We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, excellent coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gerringong Cafe

Gerringong Cafe
Ranked #18 of 23 Restaurants in Gerringong
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

On a recent visit to Australia and on a drive along the Sapphire Coast, we chanced on Gerringong Cafe, and fell in love with everything - the atmosphere, the menu choices, the freshness of the food and, of course, the superb coffee. I had the salad with venison sausage, and all that I can remember, a month later is how tasty it was. To my delight, having fallen in love with Australia's coffee culture, the cafe served coffees from award-winning roaster, Daily Grind Coffee, which did not disappoint. Now back in Toronto, I certainly wished I had a second visit to the cafe. It was very spacious and certainly a favorite spot for the locals as it was quite full during lunch, but it never seemed noisy. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1georgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very average food for the massive price you pay and very rude staff along with shockingly bad coffee.
The cafe has such great potential but unfortunately it doesn't seem the right 'passionate' people running it. It's very obvious thats it's a cash cow for someone out there. Avoid disappoint and don't bother.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited for both breakfast and lunch, couldn't fault the place. Friendly staff, great good and very fast, excellent coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank familyhols_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food and service is fantastic. Nice cafe. Smoothie was gorgeous, and coffee is very good. Nice big place with plenty of room for prams, clean and not too noisy. Very nice!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Its usually hard to find a good little cafe in main street (133 fern street), but this cafe had great service as soon as we walked in. The staff we genuinely friendly & the food was simple yet v tasty. The selection of food & coffee is quite large & offer dine in & take away. It was doing a roaring trade

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerringong Cafe also viewed

Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 

Been to Gerringong Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing