We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Ridge Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Ridge Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Clean and comfortable room with a balcony and a distant view of the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff. We were able to have a late check out which was great. It is located in the centre of town which is great for eating out and only a short distance from the beach. There was a nice restaurant and the food looked good but we didn't get the chance to try it. The only negative was the noisy air conditioning unit when we switched it off and opened the window we were kept awake by other rooms outside units despite that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Sarah.

Thank you for the honest response.

We are sorry to hear about your sleepless night becouse of the noisy air conditioning unit.
We are currently looking into it, and are doing an upgrade of some of the noisy units.
Never the less, we are happy to hear that you will be comming back again.
Our best feedback is our returne clientel.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards
Moshe

Park Ridge Retreat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    62
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
66
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Spotless clean unit, comfortable bed, helpful manager, what more could you ask for. manager noticed i was having trouble on the stairs and carried bags to the car, did not ask for it and it was most appreciated. the Sea Bream Cafe is also located in the complex,had dinner there, excellent food at a reasonable price Highly recommend the retreat.

Room Tip: Select top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iha255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Iha.

Thank you for the positive review, and sorry it took us so long to respond (we are just recovering of the summer holidays period).
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the dinner in our restaurant. The restaurant was reopened just before Christmas, and all feedback are welcome. It is our way to better ourselves.

Hope to see you again sometime in future.

Best Regards
Moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a beautiful time my partner and I had last week at Park Ridge Retreat!

The guy [who we discovered was the proprietor], who greeted us on arrival was very welcoming and made us feel very much at home. Great room, simple decor, very clean and priceless view from the balcony looking towards the ocean

We opted for the the special 2-course dinner with a free bottle of house wine. We enjoyed well-cooked fresh food with options being salt & pepper squid and smoked salmon & rocket salad followed by Mediterranean-style chicken or succulent rare rib-eye beef.

The holiday was a last minute escape from Sydney for the weekend and we will definitely be back.
.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sokoni d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Sokoni.
Thank you for the review.
Very impressive of a guest to study the menu so well, I suppose you are a person in the food industry. I am glad you enjoyed your meal, and also our special meal promotion, which include the complementary bottle of Chatsworth Estate wine.

Wishing you all the best and hope to host you hear again.

Regards
Moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

3 main reasons I didn't enjoy my stay at the park ridge retreat:

1. Bicycle unfriendly- arrived in an rainy evening on my bike, the reception looked surprise to see my bike and didn't know what to do with it - first the reception suggest I brought it to the room and park it in the balcony. Within a few minutes, the same person told me it wasn't a good idea as it may dirty the carpet. We then spent about a few minutes trying to figure out where we can best park it while I was feeling cold and uncomfortable in my wet clothing.

2. Burn breakfast - ordered some croissants and found both with one side very burn and tasted bitter. Definitely not what I'd expect from a four star rated room service

3. Small and squeezish Bedroom configuration while shower room is very basic without bath tube and shower cap. The shower head seemed leaking badly with an inconsistent water temperature

It's so unpleasant, I decided to leave early next morning ASAP even it's already being paid for two nights.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rideforfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi.

I am so sorry about your spoiled holiday. I was surprised to see you arriving on bicycle so late in the evening, in such a heavy rain, you were completely drenched with water, and I recall you were cold and uncomfortable in your wet clothing, you were concern all your clothing was wet, but luckily you had some dry clothes. Not a good start to your holidays.

I send my apologies regard to the breakfast. However, we would have been more than happy to have replaced the burned croissants, if you would had expressed your dis-satisfaction.

The bathroom you had in your room was completely renovated a month before your stay. Following your comments in your review, we tested all the taps, and found no problems.

Unfortunately for you , after leaving your friend behind, the sun came out, and it turned out to be a beautiful day.

Regards
Moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beautifully located, Park Ridge Retreat offers very good accommodation in a rural seaside location. Handy to amenities but still with seaside and rural views. Rooms are very good standard, breakfasts are excellent, especially when served on the balcony. We loved the shakshuka breakfast, an Israeli specialty. The planned new restaurant will greatly add to the attraction of the retreat. Very friendly and helpful host, we loved our stay and can highly recommend the Park Ridge Retreat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you Carolyn.
It was our pleasure having you with us.

XX
Moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I like to get away down to the south coast as often as we can. We have stayed in various places in Gerringong in the past, including the "Park Ridge Retreat" , used to be the Anchor Inn. The time before this was not as nice as we were expecting, service bad and the rooms not as clean or decorated the way one would expect. Since our last visit the place has a new owner, Mosh, a very pleasant person who was ever so friendly. The rooms, hallways and entryway have a new look, very nicely decorated with a fresh feel. We only had the one night, but the experience was one that will stay with us, we love the area and it makes a big difference when you have nice accommodation. Thank you Mosh, will try to get there again as soon as we can

Room Tip: Get a room first floor or above at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgrange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Guys.

Thank you for your warm comments, and is was lovely seeing you again.
We also enjoy making a place which is liked and appriciated by our guest.

Thank you.

Regards
Moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I highly recommend this accommodation, we stayed with a group at Park Ridge Retreat an had a wonderful time, the owners are new and they are in the process of refurbishing. We stayed in the section that had been completed, very comfortable spacious rooms with king-size beds + ensuite
also a balcony with a pleasant outlook.
The restaurant will soon be opening and looks very pleasant, unfortunately not ready for us. We could walk to the village and restaurants, so nice not to drive to dinner and lovely to stroll back after. We checked out several other accommodation venues and non could offer the location we had especially with a group (8). The new owners are very helpful and pleasant and we wish them all the best with their new venture. We had a lovely stay and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had top floor room with view to south
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieqlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosh2014, Manager at Park Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Sue.

Thank you for all the kind words and the support you showing. We enjoyed the group of people you brought with you last October. We looking forward to hosting you and your friends in March.
You will be pleased to hear that the restaurnat is up and running with a great shef in place.

Best Regards
Moshe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerringong
0.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
22.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
15.7 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
7.8 mi away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Ridge Retreat

Property: Park Ridge Retreat
Address: 139 Belinda St, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Gerringong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Ridge Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Ridge Retreat is quietly elevated on a headland, nestled amid picturesque rolling hills, pristine beaches, and historic sea pools. It a place you would like to visit again and again... We offer our guests a relaxed and quiet stay in the semi-rural village of Gerringong. Amidst our own tropical gardens we greet you with, a smile, spacious rooms, and wide corridors adorned with original art. We are adjacent to the town centre, supermarket, shops, cafes and restaurants. A short stroll takes you to Cemetery Outlook, Boat Harbour and Werri Beach. Our retreat comprising of three floors, has underground car parking. We offer 30 rooms with free Wi-Fi and air conditioning, catering for a variety of sleeping arrangements and price options. While all rooms are non-smoking, ninety per cent have balconies to take in the views and enjoy room service breakfast. In the evening our licenced restaurant offers Contemporary Australian Cuisine in candlelit ambience overlooking our tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Park Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing