We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible greedy customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible greedy customer service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Assisted my parents to book into deluxe 2 bedroom elevated riverside cabin to spend long weekend with them and my wife as we now live in seperate cities. Have been coming to Deni for 30+ years and due to blues festival our usual accom was booked out. Thought being at out of town caravan park would be okay as we could spend some quality time with family. My parents arrived and were asked to pay the exta money for 4 of us up front before being shown to cabin - totaling almost $1000 for 4 nights. Then were taken to a basic ground level riverside cabin, with a view of the communal bbq area in front of the river, with one double bed and kids bunks in the 2nd room. When my parents said there must be a mistake - they were told this was the cabin my mother confirmed via response email from the park management. Management telling my mother she was at fault for confirming the booking mistake - as if she is supposed to know the category names of their cabins. And in her response to the email she questioned the booking to ensure they knew it was 4 adults and and not 2 + 2 children - then called as well to make sure we were getting 2 double beds in seperate rooms. Being totally booked out and knowing the whole town was booked out they then put my parents in separate staff accomodation and us in the bbq view cabin and refused to give any refund, despite us being separated and in a cheaper cabin too!
Bad enough to make the booking mistake (mistakes happen) but rather than just apologise and do the right thing they infer it was our mistake for not recognizing the mistake they made, then charge full price despite completely stuffing up our weekend. Greedy and mismanaged!
Have told many locals and friends not to recommend...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HolidayChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, Owner at BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for bringing your dissatisfaction to our attention as we welcome the opportunity to investigate any area that we can improve our service. We always endeavour to deliver the best holiday experience to every guest and this starts with the bookings process.

Our records show a booking was made for a Riverfront Two Bedroom Holiday Cabin and a confirmation email sent with details including the total tariff for two adults and the cabin bedding configuration of a queen bed and one set of single bunks. On 20 February we received an email questioning the fact that only two adults were included in the tariff and stating “our adult children” would be joining the booking party and to “make sure they can be accommodated in the unit”. Our reply addressed the question of tariff i.e. that extras could be accommodated and when not staying for the entire reservation period they would be charged on arrival. As there was no indication in the email that the adult children referred to were in fact a couple this was not given consideration. The bunks in the second bedroom are full sized singles and will accommodate adults.

The Cottage is a fully self-contained cabin that includes a queen bed and is used as tourist accommodation. As pointed out both the town and the park were booked to capacity over the Easter weekend and our staff offered this option at no additional charge in an effort to make your party more comfortable. We regret that you see this as greedy.

We have thoroughly reviewed this incident as we would never knowingly compromise the enjoyment or comfort of our guests and hope that you will return again to BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    41
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
109
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times over the last few years. Each time have stayed in either a riverfront deluxe cabin or a riverfront cabin. Either are great, with verandahs with uninterrupted views of the river. With the deluxe you have your own bbq hotplate on the verandah, and can park under the unit. With the cabins you have the use of a shared bbq. Either provide very good accommodation, with the location and the view being the attraction that has seen us have repeat stays here. The whole park is very well maintained and presented, from the clean rooms to the well kept grounds and facilities.

Every staff member I dealt with was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick a cabin overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Heaps & heaps to offer here! The Edward River runs right next to the park so If you are into fishing or water sports (skinig, wakeboard etc) then this is the place for that and a combination of relaxation and kids activities. There is a full size basketball court which is also a tennis court, what seems to be a adults pool for the sun bakers and or people who want a quiet swim. There is a mini golf course which is next to a MASSIVE jumping pillow which is next to a water park which is next to a large solar heated kids pool. The ablution blocks are very clean and up to date. It does take a while for the hot water to come through so don't walk away thinking you have only got a cold water shower as your only option. The sites have a nice covering of lush grass and are a decent size. In the afternoon on a warn day head down to the banks of the You can hire go karts.....the peddle variety that is, for the kids to ride around in or a tandem one for both the kids or adults. Bottom line is don't think, Deni? Why would i go to Deni? This park is the reason why! We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: If you have young ones you might not want to camp too close to the Edward river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azafraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Looking forward to the weekend away and sadly my mother passed away, contacted park to discuss our situation & the possibility of transfering weekend.
But to our disbelief there was no negotiating and no understanding ,the policy is cancellation, taking two nights accomodation fees.We are return customers and have watched the park grow and develop over the years and now it is a dollar driven business with no compassion, so very disappointed. We only wanted a transfer not a refund, I don't think this an unreasonable request for return customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveCarr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, Manager at BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do have clear terms and conditions for bookings, especially in periods of high demand, and we assume that your booking fell within one of these times. It is never our intention to disappoint our valued guests and we always try to accommodate cancellations and requests for changes to bookings. We will continue to consider every request individually and strive for a positive outcome for all in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wodonga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we have stayed here 3 times in the past year - villas and camping ground, and it has always been awesome! great to relax, unwind and keep the kids entertained! highly recommend for any aussie traveller!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great facilities, clean and well maintained. Camping sites were big with nice green lawns! The kids loved the pool, jumping pillow, water park and play area. The big kids enjoyed the basketball and tennis courts. Beautiful park with great views of the river.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A great park and the cabins were extremely clean. We stayed for the first time to attend a wedding held in the park of a couple who had been staying here for quite a few years and it was absolutely beautiful with the bride arriving by boat and the ceremony held beside the river. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I dont think there are rooms to be faulted but some are on the river which we had, and some are near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Julie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, Owner at BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us, especially for such a special event as a wedding. We will pass on your feedback to our entire team and look forward to seeing you back at BIG4 Deni soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deniliquin hotels
2.7 mi away
The Riviana Motel
The Riviana Motel
#3 of 5 in Deniliquin
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centrepoint Motel Deniliquin
3.2 mi away
Settlement Motor Inn
Settlement Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Deniliquin
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 8 in Deniliquin
26 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deniliquin Motel
Deniliquin Motel
#2 of 8 in Deniliquin
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deniliquin Country Club Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park
Address: Lot 100 Ochtertyre Street, Deniliquin, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Deniliquin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Deniliquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park is an award winning resort style caravan park beautifully located on the banks of the Edward River just three hours from Melbourne. We have a range of cabin accommodation overlooking the water, powered and unpowered sites with camp kitchen, conference facilities/recreation room and our own private boat ramp. So bring the boat and go fishing or waterskiing. If you'd rather stick closer to home, take advantage of our solar heated swimming pool, brand new water park with water slide and giant water bucket, 18 hole mini golf course, jumping pillow, playground or go karts. BIG4 Deniliquin has something for everyone, so come and relax and let the kid go nuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Deniliquin Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing