We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good country motel”
Review of The Denman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Denman
Ranked #1 of 1 Denman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A good country motel”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here a few times and always clean and tidy. nothing exceptional but for the traveller it's good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneydavid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The motel is in a good location. It is part of the pubs premises with another pub across the corner and walking distance to the main street.

The rooms: average size and clean bit don't expect too much. There is a sink, good aircon, basic requirements are catered for. Parking is at the door, but no seating outside the room or in the motel itself, you have to walk across to the hotels beer garden if you want to sit outside. There is also mo minibar. Basic breakfast, bread, cereal, juice is provided. The restaurant at the hotel is not too bad. Don't expect pub fare though. Large menu and tasty but a bit pricey.

The only thing we found a bit annoying was that the office was never open. You have to go to the main bar of the pub and they call someone to the office.

All in all it's an ok place to put your head down for the night but a bit expensive for what you get. Would probably stay elsewhere if you just want a bed for the night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed with family in an interconnecting rooms, rooms are clean, all equipment in room are good quality and in top working order. Kettle, toaster, cuttleries provided were clean. Rooms were clean and did not smell of cigarette smoke nor deodorant cleaning spray.
Basic breakfast provided were adequate, kept us going untill the coffee shops were openned.
Took me an hour an 20 minutes easy drive from Pokolbin to Denman. Worth it, since the rate was very affordable.
Check in and out easy, staff friendly. My email to owner and was promptly answered, she called me back and very foward with rate and she even booked dinner reservations for me. Best part? motel is walking distance to the pub and a fantastic restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper6678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Nice room, bathroom and décor - lovely motel. On the corner infront of the hotel there is also a great public free Internet point.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I travel to the Upper Hunter regularly to visit my SES units at Denman & Muswellbrook. This is the first time I have stayed in Denman. The motel is clean, checkin was fast, the owner is a very nice man and very helpful. The motel has a hotel on the same complex and the food is equal to any upper class restaurant. It's also a very quiet motel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glp1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I recently stayed at the Grapevine Hotel for business purposes. Check in was very simple, and easy to do.
The room I had was very clean and in good repair. Wireless internet access was available by purchasing a prepaid card from reception, and was cheap for 24hr access.
There is a restuarant in the hotel area of the complex which has some very reasonable prices meals. They were all of very good quality.
The main town was a very easy walk (approx 200 metres) from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJSos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I travel through the Hunter Valley to the Central West for business and have typically stayed in Muswellbrook. The facilities are excellent and it is next to a nice pub which is where the restaurant is located - a great setup. The food was ok; we arrived a little late so I'll have to give it another go before my final judgement.

Denman is a much more pleasant place to stay (no heavy traffic through the night etc) and I will be staying at the Grapevine in future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasie_Birdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denman
0.2 mi away
Denman Motor Inn
Denman Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Denman
59 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sandy Hollow Tourist Park
Sandy Hollow Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Sandy Hollow
57 reviews
14.3 mi away
Remington Motor Inn
Remington Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Muswellbrook
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Denman Van Village
Denman Van Village
#1 of 2 in Denman
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Denman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Denman

Property: The Denman
Address: 1 - 5 Ogilvie St | Intersection of Palace St, Denman, New South Wales 2328, Australia (Formerly The Grapevine Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Denman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Denman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Denman 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Denman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing