We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, but slightly old/outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilgandra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Gilgandra B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, but slightly old/outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed here twice overnight on trips between places.

Pros: This is certainly unique and very charming - clusters of gorgeous little cabins scattered among the trees with a pool nearby. The owners are friendly. The rooms are small but comfortable.

Cons: The rooms are a little on the ageing side - the windows are very difficult to open/close, in one instance not closing all the way despite my best efforts, and the windowsills were very dusty and a little cobwebby. They also let a couple of very assertive animals roam free - cats that will stand at your door and *demand* to be let in for hours.

Overall, it's a lovely place, but unless you're there for its unique charm, you can't get better value for the same price at other motels or 45 minutes away in Dubbo.

Room Tip: Later numbered cabins (i.e. not 1, 2, 3 etc) are further away from the petrol station right next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetDisarray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that you had trouble closing your window, If you would have let us know we would have come to close it for you. I have spoken to our housemaids regarding the cobwebs...they assure me that they will be more mindful. During the dry season there is so much dust around our place. We do have cats...they are desexed, chipped and have their needles. Unfortunately other guest may feed or pet them...which makes them just want it more. I apologizes for the inconvenience they cause. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Sounds exactly as it is, "a little village" set back from the highway, very cute cabins. The owners were nice. Stayed in cabin #12 very small but comfortable, the cleaners go a bit overboard with deodarising; the smell was a bit unbearable. The breakfast was great, had a good sound sleep. I'ts the perfect place for kids swimming pool large bbq ect...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the fragrance that we use in the rooms, we have since changed the brands. I have relayed this message on to our house maids. We look forward to seeing you again if you are traveling this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The motel was back from the main road, set in amongst the trees, which makes it nice and quiet, and you hear all the wildlife. I went to the restaurant to have a meal, the food was great. I enjoyed the Mango Chicken, it was so delicious.

The room had recently been refurbished, and it looked like it should have been set in the city, not in the country.

The hosts were a lovely couple, very friendly and do anything for you. She is from America, while he is Australian.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElsieSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudina r, Owner at Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gilgandra hotels
4.2 mi away
Silver Oaks Motel
Silver Oaks Motel
#5 of 5 in Gilgandra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castlereagh Motor Inn
Castlereagh Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Gilgandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gilgandra Motel
Gilgandra Motel
#2 of 5 in Gilgandra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Orana Windmill Motel
Orana Windmill Motel
#1 of 5 in Gilgandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.6 mi away
Three Ways Motel
Three Ways Motel
#3 of 3 in Gilgandra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cooee Motel
Cooee Motel
#3 of 5 in Gilgandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Motor Inn

Property: Village Motor Inn
Address: Newell Highway, Gilgandra, New South Wales 2827, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gilgandra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gilgandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing