel, a 50m walk. Is easy drive into town but would not recommend walking, as no pathway, and doubt public transport is a relaible alternative. Only negative for some may be small flat screen TV. Hosts are excellent. I'd stay again if in area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very relaxing stay.Rooms were very clean and nice to get a comfortable bed for a change.Staff and Management were very pleasant and helpful.Conviently located next to the Golf Club where we played nine holes of golf. Overall a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which had lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable bed, friendly helpful managers, great views of the mountains and Golf Course. sItuated next to the Country Club where you can get meals, highly recommend the steak. Definitely will be returning. Breakfast was delicious and on time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Montana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've stayed here several times, because the lovely town Gloucester is a great place to break the joruney between Armidale and Sydney. This is a good country motel off the road and adjacent to a lovely golf course. Very friendly, efficient management, willing to help will all directions to local attractions. Good hot room service breakfast. Excellent, hearty, affordable meals are available at the Golf Club next door, which can be billed back to your room. Book ahead if you can - because this motel is often filled to the brim with golfing fanatics.. Very handy to the Barrington Tops.

Room Tip: All the rooms are entered from a driveway. A reservation is usually an essential,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romilly888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Gloucester Country Lodge Motel in December 2011 for 2 nights while visiting Barrington Tops. The gentleman who welcomed us was very nice and gave us tons of information/suggestions on what to do during our stay in the area. Our room was clean and comfortable.
It's a 10 minute drive from the town centre but there is also the Golf Club next door if you want to eat and not go out in the evening.
Tip: the back patio is a great place to sit in the evening to relax, you will be mesmerized by the great view of the Tops and the starry sky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#2 of 8 in Gloucester
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
59 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Country Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Country Lodge Motel

Property: Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
Address: 4663 The Bucketts Way S, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloucester Country Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 star Gloucester Country Lodge Motel is situated at the base of the Bucketts Mountain and adjacent to the fully licensed Fairway Restaurant of the Gloucester Country Golf Club. We are located in an idyllic, quiet and peaceful rural setting two kilometres south from the centre of Gloucester on the Newcastle to Taree Bucketts Way. During your stay, you can visit the World Heritage listed Barrington Tops, enjoy scenic drives and walks in the area, play a round of golf or relax in our saltwater pool. All rooms have views out to the Bucketts Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gloucester Country Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing