We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Ranked #5 of 8 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect experience”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

TripAdvisor did it again. Accurate reviews and a clear description led us to a wonderful holiday experience. We stayed in the Kandy Suite at A Room With A View - our own entrance and private space to enjoy, quiet, yet within comfortable reach of Gloucester's main street.. The bedroom was very comfortable, the private sitting room with open gas fire was cosy and perfect for reading, eating and relaxing in, and the bathroom was spacious and, like everything else, absolutely spotlessly clean. Sue's experienced hosting made us feel very welcome indeed - nothing was ever too much trouble, and the breakfasts were excellent. We had coffee/tea facilities, a delicious glass of wine on arrival and all the information we needed to get the most out of our stay. We'd both recommend A Room With A View in a heartbeat, and will stay there again whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clivefromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Clive,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to A Room with a View, and thank you for sharing your thoughts with other members of the Trip Advisor community. It was a great pleasure to meet you and your partner and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future. With warm regards, Sue and Jim de Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at Room with a View twice and each time the experience has been wonderful. Sue and Jim's attention to detail and their excellent service is to be admired. Sue is attentive but not intrusive. Her Sir Lankan dinners are to die for!

Gloucester is a lovely town and Room with a View complements it very well.

Check out their website for more detail.

I can recommend it without hesitation! (and I don't say that often!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david492282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear David, it was a great pleasure to meet you again at A Room with a View, and we are thrilled that you both enjoyed your second visit. Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor members - many have told us how much help these reviews are in choosing accommodation and activities. We look forward to seeing you again and sharing our experiences on our recent visits to China! With kind regards, Sue and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a perfect place to stay when exploring the nearby barrington tops. The house was gorgeous and we had a very generous sized space to relax in, including a lovely porch where we had our meals. Sue was the perfect host and a fantastic cook. She was always on the lookout for ways to make us more comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear pnmojo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to A Room with a View. We are delighted to know you enjoyed relaxing on the verandah and your Sri Lankan meals ... special mention must be made of your beautiful baby daughter who shared brilliant smiles with us and was not heard to cry at all. Our warmest wishes for a happy and prosperous New Year - kindn regards, Sue and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is absolutely lovely in every respect - we stayed in the smaller Aliya room, which was great for the two of us. It's tastefully furnished, the bed was soooo comfortable and we spent a lot of time on the front porch reading and enjoying the quiet surroundings.
Sue had lot of great advice for our outings to Barrington Tops and on where to eat out.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious - good thing we stayed for three nights, so we had the chance to sample several things on the menu. And dinner - Sri Lankan curry was amazing and was only topped by the mango kulfi... we'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear jfromsyd,
I do apologise that I have not thanked you before now for your generous TripAdvisor comments. It was a pleasure to meet you in December and we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to A Room with a View and the locally sourced produce including our Sri Lankan menu items. We very much appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Your sincerely, Sue and Jim de Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I should have reviewed "Room with a View" a while ago, after my husband and i stayed there the first time. But we came back for a 2nd stay, as we enjoyed the first one so much. Soooooo welcoming and comfortable, we just love staying with Sue and Jim. We have a very comfortable room, with our own sitting room and large bathroom with double shower and separate bath. Breakfast is a dream, sitting on the deck of the house, enjoying great coffee and chatting with Sue about everything from charity dinners to seeing a platypus. Very clean, very neat, very happy!!! We will go back as many times as possible. Everyone should visit "Room with a View". I'm very picky about where I stay, but have been always so relaxed and comfortable so far, and am sure I will be again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavs1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Tavs,
It is always wonderful to hear someone say 'we stayed with you (before)' and would like ot return. One of the many pleasures of the hospitality business. Jim and I were thrilled to see you and your husband again recently, and we also enjoyed catching up on all those things which had happened since your last visit. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor ... and best wishes to you both for a wonderful Christmas Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed twice at this B & B. Sue first and foremost is a great host. Kind, friendly and accommodating. Her Sri Lankan curries are very tasty, last night's white cauliflower curry was amazing. Her kulfi ice cream was beautiful, maybe not for my waistline. My bed was comfortable and warm, the house is warm and inviting and a lovely place to stay when I have been working in the local area taking photos. I will have the great pleasure of staying here in a few weeks again.

I opted to have dinner with Sue and her husband Jim, this is the second time and it was another nice dining experience.

If you want a B & B with some character, charm, good food and a nice host this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonscottphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Simon,

It was great to see you again while undertaking another project in Gloucester - Jim and I enjoyed our evening with you very much.
Thank you so much for including some photographs of the Sri Lankan meal with your review - I don't think you stand still long enough for the kulfi to have any negative affect.
We look forward to seeing you again when next you visit our beautiful town. Kind regards, Sue and Jim - A Room with a View, Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed one night and can't wait to go back. The ultra modern suite with a king size bed was so relaxing and superbly appointed and decorated complete with internet and flat screen TV and DVD. It was also extremely warm and comfortable. We had a 3 star Michelin meal with Sue and the comforts of the home. I would favourably compare this with Le Manoir in Oxford. Well done and many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Robert,
We are overwhelmed by your very generous comparison ... certainly something to aspire to! So very pleased, though, that you and your partner enjoyed our accommodation and your brief visit. Thank you, too, for your thoughtfulness in sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We do look forward to seeing you both again at A Room witn a View soon, and wish you much enjoyment of your upcoming overseas travels.
With warm regards to you both.
Sue and Jim de Silva
A Room with a View, Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
2.1 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
0.5 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#2 of 8 in Gloucester
76 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW

Property: A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Address: 39 Cook St, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Room with a View is a boutique bed and breakfast with unobtrusive personal service, on the edge of Gloucester township. Enjoy restful rural views from your private veranda. Stroll to the town centre. Explore World Heritage listed Barrington Tops National Park and the pristine rivers and beauty of the district, only three hours drive from Sydney. Your hosts, Jim and Sue de Silva look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing