We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Restaurant, lovely surrounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Reviewed February 13, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hussein A, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 759 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad2301
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hussein A, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We picked up a scoopon deal for this "mystery hotel" in Gerringong- turned out to be Mercure by the sea. For only $159 you got overnight stay king deluxe balcony room, buffet breakfast, bottle of wine on arrival, $50 dining voucher and 25% off at the day spa.

I recommend booking early as with all the vouchers the weekends filled up quickly. We brought 3 vouchers for 6 girls and were given 3 rooms right next door to each other- rooms 306, 307, 308. Rooms 306& 307 were interconnecting suiting us perfectly. It seems the set up of 306 & 308 were the same with a little fridge and microwave, shower only where as 307 had a mini kitchenette and bathtub.

Service was very efficient and I'm so happy we chose to spend a whole weekend here, we basically never left from arrival Saturday lunch to Sunday check out. We had booked high tea for lunch, followed by day spa treatments plus dinner reservations - all we correct when we arrived so very much appreciated given the 3 bedrooms were made under separate bookings names and references.

I booked high tea for the 6 of us and even though they recently changed high tea to only the 1st Saturday of the month they abided to our booking made prior to the change. The price is $39 pp with sparkling wine and the tea and coffee is unlimited and self serve from the coffee machine . The restaurant decor is fresh and clean, loved how there are couches around if you didn't want to sit the table. Food was good and plentiful, we didn't finish it all so they kindly gave us a takeaway container as they knew we were staying overnight.

The day spa was able to accommodate all 6 of us at once and they even pampered my niece of 5years with a mini manicure and pedi. We had 3 couples rooms and the ladies were nice and the bathrooms with nice warm showers were lovely.

One bad point was there was no wine on arrival in either of 3 rooms. We called reception they said it should be there but if not just to simply pick up 3 complimentary bottles from the restaurant. The head of the resturant, an older lady was very blunt and obviously there had not been in communication for the reception about us coming down- I was told that there was only wine given when you dine in. Luckily I came prepared and showed her the confirmation for all 3 rooms and our deal.
No apology from the grumpy lady instead she just commented there were different deals coming through she just couldn't keep up.

So note, if you purchased your stay on a deal bring a printout with you to avoid any problems.

Happy hour was a hit ( malibu splice- yummy) $9 for cocktails and as we arrived 20mins before it ended the waitress was more than happy to take a large order from our table with a few happy hour drinks ordered each. Dinner was nice, nothing to complain about. As we had $50 credit voucher per room- they suggested we just charge the whole dinner tab to one room and upon checkout they would merge the credit vouchers for all 3 rooms totalling $150 off that bill.

Next morning, breakfast we were greeted by the same unhappy stern older lady- not how you want to start your morning! Breakfast selection was good and replenished quickly.

No problems with checkout either. I would like to thank the staff at reception who took all our bookings and ensured all that was requested was met.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank DAI51E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein A, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I shall share your constructive comments with our team.

Its a positive way for us to improve on our service standards.

Its great to share a lovely weekend away with friends and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrt274
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stay at the Mercure Gerringong last weekend and was very happy with our night there. The room was big with great views, clean and the bed was good.Staff were helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, service was also good.
Breakfast had lots of choices but the coffee was very poor

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fabulous stay, our room with balcony was bright and airy. The food was exceptional, great spread at breakfast and the dinners delicious. Great value for money for us as we are Accor members. We loved Gerringong and would definitely stay with Mercure again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein A, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Mercure Resort Gerringong, I will share your feedback with our team as we are always striving to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Mercure Resort Gerringong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southcoasters05
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
16.1 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
161 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#3 of 3 in Kiama
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range: $111 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing