We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveler rating
197
299
174
70
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
299
174
70
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth coastadult poolmovie channelscoffee tableshort drivetennis courtsbuffet breakfastchar restaurantbalcony roomhotel restaurantthe room was niceking bedseven mile beachtown centrepoolsspabella
Filter
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 801 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing quiet getaway.

It is a refurbished drive-up motel style accommodation, but they have done an absolutely wonderful job making it modern, while still being quite private.

The staff were so friendly and informative, letting us know what to do locally, and with directions needed anywhere.

The rooms themselves are quite large, and the bathrooms are amazing. We had a room with a spa, that was right next to the 'adults only' pool. There is a second pool in the centre of the complex for all guests.

It is a little pricey, but for a relaxing time away, worth every cent.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We were in Gerringong for a family wedding at the Bellachara. In fact, about 20 or us had come over from the UK and were staying here. Hubby and I arrived first and checkin was slick and quick. We were directed to our rooms and we were pleasantly surprised. We were aware that this was a refurbished motel but it had been done up in the best possible taste! We are seasoned travellers and would rate this hotel as in our top 10!

The room consisted of a large bed, a corner sofa with a coffee table. The TV was huge with good choice of channels. The balcony did look out over the gardens onto the main road but that did not bother us - we couldn't hear the traffic. There was plenty of coffee, tea, milk and cooking facilities in the form of a microwave and hob were available as well as a dishwasher. The bathroom was huge with lovely fluffy towels.

We did tell the Reception that we were happy for them to give out our room number to anyone else arriving for the wedding ... Lo and behold we got a knock on the door from cousins who arrived a couple of hours later.

I used the spa (prebooked from England) and this was very relaxing. The pool was lovely (according to hubby). Plenty of parking space next to the room. The wedding was held at the hotel and this was lovely too. Very well arranged by the wedding coordinator.

Breakfast was included in the price and this was really delicious. One morning our breakfast lasted 2 hours as we were chatting to family. We were not rushed at all!

If there was one bugbear it would be that the restaurant closed early - seems to be a common thing in Australia (Sydney, Hunter Valley et al) However, we arrived enmasse one evening (about 10 of us) and the restaurant manager quickly arranged for steak and chicken sandwiches to be made for us all. This was about 9.30 pm. Prices of drinks were normal hotel prices.

There is a guest laundry available which I made use of. Detergent is made available and this is all free. The reception staff were very helpful and helped us with directions to the Hunter Valley - especially as the receptionist knew of our next destination guest house.

The area around the hotel is beautiful and the staff will always advise you where to go and how to get there. A short drive away is the beach with a nice restaurant.

We would go there again should we be in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazziecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My partner and I stumbled upon this hotel for dinner one night. We were actually staying in a place in Berry which we had returned to after some years. Unfortunately nothing stays the same forever and we were disappointed with the Berry accommodation. So granted maybe we had rose coloured glasses when we saw Bellachara. We actually only went to Bellachara for dinner and enjoyed it so much we asked to look at the rooms. At which point we decided life is too short to spend precious times together in sub standard accommodation. So we decided to stay the next night, even though it meant we may forgo our room rate at the Berry address. We were not disappointed. Not only was Bellachara cheaper at $150 per night. The staff at Bellachara were very friendly. The restaurant was so good we went back a second night which we rarely do when we are traveling (we love variety). In particular the home made gnocchi were some of the best I have ever had. We shared one as an entree both nights. The only down side was on the second night at the restaurant there was a large group for dinner. It was difficult to get the waitress attention and she forgot a couple of things we asked for. All in all however, thanks for saving our trip Bellachara.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My fiance and I had a fabulous time at the Bellachara Boutique Hotel. From the moment we arrived, late Friday night till we left Sunday noon, the staff were friendly, the service was great and the facilities were fantastic. We had dinner in the restaurant which lovely (a bit over priced but had great wine selections), we swam in the pools, played tennis and even got a massage. The Bellachara has everything you need for a nice relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelCanberra10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

A nice enough place, but for the price we paid we expected a bit better.

Great location, very short drive to local beach, and also to Kiama and Geroa. Their high tea was great. Day spa was nice, with great staff. Actually, all of the staff were really friendly and cheerful, and did a great job.

Our annoyances include:
- thin walls (this place is a refurbished motel).
- multiple room service calls. One for the milk, one for the minibar, one for room cleaning, and one for no particular reason at all!
- the night we wanted to eat at the restaurant they only had a banquet option which didn't take our fancy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews