We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barrington Hideaway
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This cabin was beautifully decorated, and very clean and comfortable. The bush setting by the Barrington River was so peaceful and we loved the little Blue Wrens and other birds that we saw in the trees. The owners were friendly and keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It was a wonderful weekend. Robyn & Ingrid

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redrob1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRH2422, Owner at Barrington Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thanks Robyn and Ingrid- pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The birdlife is beautiful around the cabins especially with the backdrop of the Barrington River.
Hope to see you again one day.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really enjoyed sitting on the shaded deck overlooking the river on a summer afternoon with a cool breeze and a cold drink. Quiet location with only the sound of the birds and the river. A good base for day trips to some of the surrounding national parks. Not too far out of Gloucester to sneak in for a coffee or dinner, but the cabins are well a equipped so there was little need for us to go anywhere. The cabins are nicely appointed, comfortable beds and all very clean and neat. We look forward to going back for a weekend escape!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRH2422, Owner at Barrington Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us Jamie, and thanks for the kind review- look forward to welcoming you back soon to Barrington River Hideaway.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Two blokes going cycling and bushwalking found this an excellent place to stay. Two rooms, on the Barrington river, good bathroom, TV to watch the cricket from Perth( perfect result), excellent BBQ on big deck.
We opted for the food package which was excellent too , more than we could eat and every little thing catered for- meat, mushrooms , onions salad, breakfast eggs bacon and more.
Andrew and Rob

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRH2422, Manager at Barrington Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks for the review Andrew and Rob- pleased we were able to accommodate all your needs.(even Australia winning the cricket!) The food packages are proving popular-handy to be able to arrive, put your feet up and not worry about shopping.
Regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Barrington River Hideaway is a gorgeous spot to take a step back from city life and unwind. It's only a couple of hours from Sydney, and has both the Barrington Tops and Gloucester Tops national parks nearby. The cabins are really lovely, with spacious decks overlooking the river. Not too far from Gloucester but far enough to give a good sense of a rural retreat with peace and quiet. It's a delightful spot with lots of birdlife around the river, and if you're up early enough you may even spot a platypus. I enjoyed a great stay and would highly recommend the cabins as a place to spend some quality time in the country, relaxing and cooking, reading, fishing, or as a base for exploring the region and renowned nearby national parks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRH2422, Manager at Barrington Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Dan. We are indeed fortunate that we able to provide the rural retreat that so many people are after but be only 3 minutes from the heart of Gloucester.
Thank you,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very peaceful, private, clean and well equipped cabins right on the river. We found the hosts (Pat) very friendly & welcoming.
We would highly recommend these cabins for a nice peaceful break away.
The grounds were very large with access to a river (for swimming) and it was only a short drive from Gloucester, but we preferred to use the weber BBQ on the verandah to cook with as we didn't rate the restaurants in Gloucester much

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivercottage, Owner at Barrington Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hi Lee,

Thanks for the kind review, 'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are very lucky to have a secluded spot on the river that is only 3 mins from town.

We will keep the gas bottle on the Webber full for you next visit!

Regards

Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This trip over Easter was our second time staying at this property. We had overnighted before and promised ourselves to come back. One of the things that we particuarly like is that these cabins have been styled and equipped to a very high standard- they are very comfortable and provided with pretty much anything you may need. Another feature is that the vegetation has been planted well around the cabins to provide good privacy and attracts a lot of bird life. With large balconies with views out to the nearby hills and over the local Barrington River running beneath the cabins, it's pretty much a perfect place for relaxing with a book and coffee. This is a good location for kids with plenty of grassy area/ property for ball games, bike riding, kite flying etc.This time around we tried our hand at fishing for bass in the dam and walking along the river on the adjacent property.

We found the hosts to be friendly, amenable and keen to ensure that people enjoy themeselves - including mowing an area of grass for one arriving family who were looking for a cricket pitch! With Gloucester only a 5 min car ride away, it is easy to choose whether to stay and cook using the well equipped kitchen, or head into town and let someone else do the cooking. We think this property makes a good base for the area and also works as a great "sleep and relax" long weekend destination from Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneysider100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRCRGloucester, Manager at Barrington Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2010

Thank you very much for your review of Barrington Riverside Country Retreat. We are glad you and your Family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Thank you
Adrian, Bev & Trudy
Barrington Riverside Country Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2.3 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
54 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
21.3 mi away
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#2 of 8 in Gloucester
82 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
64 reviews
17.6 mi away
Nirvana Spiritual Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrington Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrington Hideaway

Address: 312 Thunderbolts Way, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia (Formerly Barrington Riverside Country Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gloucester
Price Range: $145 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrington Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Gloucester and Barrington Tops pristine area of lush sweeping valley's and a back drop of beautiful green ranges lies Barrington Hideaway.View the picturesque surroundings as you drive towards a weekend or longer stay in your luxurious private cottage. Perfect for couples seeking an intimate and relaxing stay or a family looking for adventure to explore .Each cottage is in true harmony with the serene and tranquil bush and while relaxing on your private verandah the open views of the Barrington River are spectacular especially at dusk as the warm sun sinks below the horizon.A magical end to a perfect day at Barrington Hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Barrington Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing