We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as Lamb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed as Lamb”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had high expectations of this place however to say i am extremely dissappointed is a huge understatement.
Made a reservation approx 2 months prior to staying. during this had to confirm our booking 4 times!!!!!....Upon arriving found that our rooms were still not processed correctly and had to stay in rooms that we hadnt booked......hugely disappointed at this stage....but got worse once we entered the rooms.....
whilst the rooms look quite nice, upon closer inspection, we found our carpet to have dirty stains throughout and the drinking glassed in the cabinet to have lipstick marks on them...Putrid!

tried to contact reception via phone however there wasnt any information on how we could contact them...therefore had to walk to reception.....

arrived for breakfast the next day only to have to wait 25 mins for the bacon......once bacon was brought out then had to wait 25 mins for eggs to be cooked.......disgraceful.....

staff are way out of their league here and unfortuntaely it shows......

take my advice and dont step foot in this place.......

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellachara, Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay. Our hotel reservations in the past have all be taken via our front desk reception team & as the front desk can be very busy we have found that booking mistakes can at times happen. Therefore we have recently employed a dedicated Reservations Manager, who works Monday to Friday, to ensure bookings are taken accurately but are also reconfirmed prior to travelling.

We sincerely apologise that your experience was frustrating as you had made specific accommodation arrangements that were not met upon your arrival. Our investment in additional staffing & ongoing reservations training is aimed at eliminating booking errors.

With regards to breakfast, our Sunday morning breakfast from 9.30am-10am after a wedding on a Saturday night is extremely busy & at times our buffet can quickly become depleted. As our chef prepares everything fresh then at busy periods there can be a delay as bacon & eggs are cooked fresh. We would rather have a delay in having fresh food prepared than have dried & unappetising food in the buffet just for the sake of convenience.

Again we thank you for your very honest feedback and regret that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    280
    150
    50
    42
See reviews for
168
375
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We only stayed one night but it felt like a weekend away - midweek. Highly recommended. The dinner was outstanding, great menu and good size portions plus an excellent wine list. Dessert was outrageously yummy. A walk to the beach (10 mins) in the moonlight helped digestion. Loved the sarongs and beach towels in the rooms, the organic herbal teas, huge baths and excellent linens. Beds were super comfy and king size. TVs enormous but hardly needed. Just sat in the balcony and enjoyed the sounds. Facial was like a shot of valium - left me so relaxed. One bum note was the brekky, could be better (local sourdoughs, free range bacon and eggs to order etc) - but it's hardly a gripe. For the price and location it gets my vote. And only 2 hours from Sydney on good roads with magic views.

Room Tip: corner room facing adults pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabaretstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My partner and I came in this hotel for our friend's wedding. We wait for them to prepare our room for hours whereas we asked them in advance if they could prepare our room to get changed before the weeding. The staff was absolutely not helpful, obnoxious and extremely rude whereas this hotel is supposed to be high class. Also they had the great idea to close the restaurant the night of the wedding whereas the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't have dinner. Also at the wedding, the Bride asked them to put the music louder and they totally refused.
To finish, the breakfast buffet was really poor and had absolutely no interest. We had to pay for coffee and hot chocolate which is a shame when they said breakfast included. It was just plain egg with nothing- BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellachara, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
As the manager on duty for the date of this wedding I can clearly explain the circumstances as to why some guests had to wait for their rooms. This was because guests were arriving mid-morning on a Sunday to check in after the hotel was fully booked on the Saturday night and regrettably our check in time is not until 2pm.

The circumstances of this guests booking was to attend a wedding taking place mid afternoon on a Sunday & as the hotel was fully booked on the Saturday night we had no rooms available when the guest arrived mid morning. Our checkout time is not until 11am & most guests checked out around 11am-meaning housekeeping couldn't even begin to clean rooms for arriving guests. We had stressed this situation to the bride & groom and re-iterated to all guest bookings that our check in time was at 2pm so guests should come dressed for the wedding ceremony, which was due to start at 1pm.

Unfortunately several of our young housekeeping & mini bar staff were approached repeatedly by anxious wedding guests wanting to get into their rooms and it was necessary to step in and explain again that we were working as fast as we could to get rooms ready for arriving guests. We did arrange to have a complimentary hospitality room available by 11.30am so that guests could use this room to dress for the wedding.

The wedding reception was in our restaurant and noise restrictions are in place so as not to offend our neighbours, hence why the brides request to turn up the music further could not be requested.

With regards to breakfast, a full buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. This includes plunger tea & coffee but does not include expresso coffee of hot chocolate - which are an additional cost.

I hope this information assists in explaining the review we have received by this guest.
Tricia Ashelford
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gerringong hotels

Bronte, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A great find only 2 hours from Sydney booked on a last minute website. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous with a large pool with sunbeds and lounges.

The buffet breakfast was amazing and offered everything you could possibly want, though after reading good reviews we were let down by the dinner we had in the restaurant - being a Sunday night in late January in was very quiet and we suspect that prehaps the menu may have been cut back and chef had the night off.......

We stayed in a garden room which was well appointed and furnished but our only criticism would be that there was no where to hang wet towels and swimwear after returning from the beach - no balcony and very limited hanging space in the bathroom.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

BEAUTIFUL EVERYTHING at the Bellachara and all the staff members would remember you from anywhere from around the hotel and greet you BEAUTIFUL rooms BEAUTIFUL pool BEAUTIFUL everything I reccomend to all of you to stay at the Bellachara Hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lol89955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Bella Chara cater for all. The rooms are stylish and well appointed, the restaurant is good but a little pricey, there is a kids club next to the restaurant. Children are entertained while you eat and close enough to check on. Bella Chara has great facilities and friendly helpful service. Breaky was included and had a great selection. There is a pool bar operating, lounge chairs around the pool area, bbq facilities which you can use, BYO food to eat by the pool if you wish. A small kitchen, microwave, large fridge, stove. Pool towels also. A charming boutique hotel. We really really enjoyed our stay. Great quality. We will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We ended up at the Bella Chara by accident and were thrilled! I've travelled extensively with my 2 children to many 5 (and the few 6) star resorts and don't believe any have catered to families as well as the Bella Chara. The rooms are stylish and well appointed, the restaurant is fabulous, if occasionally a little slow, and the fact that there is a kids club, Jak's Place, located next to the restaurant is a dream. Children are entertained while you eat, but close enough to feel comfortable and check in if you wish. You can order your children's meal to be delivered to them while in the club enjoying painting, playing with toys or video games. What was most refreshing about Bella Chara was the pricing. We were treated to great facilities, awesome food and friendly service at great prices. Our stay in room 214, next to tennis court with full fridge, adjoining room if required, close to both the adult only and family pools, and day spa was a joy from check in until check out. More 5 star resorts should take a lesson from this charming boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
4.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
21.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
143 reviews
8.0 mi away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
4.5 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Property: Mercure Gerringong Resort
Address: 1 Fern St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing