We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining and worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shimmer Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Shimmer Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine dining and worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ate here a couple of weeks ago and the food was delicious. We had the 4 course grazing menu which was perfect. Not too much not too little. All of the flavours matched perfectly. The tortellini was moorish and the beef was beautifully tender.
The disappointing thing was that the place was nearly empty. I hope this was an unusual for them. I hate to see local businesses struggling especially when they are so good. This was our second visit and the food was just as good this time if not better. We drove 30 mins to get here and it has been worth it both times. I urge everyone to give this restaurant a go and if you are locals please go again as it is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JosephineMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We ate here as a large group. The service was good but not great - the meals were passed over and along the table. My bowl was greasy on the underside and as it was passed to me my hand were covered in oil. Not the best start. The meals were very generous as were the sides. We had the unfortunate position of being near the door so every time it opened ( and not closed) we felt the cold draught - they could have also had the heating a little warmer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We recently had our wedding reception at Shimmer Restaurant and I can't even begin to explain what a wonderful experience we had. From the service provided to the venue location it was perfect. They accommodated to our every request without hesitation, their flexibility with the menu and bar service was second to none. The service was friendly and prompt, the flexibility of their opening and set up hours ( to the detriment of their own breakfast service ) along with allowing us to rearrange their entire restaurant was one less burden on our day. This is not to mention the outstanding quality of the food that was an absolute highlight for both us and our guests. The views are absolutely beautiful and great-full for them having us and sharing in our special day.
I would recommend Shimmer Restaurant to anyone and can't speak highly enough of Alison and Mark and their staff.
Thanks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely, but just short of great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The food was lovely, particularly entree and dessert (lemon cheesecake, passion-fruit icecream and berries was exceptional) . Main didn't quite make it to excellent - the barramundi was really nice, but some of the bits with it were a bit oily, event though crispy. Veges were crisp and interesting with chilli, pamersin cheese and capers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malimover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We came here for dinner on a Friday night. The views were amazing. The atmosphere was lovely. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was absolutely amazing! Highly recommended if you're after a relaxed, but sophisticated dining experience with amazing food!

We were even treated to an 'amouse bouche' which I now know is a complimentary bite size taster before any food is served, and it was amazing!

5 stars!

Helpful?
1 Thank CB197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimmer Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing