We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort by the sea? What sea; more like a swamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Resort by the sea? What sea; more like a swamp”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I would have to agree that this property is by far the worst we've stayed at. Numerous reasons why;
1) Mercure Gerringong rates itself as a 4star resort; it'd be complimentary to class it as a 2 star.
2) our first impressions were marred as we'd expected the property to be by the sea. It is no where near by the sea; it's more like a two star "resort" by a mosquito infested swamp
3) we'd booked and paid for an upgrade to a room with a kitchenette- but didn't get it.
4) was overcharged for the room, and when I confronted the front office manager about it, he showed total disregard to my claim and dismissed it accusing me of fabricating my story.
5) upon entry to a very substandard room, we noticed the furniture to be old particularly the second hand looking couch which had marks and rips in the leather
6) bar fridge was empty; no milk or even a bottle of water. Unsure why my credit card was taken for "incidental" charges since there was nothing in the bar fridge to consume. Not typical for a "resort" style property at all
7) most alarming thing was the obvious lack of care taken with the hygiene of the room. There were finger prints everywhere on the fridge, light switches and doors. I was disgusted to discover the shower curtain clearly had not been changed in months as it was black with mould from the bottom up.
8) there were no bath towels on entry and the window curtains had come off the hooks.
9) the service is appalling; repeated phone calls were made to have the movie listing dropped off to our room but fell on deaf ears. The fourth call in, we were asked to come and collect it ourselves from reception.
10) staff lack tact when it comes to guest privacy, with housekeeping banging at our door at 9am to clean our room whilst we were still in there.
11) reception were unable to help us with a suggestions for local eateries... We happened to find a pamphlet at the local bakery of restaurants and cafes nearby; surprised reception couldn't supply this in the room to begin with.
12) essentially this was highly overpriced for a property that should not be labelled a resort by any means.
I would not recommend this property to anyone wishing for a "resort by the sea" or expecting a plush room.

Room Tip: When placing your booking, double check the room rate they quote you is reflected in the email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for providing us with constructive feedback and giving us the opportunity to review our service standards and improve. I am so sorry we let you down.

Warm regards

Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    273
    148
    49
    41
See reviews for
164
367
18
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Good accommodation, great location and good staff. The facilities were nice, they had two pools plus a baby pool as well as a tennis court and kids play area.

My only gripe is with the breakfast service, there didn't seem to be enough staff around.

That said I would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback, I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you also for the feedback regarding breakfast.

Warm regards

Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Came to this hotel years ago but disappointed by the recent visit. Reception, restaurant and gardens lovely. The room we stayed in was dated and smelt musty. The wardrobe door was coming off the hinges, the lounge was stained. On the plus side, staff friendly and in room movie channels available at no extra charge. Location is not great, on the road into Gerringong but not near the beach.

Room Tip: No real tips here. I would assume that all the rooms would need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineS848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Mercure Resort.

I am pleased you enjoyed most aspects of our lovely resort and beautiful Gerringong.

So sorry to hear your room needed updating. We strive to ensure all services are 100% and are sorry we let you down.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Warm regards

Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

A solid effort all round from Mercure. Nice facilities, clean room, very spacious. Basically everything we needed for a one night stay and a treat to round out a camping trip.
Only minor issue was that you couldn't open the windows and there was a bit of a musty smell so we simply left our front door open for a couple of hours after checking in.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your stay at the Mercure Resort Gerringong, we really appreciate your lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mecure for our wedding anniversary.
The room was spacious and clean and the amenities excellent however the " by the sea" is a little euphemistic . The hotel is unfortunately situated between the main highway and the main road that leads into Gerringong . The sea can be seen from the upstairs rooms but if you open the sliding balcony doors it is noisy.
In addition there is almost no soundproofing between the rooms and hence although the family next door considerately kept their television down low, it, and their conversation, could be clearly heard up to 2am when they switched it off. Hence no doubt the reason why the external walls of the hotel are covered with " please be very quiet after 9pm and before 9am signs".
Overall we thought it was " average" for what we paid through 'wotif" but we would have been very disappointed if we had paid the full asking price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
24.7 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Property: Mercure Gerringong Resort
Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing