We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover”
Review of Culcairn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcairn Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culcairn
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Culcairn Motor Inn one the way from Melbourne to Central West NSW. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The facilities of the room were great and the value for moeny was excellent. We normally stay in Albury, but from now on will always be checking in to the Culciarn Motor Inn. Loved it.

Room Tip: Despite the location, the noise was surpirsingly minimal from the Highway traffic. Therefore, don...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony Kate Charl... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Culcairn Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here many times over the years using family rooms and a single room. They are large rooms in a brick building that do not require you to go outside to change your mind and are always clean. Heating from the quiet split system air-conditioner (the older window ratters have been replaced since I was here last) was adequate. It coped reasonably for this stay (10 degrees C), but I have had a minus 4 degrees C here one July morning with a good layer of ice on the car so I can’t say how it would go then.
The rooms at the front are larger family rooms but face onto the Olympic Highway. The 50kph speed zone commencement signs have been moved further out of town so I didn’t notice any trucks slowing on exhaust brakes as they went past – an issue previously. The Sydney to Melbourne rail line is on the other side of the highway but the trains roll past travelling quite quickly but can be easily heard in the otherwise quiet town. Both these aspects are but minor issues so maybe ask for a higher no room if this is an issue for you.
I’ve not had breakfast here, preferring to get away early and use one of my favourite places in either direction from here. However, dinner at the Culcairn Hotel bistro is strongly recommended. They serve typical pub food in a typical country pub. It won’t leave you disappointed (or hungry)!
The owners have changed since I was here last but seem to be right on top of looking after guests. The rooms and the bathrooms appear to have been updated since my last stay. Lighting was quite good - I dislike dark rooms and underpowered lightbulbs, especially if you want to work at the desk.

All in all a comfortable stopover.

One small criticism is the gravel courtyard outside. The gravel is quite thick and loose so cars make a fair noise on it. Even walking on the gravel seems noisy.

Tariffs are most reasonable; I’ve paid more to stay in older and smaller rooms. This is one of the reasons why I keep staying here - value for money.

Room Tip: Higher no of rooms are furthest away from highway. However, this is a quiet town and the noise from...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank offshore956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a fantastic place. Great hosts, huge rooms, and great breakfasts that are very reasonably. priced.
I have been in many motels, but do not recall any having standard rooms of such a huge size, along with big bathroom also. Even a small kitchenette, and you can get a microwave from the office if required, even though we did not require one.
More people should visit the Culcairn region, but for accomodation you can't go past this motel. You can use it as a "base" to visit even Albury or Wagga, (or beyond).
Could not believe how cheap cooked breakfasts were, and continental breakfasts were under 8 dollars. Try getting that sort of value anywhere else. The fact that the Melbourne-Sydney train line is right across the road is no big deal. You hardly hear trains at night, if at all, and there are only a couple usually anyway, most are in daytime.
The motel is very clean, flat screen TV's with ALL channels, something even expensive hotels cannot provide, and the owners are very friendly and approachable, nothing is an problem for them, whether it be providing an iron, or giving advice on the area. I also like the fact that they work in with other local establishments, promoting meals at the local pub, (a very historical place in itself), or pizzas at one of the local take aways.
The Culcairn Hotel meals in the evening are also good value, and excellent quality. Try their seafood dishes.
All in all a great stay and will be back again to explore more of the region.

Room Tip: No "better" rooms really. All seem fine. Do not worry about the rail line opposite, someti...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheSlothMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here hoping to have a quiet and restful night. We where really impressed with the cleanliness of our room. The fact that the Motel is located on the Olympic Hwy was no issue at all in regards to traffic noise during the night. It was lovely to arrive here and be addressed by my name. Very personalized service. We'd definitely recommend this motel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We arrived at this Motel by chance, having missed turns prior, what a lucky thing for us, we could not have have found a better place to stop. Super friendly hosts,super clean room,quiet area,and what a breakfast!!! Fresh home grown produce and cooked to perfection and very reasonably priced. Brilliant way to start the rest of our journey home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank silfergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way through to QLD. Found the owners to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Bathroom was large and clean, plenty of hot water.

A couple of trucks went past at night, but as the Motel is on the main highway this was expected. It did not cause any real disturbance.

We'd stay at this Motel again, and have recommended it to others also.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the rear, probably a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank winaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

The Culcairn Motor Inn was previously the Morgan Country Motel and is in this historic and underrated small town on the main Melbourne to Sydney railway line and the Olympic Way. 'Morgan Country' refers to the bushranger of more than a century ago, 'Mad Dog' Morgan.

Thankfully this motel does not rob guests like the bushrangers once robbed travellers.

I did not sleep well but this was not the fault of the motel design.

The proprietor or manager was very friendly. The motel is close to the railway station and about 400 - 500 metres from shops and the town's major historic hotel, a landmark for this Riverina town.

I did not have breakfast but the room only tariff was most reasonable.

All in all, a good base for exploring the picturesque southwestern region of NSW and cheaper than many motels in Albury/ Wodonga.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Culcairn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcairn Motor Inn

Address: 2 Melrose St | Olympic Highway, Culcairn, New South Wales 2660, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Culcairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culcairn
Price Range: $68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcairn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Culcairn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing