We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good quality meal in Gerringong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shimmer Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Shimmer Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bulli, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good quality meal in Gerringong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed a good quality meal at Shimmer.
The Winter Special menu was good value
No complaints from us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food and wine with a creative flair.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited Shimmers last night for my son's birthday and we all enjoyed it. My son is a chef and crtiques what he eats and he really enjoyed the menu and the quality of the produce. The service was very good and we all really enjoyed our meals. My only comment is that I felt a bit cold and it may be good to warm up the decor a little bit for a winter dining experience,however, I fully understand that the coastal vibe is the focus.
Thanks for providing a fine dining venue in Gerringong. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scouller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Price vs. Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I ate at Shimmer over the Queen's Birthday long weekend. We were looking for a nice place for dinner in Gerringong. Basing our decision on the menu and the quality of the chefs we headed to Shimmer.

Sadly we didn't see the sunset so maybe we missed their best feature. Unfortunately I found the meal pretty disappointing given the price. I had the Kingfish with prawn ravioli for $34 - which is steep even by Sydney standards. The ravioli was undercooked to the point of being crunchy and the Kingfish was overcooked and dry. The flavours were there but the execution wasn't.

Perhaps it was an off night but $135 for 2 people (only 2 glasses of wine) left me feeling a little ripped off given the quality of the food.

Maybe next time...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exquisit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place has it all!

The view from the balcony is just breath taking, rivalling anything in Sydney.

The wine list is small but everything you could want is on it. It has got to be up there with one of the greatest short lists i've seen! Great range of beers/ales and plenty of wine by the glass as well as loads of local drops.

The service is not like what you would find in Sydney or Melbourne but it suites not only the style of the restaurant but the whole environment of the area. The staff smile, they are very knowledgeable of their product and will do anything to make your dining experience comfortable and memorable in a relaxed atmosphere.

Now the food,... My word, it is just AMAZING! Fresh seafood, great range of dishes, exotic ingredients, WOW!. It is truly great to see a restaurant on the South Coast of NSW finally putting on such a quality of cuisine that has been missing for a very long time. This will truly rival some of the best Hatted restaurants I have eaten at in this country!

We loved it so much we ate their 2 nights in a row and then, lunch the day after and then breakfast the day after that.

What I'm finding hard to believe is that this restaurant is at the bottom of the Tripadvisor list for Gerringong! Its just goes to show that there is some serious holes/issues in Tripadvisor that they can't control.

We will be back, we love the place so much and it looks to me that a lot of other people do too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Magic view & friendly service. Food was nice with having the option of a simple burger & chips. Great looking bar, would be great day or night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimmer Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing