We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

It's like the two guys who own this hotel had a brainstorm to come up with all the ways to make this hotel as perfect as possible, and then did everything they came up with! There's two lovely pools (1 adult only), there's a lovely foyer/entrance, a great restaurant without big prices, there's a lovely kids playground/kids club, there's a 5-7 kids dinner period with healthi'ish food at the restaurant, a lovely breakfast, comfy beds, stunning decor, outdoor lounging area, there's even adult sized spirit bottles, rather than the normal sized minibar mini bottles. Everything is perfect. We stayed here after a good camping trip went bad, and the fabulous Donna helped us out, doing us a good price for a large enough room for us and our 3 small kids. We swam in the heated pool, lounged on the sunny loungers, ate pizza (at Zoobs - very good, a minute or two up the road) then when our kids were in bed, we drank wine in the outdoor lounge area just outside our room. The attention to detail was superb and the place oozed character, style and exemplary service. The only down side is it's a km or so down hill from the main township of Gerringong. Stay there. We will be again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    272
    146
    48
    41
See reviews for
164
363
18
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We had a marvellous stay at this boutique hotel. There was a mix up with my booking from the Kiama visitor centre, but the staff were friendly, very helpful and were able to sort it out quickly. The room was lovely and we enjoyed our swim in the pool before heading to the restaurant for a great meal. We managed to get a great deal on our room and dinner and so it was superb value for money. It was a little out of town, but we really didn't need to leave. I only wish I had time to visit their day spa too!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney AUS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I loved this place. From shabby motel to chic boutique motel
I popped down the coast to check it out for a work event and decided to stay the night.
The food was AMAZING and only $65 per person for 3 courses and the wine was reasonably priced $26 - $55 per bottle.
The rooms were lovely and huge - with great balconies.
Every 2nd room has a bath tub (as opposed to a shower only).
Breakky was a great buffet with all the ususal favourites.
I got offered a great rate - only $200 incl brekky.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBSydneyAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I have been reading through some of the reviews and there seems to be alot of petty complaints!
The staff we wonderful and after a problem on our side with someone cancelling they were extremely helpful and accomodating.
For the reasons that I went there it was great, girl friends weekend away, we had 2 interconnecting rooms, 318-319, it did seem to be a main throughfare but we only heard 1 minute of noise.
I found the rooms to be very nice and well done. Having a kitchenette was great also.
PayTv of some sort would have been good but we only watch about 1 hour of TV in 3 days.
The DaySpa was fantastic and we all really enjoyed out treatments, we had the treatments over lunch time and when we were finished we had some yummy sanwiches and a glass of champagne!!! Great finish!!
WE ate at ZOOBS on the Friday night which was very good.
I really enjoyed the breakfast, it was not the best hotel breakfast I have had it was up there.
Dinner was also fantastic, have the lamb! But a few people in previous reviews mentioned the service in the restaurant, I found it good with no disorganisation as mentioned previously.
For the price that we paid including breakfast, dinner and part of treatment it was good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tania m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My sisters and I went to Bellachara's for a weekend away to relax and spend some quality together. After reading the reviews on this site, we were a bit hesitant but trusted our instinct that people usually only come on these sites to vent after a bad experience.

After a long trip to Gerringong (it should have taken 90 minutes, but due to the highway being closed after a truck over-turned, it took us one whole day to get there), we were happy to be there. We had booked inter-connecting rooms and I must say the rooms were a pretty good size. We had 4 adults and 4 children and found that there was plenty of room. The rooms were clean and spacious, however housekeeping was lazy in their ability to re-stock bathroom supplies and remove used towels.

We dined at the hotel restaurant both evenings, and the food was simply amazing! Everything on the menu was so yummy and I think for the quality of food, the price is very reasonable.

We found Jak's corner, the kids club to be extremely convenient and it really did contribute to the relaxing and enjoyable time we had. Although, I may suggest a more friendly kid's menu, as we found it hard to satisfy the children's appetites.

The pool was great, however it seems like the hotel was pretty quiet, which was convenient as there was no fighting for sun chairs and the kids had a ball!

Overall, I would highly recommend this lovely place for a summer weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff were friendly, the food was great and anywhere that has a kids club will do me!

  • Liked — Bellachara restaurant & wine lounge, the kid's club
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank haribosmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

I concur fully with all the reviews that do not recommend this place. It is located on the main road into the town and is not close to the beach.

Put simply, this is a modernised Motel. It would appear that they have spent a considerable budget on the renovation and need to recoup their investment by charging 5-star Sydney Darling Harbour prices, without delivering the service/experience.

When we initially phoned the room was quoted as $195 per night including breakfast, then we phoned a day later and we were offered the balcony rooms for $245 including breakfast (friend phoned on that occasion), we then phoned back and asked for the lower priced rooms and we were told $220. Maybe the prices are connected to the Share Market!

Their breakfast buffet is adequate (No more than that) and yet they charge $25 per person, which incidentally, is the same as the Crown Plaza in Hunter Valley, which is expansive luxury in comparison (with separate egg station and around 10 staff).

We didn’t risk the restaurant and made our way out to Zoobs (rave reviews) and then the pub (both good).

It is not a 'Boutique' hotel, but a big ugly converted Motel.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — The signage. Made it look like a goverment building.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gerringong hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We originally booked at bellachara on the internet but when we turned up after confirming by phone a week before hand they told us there was no record of the booking. And that instead off the $260 a night we thought we were getting it for (which I thought was steep enough) we got told the room type we asked for would be cost us almost $700 for the 2 nights we stayed! The receptionist, however was lovely and very apologetic, offering us a complimentary bottle of wine (a complimentary $200 would have been nice!)
The website is misleading in making you think that there is any kind of view from this place. You can barely see the ocean at all and none of the rooms would have a view of the mountains behind. The room we had instead looked over what I would describe as a swamp with earthworks in progress. The walk to the beach is long, and in april you can get pretty cold by the time you get back!
Like many reviewers, we had problems with the noise from adjoining rooms, with kids on one side that sounded like they were talking in our bathroom! The housekeepers replaced our towels as requested, but threw out some of the food we left on a benchtop and replaced our soap when it wasn't necessary.

We went to the restaurant the first night of our stay and the food was ok but not very cheap for what it was. The beers were not cheap either, but wine was reasonably priced. The waitress we had was polite and friendly but seemed disorganised and was constantly bossed around by another of the staff back at the bar area who ignored us when we were waiting to pay our dinner bill. We found that there are plenty of cheaper options in town for dinner, but it is a long uphill walk.

Overall, we were not impressed with the quality of the place considering what we paid and it was not very relaxing in our room listening to other people's TVs (they are ridiculously big plasmas - what a waste of power!). Most of the staff were friendly, but there is a general sense of disorder and there seems to be a bit of a pecking order. Unless you have money to THROW AWAY, stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — The bed was very nice, mostly good service
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbors, location, EXPENSIVE
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spartan299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
21.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
136 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Property: Mercure Gerringong Resort
Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing