We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue is 'd' Silver Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Ranked #5 of 8 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Armidale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sue is 'd' Silver Class”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed twice at this B & B. Sue first and foremost is a great host. Kind, friendly and accommodating. Her Sri Lankan curries are very tasty, last night's white cauliflower curry was amazing. Her kulfi ice cream was beautiful, maybe not for my waistline. My bed was comfortable and warm, the house is warm and inviting and a lovely place to stay when I have been working in the local area taking photos. I will have the great pleasure of staying here in a few weeks again.

I opted to have dinner with Sue and her husband Jim, this is the second time and it was another nice dining experience.

If you want a B & B with some character, charm, good food and a nice host this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonscottphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Simon,

It was great to see you again while undertaking another project in Gloucester - Jim and I enjoyed our evening with you very much.
Thank you so much for including some photographs of the Sri Lankan meal with your review - I don't think you stand still long enough for the kulfi to have any negative affect.
We look forward to seeing you again when next you visit our beautiful town. Kind regards, Sue and Jim - A Room with a View, Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed one night and can't wait to go back. The ultra modern suite with a king size bed was so relaxing and superbly appointed and decorated complete with internet and flat screen TV and DVD. It was also extremely warm and comfortable. We had a 3 star Michelin meal with Sue and the comforts of the home. I would favourably compare this with Le Manoir in Oxford. Well done and many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Robert,
We are overwhelmed by your very generous comparison ... certainly something to aspire to! So very pleased, though, that you and your partner enjoyed our accommodation and your brief visit. Thank you, too, for your thoughtfulness in sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We do look forward to seeing you both again at A Room witn a View soon, and wish you much enjoyment of your upcoming overseas travels.
With warm regards to you both.
Sue and Jim de Silva
A Room with a View, Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

my husband and i stayed only one night in the aliya room and found it to be perfect - beautifully decorated and very clean. our host, sue, was very welcoming and providing a lovely afternoon tea with freshly cooked fruit cake on our arrival. we had a lovely chat with her for an hour or so. sue guided us to our meal in the evening, and on checkout in the morning, had a lovely hot, home cooked breakfast. absolutely wonderful stay and wonderful host. thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan4456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Susan,
It was our pleasure to meet you and your husband and we're delighted you enjoyed your short visit to A Room with a View. It is very helpful to receive feedback from our guests on their stay and particulary rewarding when expectations are met or exceeded.

We very much appreciate your thoughtfulness in sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor members and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards, Sue and Jim de Silva
A Room with a View, Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Lovely room - lovely location - lovely people - wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Elisa - we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to A Room with a View and appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion with other travellers on Trip Advisor. We hope you enjoyed your return journey through the lower Hunter and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Sue and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Sue and Jim do their best to make you feel so welcome. My partner and I stayed in the Kandy Suite, which was basically had half of the property to ourselves. It included a large bedroom with queen sized comfy bed overlooking the beautiful garden with views of the Mountains to the East, a sitting room complete with DVD player to watch movies and access to the verandah to sit outside.
Home cooked meals are made on request (you have to book a couple of days notice so they can organise the shopping etc). The breakfast which is included in the room rate was divine. Poached spiced fruit with yoghurt, goats cheese souffle and Sri-Lankan loose leaf tea are highlights. We sat outside on the verandah to eat, which completed the experience. The dinner menu features Sri-Lankan style options such as traditional pan rolls, curries and mango kulfi, as well as traditional items such as steak and local perch, if that is more of your taste. The quality of the food and service deserves to be hatted!
Sue and Jim's furry children Elecktra (cat) and Charlie (dog) are both very friendly and love to be patted!

We'll definitely be coming back here.

Room Tip: The Kandy Suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue d, Owner at A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Shadebuster - we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to A Room with a View, and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with tripadvisor clients.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that our guests have found their stay meets or exceeds their expectations - something we strive for.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best - warmest regards,
Sue and Jim de Silva
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

A++. Really lovely house with a lovely garden and outlook. Good spaces, decorated with personal things not Hotel 101. Works well for friends (we were a couple and two singles) or for two separate parties. Very well-appointed rooms, with excellent beds, free wifi,TV, individual heating control, table and chairs,good space for clothes, luggage, toiletries in the bathroom, lovely big shower, frig, good range of teas and plunger coffee. Sunny verandahs from all rooms and sitting room with a good range of books. Service was really excellent - attentive but unobtrusive, names remembered and used genuinely (even in a thank you on the receipt). Dinner was outstanding and beautifullly served - $35/3 courses, $30/2 courses, all BYO - ridiculously good. Tariff included breakfast, which we enjoyed in winter sunshine on the verandah, but otherwise served in the sitting room overlooking the verandah. Absolutely outstanding. Fresh juices,stewed rhubarb, yoghurt, cereals, porridge, the best scrambled or poached eggs we've seen with bacon, mushrooms, tomato...and serve sizes to order....glorious. Thoroughly recommended. Oh, and the Barrington Tops and Gloucester Area are recommmended too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.8 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
2.1 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#2 of 8 in Gloucester
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW

Property: A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Address: 39 Cook St, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Room with a View is a boutique bed and breakfast with unobtrusive personal service, on the edge of Gloucester township. Enjoy restful rural views from your private veranda. Stroll to the town centre. Explore World Heritage listed Barrington Tops National Park and the pristine rivers and beauty of the district, only three hours drive from Sydney. Your hosts, Jim and Sue de Silva look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing