We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly peaceful and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Beach House At Byron
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a great place for young families or romantic get aways. It is quiet and peaceful, located just out of the main town, and right near the beach. There's a restaurant across the road. It's comfortable and relaxing. A really good place to unwind. The furniture and surroundings are lovely. It really feels like home.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 78 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

They seem to have massive issues with their booking system. We were due to stay a weekend a few months ago, I sent my credit card details as confirmation etc and then called to confirm and were told that apparently the booking details that I had been corresonding to on e-mail were not transferred to their online booking confirmation. We were then left without anywhere to stay for our anniversary weekend away and we ended up not being able to go to Byron at all due to the incompetence of the staff at this B&B. I sent several e-mails and tried to call to find out how this had happened and if there was anything they could do to rectify the situation, but I was ignored.
STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS FROM THIS ONE IF YOU WOULD LIKE A GUARANTEED BOOKING

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KAF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor12, Owner at A Beach House At Byron, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2010

Our booking system is the same used by many major hotels. As soon as you book us on line either on our website or through any of our partners the room is yours and no one else can have it, it is confirmed immediately. If you request a booking by sending an email or over the phone your booking will be processed manually. We always send a confirmation for any booked room. If you believe you have a booking but do not receive a confirmation from any provider you should always contact them promptly to find out why.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed in the Gazebo and woke up with butterflies, the view from there is amazing. Great value for money, it's lovely and quiet and it's awesome being that close to the beach.
Thankyou for my stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Its not often what you see on the internet is what you get, but A beach House at Byron is just that. We stayed in the Cottage for 3 nights (the Cottage is 2 bedrooms like a small house with Kitchen) and then the Gazebo for 3 nights (the Gazebo is a funky room at the waters edge). The location is great with nearby cafe's and no crowds, the rooms are really quiet and private and the place is close to the beach and you can hear the surf as if its right next door. The place has that home feeling to it and has lots of nice touches, not at all like staying in a hotel or motel. The gardens are fantastic and the views and the birds in the morning and the sunsets.......Everything was pretty straight foreward from booking on line to arrival etc. There is no thumping big sign out the front, in fact no sign at all and that kind of sets the trend of the place, low key no fuss, stylish.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bonyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We found this place online a few years back when looking for something reasonably priced, basic but still comfortable, private, secluded, near the beach and quiet - it was absolutely perfect for what we wanted! The owner s had lots of nice touches such as board games, a CD player, mosquito coils, and teak chairs and a table on the balcony.

Of the units on offer, we chose to one closest to the river , which was a really cute octagonal hut on stilts with bathroom underneath, and bed, fridge, shelves and table-chairs upstairs. To get to our hut, there was a cute little jungle walk from the end of the driveway. We even convinced a pizza delivery guy to come out one rainy night!

It was a 10-minute walk to the beach, a good walk or cab ride into town for supplies, and private enough to enjoy our honeymoon in peace!

  • Stayed: April 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank J_HenNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

The property appears to have originally been someone's home, with various alterations and additions and converted into four holiday units. I stayed for 4 nights in "the Studio" which is built in front of the property in the driveway next to the car-port. The location is close to the beach in a quiet area, and about a 25 minute walk into town along the beach (bring a torch). The Studio is comfortably furnished and clean. The entrance from the driveway takes you through the shower-room into the bedroom, and there is a sliding door from the bedroom onto the patio. The bathroom sink doubles as the kitchen sink. The property advertises a 2-minute walk to the local cafes and also free internet wi-fi access. However, be aware the local cafes are not open in the evenings - you need to go to town to eat, and the wi-fi signal is too far from the Studio to be of use.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brent-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor12, Manager at A Beach House At Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Byron township is a casual 15 minute walk down the beach or the road, the Tree House Cafe on the corner is open 360 days breakfast lunch and dinner, the WI FI reception is 100% in all rooms. The Studio has 50% of its main aspect in a tropical garden. Beats me some people are just set on being miserable no matter how fabulous their surroundings and no matter what great value they are getting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

This hotel/retreat sounds lovely, we selected it based on the information and photos that they give on their website. We booked their Gazebo suite using their online system following email correspondence directly with them in which they confirmed the availability of the suite. We duly paid our deposit (50% - Aus$375) on the 18th Oct. All good so far...

Then a month later on 12th Nov I got an email from the hotel saying that there had been a problem with their online booking system and there was a double booking on our suite. We were offered either a refund or one of their other (not so nice) cabins. The other cabin wasn't suitable for us so on the 14th Nov I asked for a refund.

The refund took 22 days to arrive (came through this morning finally after chasing on my part and claims from the hotel that the refund had left their account on an earlier occasion when it now seems it didn't) and was not for the full amount - I have been left £13.95 out of pocket. Far from great.

Just wanted to warn folks that a deposit paid at A Beach House at Byron does not necessarily secure your accommodation :-(

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank FreecycleDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.7 mi away
Cavvanbah
Cavvanbah
#19 of 34 in Byron Bay
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
483 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Byron Retreat
Cape Byron Retreat
#2 of 2 in Skinners Shoot
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach House At Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach House At Byron

Address: 12 Giaour St | Belongil, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range: $141 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Beach House At Byron 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach House At Byron offers quiet, unique and self-contained accommodation in a great location: Belongil beach and cafes are a 2-minute walk from the property. All units are set among lush tropical gardens, featuring cozy décor with high ceilings, hardwood floors, quality furnishings and artwork by local artists. Each unit is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, tea & coffee making facilities. A Beach House At Byron is a 20-minute walk from the heart of Byron Bay. Arakwal National Park is an 8-minute drive from the property and Ballina Byron Airport a 35-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Beach House At Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing