We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much worth the effort.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorrigo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mossgrove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Dorrigo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are places to stay that sometimes make a journey memorable & Mossgrove is just such a location. Sue & John bring a great deal of passion and capacity to their beautiful B & B and this becomes more and more obvious with the passage of every pleasurable hour spent as their guests. Every aspect of Mossgrove we found agreeable - lovely food; a brilliant home and gardens that demand a close look. We found the stay to be very good value overall and a great starting point to take in a part of NSW not seen before. Well done Sue & John - many thanks.
Pamela & Steve

Room Tip: Both available are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Mossgrove was the perfect getaway for us after a busy time with family and friends over the Christmas. Sue and John spared no effort to ensure that our stay was memorable and were attentive to our every need. There is so much to enjoy at Mossgrove, the wonderful garden, John's magnificent Bonsia collection and his creative fruit platters for breakfast where a great treat. Sue's delicous home made afternoon tea and warm welcome on our arrival as well as the thoughtful attention to detail made our stay a delightful experience. Sue and John's tips on where to eat and shop were most helpful and we found Mossgrove a great base to explore the World Herigage Dorrigo National Park and the peaceful countryside around Dorrigo. We hope to return. Jo and Hans

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mossgrove was truely a magnificent b&b property flanked with gorgeous established trees and gardens. Our hosts Sue and John were very friendly, warm and attentive. They were very engaging with our two small girls. We were welcomed with afternoon tea and a delicious homemade cake. Continental breakfasts were fantastic and plentiful. We had a very relaxing stay. Rooms were extremely comfy. Our small children loved wandering through the gardens, feeding chooks and playing with a very placid farm dog. As for us adults, we just loved the peace and tranquility. Thanks for a truly memorable New Years Eve stay! Easy access to Dorrigo National Park and famous waterfalls and walks.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After wanting to visit the much talked about Dorrigo for years, we finally made the trip up there and were not disappointed. Dorrigo is a breathtaking area, and Mossgrove B&B compliments its surroundings perfectly. The timeless ambient cottage is beautifully kept and was embedded in a lovely garden. We cannot sing high enough praises for our hospitable hosts, John and Sue who were lovely people and very informative. Jess the dog was beautiful; placid and easy going, a far cry from our own highly- strung border collies at home. Moreover, the afternoon tea, along with the full continental breakfast were simply delicious, with influences from Italy brought back from John and Sue's recent trip there. We sat outside on the verandah to enjoy our meals and commune with nature- and the chooks, but when the weather didn't permit we were able to sit in the ornate dining room. It must also be noted that John's bonsai collection was inspiring, and after a few tips our son is itching to start a bonsai of his own. After visiting twice, we cannot wait to make a third trip back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile


Moss Grove is the perfect place to stay in this hidden little town. A few k's from the town center the first thing that hit us as we drove down the drive way were the amazing grounds. Our hosts obviously care very much for their garden and it has paid off.

We were greeted by Sue and John, both super friendly and accommodating. Once we had settled in Sue brought us tea and home made carrot cake to enjoy in the garden.

The rooms are lovely and the beds are comfy. The set up is almost like a two bedroom cottage. The bathroom is big with a great shower and bath. Washing machine and dryer included! Lots and lots of dvd's to watch if you feel like staying in. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. You'd think Sue and John were both qualified chefs!

Sue and John were absolutely lovely - extremely friendly and kind. Sue even made a reservation for us at the local pizzeria!

It felt like a five star experience and we left feeling happy.

We strongly recommend Moss Grove.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewombat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was one of the best holiday stays we have had anywhere. We sat on a lovely little deck outside a delightful cottage every day, watching chooks that laid fresh eggs for each morning's sumptuous breakfast. Some days, a satin bower bird paraded outside our bedroom window, with little blue wrens flitting in and around the surrounding bushes and a whip bird calling from close by.
The extensive garden was most inviting and a witness to the very generous rainfall and fertile soil that is characteristic of the region and that supports the ancient rain forest for which Dorrigo is justifiably famous.
And on top of this we were privileged to meet the most friendly and hospitable hosts in John and Sue. This was definitely an expereince to be repeated! Lesley

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay in Dorrigo. Accommodation is in a guest wing of the house - private lounge, bedroom (or two if you are travelling with friends), bathroom and even a well equipped kitchenette! Sue and John are wonderful hosts - you feel more like you are staying with friends than staying in a hotel - or worse, interfering in someone else's home! The place is very clean and warm (our visit was in winter) with great attention to detail ("tea and coffee making facilities" includes an elegant selection of T2 tea leaves). The kitchenette was an unexpected bonus, sufficient for preparing a simple meal if you'd rather snuggle in front of the fire than head out for dinner. The bathroom is enormous with a luxurious shower with soft water from their bore.

We only had the continental breakfast on both mornings, but even that was generous and presented beautifully.

The real magic of this B&B is the garden and the amazing bonzai collection. We would love to come back and see the garden in all its autumn splendour sometime!

Dogs at B&Bs can be problematic for us sometimes as my husband has allergies (and I'm not always comfortable with dogs) but Jess the border collie was very sweet and well behaved - a lovely feature of the property rather than a detraction! And the place was so clean allergies were not a problem.

Overall, from first impressions (including the informative website) to last, this B&B exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing getaway around the Coffs Coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kairui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorrigo
6.7 mi away
Lookout Mountain Retreat
3.6 mi away
Fernbrook Lodge
Fernbrook Lodge
#3 of 7 in Dorrigo
37 reviews
16.5 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bellingen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossgrove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossgrove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 589 Old Coast Rd | P.O. Box 480 Dorrigo, Dorrigo, New South Wales 2453, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dorrigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dorrigo
Price Range: $148 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MossGrove Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Dorrigo NSW, is part of a charming federation home set on six acres, located on the cool climate Dorrigo Plateau, and only 8kms from Dorrigo and World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing