We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
196
299
174
70
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
299
174
70
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth coastadult poolmovie channelscoffee tableshort drivetennis courtsbuffet breakfastchar restaurantbalcony roomhotel restaurantthe room was niceking bedseven mile beachtown centrepoolsspabella
Filter
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 800 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had high expectations of this place however to say i am extremely dissappointed is a huge understatement.
Made a reservation approx 2 months prior to staying. during this had to confirm our booking 4 times!!!!!....Upon arriving found that our rooms were still not processed correctly and had to stay in rooms that we hadnt booked......hugely disappointed at this stage....but got worse once we entered the rooms.....
whilst the rooms look quite nice, upon closer inspection, we found our carpet to have dirty stains throughout and the drinking glassed in the cabinet to have lipstick marks on them...Putrid!

tried to contact reception via phone however there wasnt any information on how we could contact them...therefore had to walk to reception.....

arrived for breakfast the next day only to have to wait 25 mins for the bacon......once bacon was brought out then had to wait 25 mins for eggs to be cooked.......disgraceful.....

staff are way out of their league here and unfortuntaely it shows......

take my advice and dont step foot in this place.......

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnthonyDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellachara, Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay. Our hotel reservations in the past have all be taken via our front desk reception team & as the front desk can be very busy we have found that booking mistakes can at times happen. Therefore we have recently employed a dedicated Reservations Manager, who works Monday to Friday, to ensure bookings are taken accurately but are also reconfirmed prior to travelling.

We sincerely apologise that your experience was frustrating as you had made specific accommodation arrangements that were not met upon your arrival. Our investment in additional staffing & ongoing reservations training is aimed at eliminating booking errors.

With regards to breakfast, our Sunday morning breakfast from 9.30am-10am after a wedding on a Saturday night is extremely busy & at times our buffet can quickly become depleted. As our chef prepares everything fresh then at busy periods there can be a delay as bacon & eggs are cooked fresh. We would rather have a delay in having fresh food prepared than have dried & unappetising food in the buffet just for the sake of convenience.

Again we thank you for your very honest feedback and regret that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We only stayed one night but it felt like a weekend away - midweek. Highly recommended. The dinner was outstanding, great menu and good size portions plus an excellent wine list. Dessert was outrageously yummy. A walk to the beach (10 mins) in the moonlight helped digestion. Loved the sarongs and beach towels in the rooms, the organic herbal teas, huge baths and excellent linens. Beds were super comfy and king size. TVs enormous but hardly needed. Just sat in the balcony and enjoyed the sounds. Facial was like a shot of valium - left me so relaxed. One bum note was the brekky, could be better (local sourdoughs, free range bacon and eggs to order etc) - but it's hardly a gripe. For the price and location it gets my vote. And only 2 hours from Sydney on good roads with magic views.

Room Tip: corner room facing adults pool
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabaretstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My partner and I came in this hotel for our friend's wedding. We wait for them to prepare our room for hours whereas we asked them in advance if they could prepare our room to get changed before the weeding. The staff was absolutely not helpful, obnoxious and extremely rude whereas this hotel is supposed to be high class. Also they had the great idea to close the restaurant the night of the wedding whereas the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't have dinner. Also at the wedding, the Bride asked them to put the music louder and they totally refused.
To finish, the breakfast buffet was really poor and had absolutely no interest. We had to pay for coffee and hot chocolate which is a shame when they said breakfast included. It was just plain egg with nothing- BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SashaB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellachara, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

As the manager on duty for the date of this wedding I can clearly explain the circumstances as to why some guests had to wait for their rooms. This was because guests were arriving mid-morning on a Sunday to check in after the hotel was fully booked on the Saturday night and regrettably our check in time is not until 2pm.

The circumstances of this guests booking was to attend a wedding taking place mid afternoon on a Sunday & as the hotel was fully booked on the Saturday night we had no rooms available when the guest arrived mid morning. Our checkout time is not until 11am & most guests checked out around 11am-meaning housekeeping couldn't even begin to clean rooms for arriving guests. We had stressed this situation to the bride & groom and re-iterated to all guest bookings that our check in time was at 2pm so guests should come dressed for the wedding ceremony, which was due to start at 1pm.

Unfortunately several of our young housekeeping & mini bar staff were approached repeatedly by anxious wedding guests wanting to get into their rooms and it was necessary to step in and explain again that we were working as fast as we could to get rooms ready for arriving guests. We did arrange to have a complimentary hospitality room available by 11.30am so that guests could use this room to dress for the wedding.

The wedding reception was in our restaurant and noise restrictions are in place so as not to offend our neighbours, hence why the brides request to turn up the music further could not be requested.

With regards to breakfast, a full buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. This includes plunger tea & coffee but does not include expresso coffee of hot chocolate - which are an additional cost.

I hope this information assists in explaining the review we have received by this guest.
Tricia Ashelford
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A great find only 2 hours from Sydney booked on a last minute website. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous with a large pool with sunbeds and lounges.

The buffet breakfast was amazing and offered everything you could possibly want, though after reading good reviews we were let down by the dinner we had in the restaurant - being a Sunday night in late January in was very quiet and we suspect that prehaps the menu may have been cut back and chef had the night off.......

We stayed in a garden room which was well appointed and furnished but our only criticism would be that there was no where to hang wet towels and swimwear after returning from the beach - no balcony and very limited hanging space in the bathroom.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

BEAUTIFUL EVERYTHING at the Bellachara and all the staff members would remember you from anywhere from around the hotel and greet you BEAUTIFUL rooms BEAUTIFUL pool BEAUTIFUL everything I reccomend to all of you to stay at the Bellachara Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lol89955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews