We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All ruined by noise”
Review of Camden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Camden B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Reception staff polite and efficient. Good location with nice views and gardens, good sized room with large, well appointed bathroom. Room was clean though showing signs of needing some updating. Hot water was set at such a low temperature it was barely hot enough to shower with, even without using the cold tap. Overall would not have been good value at full price, but reasonable at special offer. However, the whole experience is ruined by lack of sound proofing between rooms, as mentioned by a previous reviewer. The level of noise heard from neighbouring rooms is incredibly intrusive and totally unacceptable (without the other guests being unreasonably noisy), and overrides all the good features that this hotel offers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-Michelle R, Manager at Camden Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Firstly I would like to take this first moment to apologies profusely for your experience in our accommodation. We will definitly forward your comments to management, to rectify the issues with the room you have experienced.

I appreciate your honesty, with regard to your review left on the TripAdvisor website; this gives us something to strive towards; that being to change your opinion of the venue and provide you with an experience that surpasses your expectations and meets the high standards expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had our wedding reception here in Oct 2011.
For the price the food was below average, we had a few meals in the pub (we stayed 2 nights) and again the food was average, some things on the menu weren't available (still not available weeks later).
Rooms were OK, paid extra for the 'bridal package' and found them stingy (3 strawberries and poor quality!).
Walls not sound proofed - could clearly hear what was going on in rooms around us.
Would recommend for the ambiance in the pub and the beautiful gardens but not to stay the night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sometimetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-Michelle R, Manager at Camden Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Firstly I would like to take this first moment to apologies profusely for your experience. I assure you that your feedback is very important to us, and will be forwarded to management to rectify the issues you experienced. We have just appointed a new head chef and our meals and service a definitly improving.

I appreciate your honesty, with regard to your review left on the eatability website; this gives us something to strive towards; that being to change your opinion of the venue and provide you with an experience that surpasses your expectations and meets the high standards expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great views, gardens are kept up really nice lawns mowed, rooms are very clean and also the bathrooms, friendly staff my only down fall was the walls are too thin so you could hear everything from the room next door, the TV, what they were saying, everything, and when they would turn the tap on there was a very loud clanking sound that woke us up in the middle of the night every time they would use the tap from the next room. The food was really nice from the pub that's on the grounds and I was happy that Friday nights you get free dessert with every meal. Overall I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights here while visiting family. Everything ran very smoothly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Reception staff were helpful and efficient. Staff in the dining and bar area were so friendly and helpful and we were able to spend 2 Cosy evenings sitting on the chesterfields around the fire with pre and post dinner drinks. Just great! Food was a bit disappointing on both nights but I'm sure this will be improved in the future. It didn't detract from it being a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room choose the far cottage block, we had room 35. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highflyer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I attended a wedding here in April 2012. The whole establishment has a charming old English cottage feel and the marquee setup for the wedding reception was beautiful. The only disappointment was that the whole place (most importantly the pub!) was closed by midnight. It’s a little early in my opinion but understandable. The staff during the wedding were very friendly and helpful and the wedding MC that was provided by Camden Valley Inn was fantastic! (sorry - can't remember his name!)

I shared my room with a friend – it was a large room, very clean, with a big bathroom/shower and we each had a double (possibly queen size) bed. The price was quite reasonable considering you could comfortably fit four people in the room and split the cost four ways. I’d recommend rooms 1-4 as they are further to the back and sort of separated from the rest of the accommodation so there was no noise and also a pretty view of the bush/farmland.

The food during the wedding and also breakfast the next day was great. I would definitely recommend getting the chocolate pudding for dessert!

My only (small) complaint would be the customer service. In the week leading up to our stay I tried to call and confirm everything was fine with our booking. My calls went straight to a voicemail message that said “hi, leave a message and I’ll get back to you” – not very professional. Also when I was checking in there was quite a wait as there were two people in front of me and only one person on reception. The person on reception also had to cover phone calls while checking people in so it was a bit of a slow process.

Apart from that, it was a lovely stay and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Out of date accommodation. For the price you pay for the night one would think this would include a modern television at the least. Old TV with no digital channels. We were placed in an upstairs room despite having requested a cot (for an extra fee!) and having a 10 month old baby - very inconvenient with a pram and luggage etc. Room was very basic with a very overpriced bar fridge list! Unfriendly reminder in rooms that late check out will incur a $100 fee - are you kidding???? After travelling 8+ hours to arrive, we were not impressed with service nor facilities. Upon checking out and presenting for breakfast at the restaurant, we were told by inappropriately dressed kitchen staff " chef says it's too hectic to do anymore breakfasts today!" sorry! So with a 10 month old baby, 8+ hours to travel home, an empty wallet after the paying the extortianate fee for what was very average accommodation we had to leave with an empty stomach! So all in all, I would not recommend Camden Valley Inn to any travellers. My advice to the proprietors - Time to improve on facilities and customer service skills to match that of the rates you charge!!!! NOT HAPPY!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nichole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-Michelle R, Owner at Camden Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

We would like to apologise for your experience at our venue. We find your feedback interesting as we have just been award 2010 State AHA Best Pub Style Accommodation and 2011 National Best Pub Style accommodation awards. We will take your feedback on board and review our services.

We have never had a complaint on our 10am check out procedure, which is an industry standard, and late check out fee's do apply in most hotels if you choose to stay past the clearly stated check out times. If you had wanted to stay past this time, this could have been discussed with reception and your options presented to you. We would have been happy to assist in whatever way possible.

Unfortunately with approximatly 400 people who travel to our venue for lunch on a weekend, we do require a closing time for the kitchen. This closing time is 10am and is clearly stated in the in room brochures on the hotel. This time enables our kitchen and staff to prepare for our busy lunch period.

Pricing in our in room bar fridges are standard in the industry, and are a convenience available to you to utlise. Your ofcourse welcome to bring snacks and drinks from the shops to store in the fridge if you prefer.

The uniforms worn by our staff fit within our theme of a family friendly pub. Collared shirts and black skirts or pants are the usual for post venues alike to ours.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your experience at Camden Valley Inn, and if you chose to return, we would be happy to assist you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Had a lovely long weekend with my Mum. We booked the "experience" package. The room was very spacious with 2 double beds. The TV was old without digital channels but that was ok coz we only watched the tennis on 7. All requests were taken care of promptly and friendly. The restaurant was incredible. The meals were very generous and reasonably priced. Even though it was very busy the meals came almost straight away. Can definitely recommend this place. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-Michelle R, Manager at Camden Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at Camden Valley Inn, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
6.5 mi away
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
#1 of 3 in Campbelltown
439 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
#3 of 3 in Campbelltown
228 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
#3 of 10 in Liverpool
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Country Comfort Hunts Liverpool
7.5 mi away
Maclin Lodge Motel
Maclin Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Campbelltown
162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Narellan Motor Inn
Narellan Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Narellan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Valley Inn

Address: 290 Remembrance Drwy | Camden Park, Camden, New South Wales 2570, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: $171 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gateway to the southern Highlands, Camden Valley Inn recent award winners of "Best Pub Style Accommodation- National” offers 40 rooms of luxury accommodation. All rooms come with a panoramic view of the stunning Camden Valley and your own private balcony. Camden Valley Inn offers onsite restaurant facilities, sports bar, beautiful surrounding gardens and function/conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing