We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT STAY ON THE SOUTH COAST” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Gerringong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    270
    140
    43
    41
See reviews for
160
357
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent. Haven't had the pleasure of visiting this hotel before but will definitely return hopefully more than once. Spacious rooms, very clean and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was just delicious. Breakfast buffet style. All staff from check in to restaurants were most welcoming and friendly. A longer break than an overnight would have been even better. In addition the scenery of the NSW South Coast is stunning.
Room service is offered but we enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Maybe requesting an upstairs room may give you a view of the ocean. Not a big deal the beach is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Enjoyed really great customer service and a nice buffet breakfast while leisurely reading the complimentary newspapers. Really enjoyed lazing by the adults only pool which is located away from the kids / family pool. Also enjoyed a walk to Gerroa beach which is nearby. My only negative was the mould around the plugs, grout in the bathroom whilst not a huge amount it was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnGW_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff were friendly and the room was reasonably appointed although a bit on the shabby side.
The bed was a bit too hard for my liking and the leather lounge was not at all comfortable. The arm even fell off when I leaned on it.
The rooms are quite spacious with a good TV. The cleaning left a lot to be desired with dust on just about every surface (see photo).
The title of the property (Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea) is misleading as the sea is quite some distance away. I would rename it "Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Swampy Paddock across the Road".
A plus is that it is very peaceful and quiet. Would I stay here again......maybe, if I got a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We rang the hotel in the morning to book in on the same day. Staff were helpful and accommodating of our spontaneous request. We got a good price and loved our stay, swimming, playing tennis and hanging out. It was perfect for what we were looking for, very family friendly and lovely surrounds. The rooms were big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. A little haven by the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein A, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Resort Gerringong.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.5 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
24.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
21.6 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Property: Mercure Gerringong Resort
Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing