We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Gerringong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

As Accor members thought we would advantage ourselves of the benefit of eating there but would have been happy to go there it it's own right.

Great service, reasonably varied menu selection, interesting decor and comfortable seats.

We had exceptional meals for all three courses on both evenings. Not sure what was the best highlight as enjoyed all our meals and the surprise of the Friday night entertainment. Also impressed how well they coped with the chaos of the weather that had a wedding reception relocated there before their normal evening meal times. The wedding guests seemed appreciative, the Restaraunt guests understanding and the staff very professional in how they handled everyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    270
    140
    43
    41
See reviews for
160
357
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I didn't have to pay as I was there for a work function when group of about 12 of us stayed at this hotel, after we had attended a work function for approx 75 people in the restaurant.
The rooms are spacious and quite clean, although I had a small cockroach in my bathroom in the morning. The function was well catered, the food was delicious. I found it hard to sleep with a thunderstorm (obviously not the fault of the hotel), but the TV from the room next door was a bit disturbing. I didn't participate in the breakfast on offer. The pool looked good, but did not have time to try it out, and it was raining. The hotel was quite a distance from anything of note. Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthS529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times whilst visiting relatives. The hotel is clean and modern, not too flash but certainly comfortable. Ample parking and spacious rooms. Breakfast is a little on the ordinary side, but personally I don't expect big city hotel standards when paying country prices in country hotels

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding over a weekend. The hotel is spacious and clean, the breakfast was average to say the least. The pool is lovely, the location of the hotel is slightly out f town.
It's a bit of a soulless hotel, not a lot of character, but it is a safe option on the south coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Resort itself was very nice, great pool and gardens. The room was nice but needed some attention to cleanliness in the shower. There was quite a bit of mould growing between the grouting which I would not expect to see in a Resort of this standard. Unfortunately the service staff in the bar and restaurant let this resort down for this visit. 50 mins to get a BLT...the staff seemed very flustered and kept telling us they were busy with a big drinks order and we would have to wait before we could even order our 1 beer and 1 glass of champagne but there were only 5 tables of people in the restaurant. It then took ages to deliver. The restaurant is lovely but they need to sort their staff our so that they can manage the stress of having numerous customers. Happy to wait within reason but know that service could definitely be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.5 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
24.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
21.6 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Property: Mercure Gerringong Resort
Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing