We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Chinese food handy location”

Campbelltown Gold Wheel
Ranked #78 of 163 Restaurants in Campbelltown
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese food handy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Location of restaurant was in the hotel where we were staying and made for an easy location for dinner. The restaurant is licenced. Food was ok, reminded me of Chinese when I was a kid, very 60's decor food kind of matches that. In saying that the meal sizes were large and the restaurant owner was very nice and kind.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bribrendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Located within Maclin Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were staying at Maclin Lodge and decided to eat at the Chinese Restaurant attached to the Lodge. We enjoyed our meal and the service provided. The restaurant was popular with fellow dine in and take away customers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tasty food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We were staying overnight in Sydney. In the car park of Maclin Motel is where the Gold Wheel is located. After a long drive, feeling lazy, tried the most convenient option available to us and walked over.

Ordered scallops and veggie which was fresh, generous with scallops and tasty. If you love hot food, try the Chief's recommended disk, Chilli combination hot pot. Again, the hot pot was filled to the top with beef, chicken, scallops, calamari and flavoured with ginger, chilli and garlic. It was slightly pricy $28 but I felt I got what I paid for so I'm happy.

There were only 3 tables occupied at the time of our visit so I cannot speak about the service during busier times.

If you are staying at Maclin, and feel like Chinese food, not a bad option.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepyKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We whent for a frends birthday . We were hoping for a great night , the service was slow . The price of soft drinks were just over the top , we asked for jugs of softdrinks as no one was drinking . They had bottles of coke which they would have got from the supermarket for $4.00 and were charging $8.00 a jug .
As for the food , it had way to much MSG , there was 6 at our table and we all got sick .
DON'T GO !!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sitting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Deal at the Golden Wheel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Golden Wheel Restaurant is located at the rear of the Maclin Motor Inn at Campbelltown.

The food is first class and at a reasonable price.

Try the sweet and sour pork and omelettes.

Great for eat inn or take away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campbelltown Gold Wheel also viewed

Campbelltown, Greater Sydney
Campbelltown, Greater Sydney
 
Campbelltown, Greater Sydney
 
Minto, Campbelltown
Campbelltown, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Campbelltown Gold Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing