We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well presented regional food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Char Restaurant + Wine Bar

Bella Char Restaurant + Wine Bar
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Gerringong
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bella Char Restaurant & Wine BarThe designBella Char Restaurant & Wine Bar is a contemporary restaurant designed with leather and wood textures in rich colours of red, white and chocolate. Abundant in natural light, created to enhance the experience when enjoying beautiful food and fine wine. Dine inside the restaurant or casually outside in the courtyard or terrace, all options are chic, modern and delightfully comfortable.the foodOur chefs have created a contemporary menu of modern Australian cuisine. The menu changes seasonally in order to gain best of each season's ingredients to bring our their natural flavours. We proudly showcases local Illawarra and Shoalhaven suppliers and produce.Restaurant opening times Breakfast 7 Days – 7am to 10am Lunch Saturday Only – 12pm to 3pm Dinner Monday to Saturday – 6pm to late. (Closed Sunday)** High Tea is available on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of every month **
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
464 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Well presented regional food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

3 for dinner, we all had entree's, mains, a few glasses of wine, topped of with coffee and a whisky. Over all it was a comfortable evening. The staff were pleasant and informative, they knew what was on the menu and the specials. Everything came as ordered, no problems. The decor is country, open spaces and a bit noisy. Perhaps something to soften the floor and walls would be good. Bill came to $255, including a bottle of the local Shiraz.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    29
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best dining experience at Bella Char Restauraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a work function at Bella Char Restauraunt & wine bar. Firstly you are taken away by the restaurant which is a good size and apparently was formerly used as a barn. The setting is nice in candlelight which warms the room also with nice high ceilings and table settings. It feels very fancy and warm to dine in. Service was outstanding from the waiter and menu selection meant we were spoilt for choice with an array of delicious entree, main and desert. My colleague enjoyed the baked scallops, I enjoyed the Duck & pistachio terrine - both dishes were exquisite to start with and we felt that it was a very decent portion size. The mains I enjoyed a Grilled pork loin which was cooked perfectly and had a combination of interesting textures and flavours, the vegetables and celeriac were the best I have tasted. For dessert my colleague enjoyed the Baked chocolate fondant which is a definite for my next visit. However, the Quince jelly, mascarpone cream, pistachio biscotti crumble was to die for and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pjexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food but a let down on the front house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I have returned since my visit in march, and I must say the food choices from the menu are beautiful and tasty. However the last time I returned it seemed there was more of a one on one vibe and typical fine dining atmosphere. There was no candles, no music and most of all no one on one conversations with the staff as I had experienced the lastime I came. Probably due to the fact as they were understaffed. The previous time I felt more comfortable and warmth by the staff. But amazing food as always!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 72Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The quality and presentation of the evening meals were excellent.The house wine was was good. The breakfast offered was huge with adequate selection.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pearls42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just nice, not amazing but nice :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at The Mecure for two nights and ate at the restaurant three times--two breakfasts and one dinner. The breakfasts were a fairly standard offering including cereals, toasts and hot food (avoid the scrambled eggs) but the hot pancake machine was a winner! The dinner was very pleasant, and service was reasonably good. It's not amazing food but I enjoyed a nice beef fillet and hubby had the lamb, not huge servings for my hungry hubby so the $38 per meal didn't go very far as I usually give him some of mine. We both had desserts and they were delicious, can recommend the apple maple cake Yum!! Probably give it 7 out of 10.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Char Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 

Been to Bella Char Restaurant + Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing