We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for a drink”

Balcony Bar & Oyster Co
Ranked #28 of 190 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Meters back from legendary main beach, Balcony Bar & Oyster Co sits perched high above the hustle and bustle of Byron Bays busy streets. This heritage listed building is reminiscent of a seaside beach house. The signature wrap around deck captures the setting sun and is the perfect place to tuck into some freshly shucked oysters with an icy cold beer or a glass or rose. Executive Chef Sean Connolly has prepared a menu reflecting his signature style of cooking; simple, approachable and where possible on the bone or in the shell, allowing the produce to speak for itself. Balcony Bar & Oyster Co. exudes a neighbourhood spot where you can drop by anytime for a drink with friends and a few oysters or small plates.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

After reading the guide book it sounded really exciting. The location was good for people watching and the drinks were good but the cocktail menu was not that extensive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    314
    185
    123
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tapas that tempt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A trip to Byron always sees tapas and drinks @ The Balcony featured somewhere on the itinerary. The Arancini are out of this world! I also have a soft spot for the calamari. The tapas for the most part have always been sensational but I wouldn’t order a side of the seasonal vegetables again, they left a lot to be desired.

If you're going thu-sun make sure you book to avoid disappointment. Request a table out on the balcony, we always do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food atrocious service. Don't go if you want food /drinks served this millennia”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good food and location but atrocious service. Don't go if you want food /drinks served this millennia. 90 minutes to be served when they weren't busy. Had to chase staff for drinks and gave up in the end.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sor51926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
“Terrible service and food median”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Terrible service and food median, which is not worth the price charged. On 18/01/13, I, my wife and 6 friends went over to the restaurant. We initially beer, it was not served at the proper temperature. Then we made our requests. I ordered camarones al pil pil and my wife ordered pasta. Ap'so almost an hour, the dishes had not been served and questioning a waitress, eladisse which would be served. After another 20 minutes, my plate arrived (only 4 prawns for $ 16). After some time, the question about the métier takes the dish from my wife when informed foos (nearly 2 hours!), Which fails, the request had not been made ​​and the chef was gone. When asked about the failure, the métier, instead of apologizing, yet said nothing could be spoken of the restaurant, which was internationally (??). In the end, after much outrage, gave a 25% discount on the bill, which was not worth the hassle because we had to ask for food elsewhere later. In short, I can not recommend this restaurant to anyone, because nothing justifies such an expensive restaurant dispense treatment to clients.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristianomata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. The balcony was full and we had a group of ten so ate indoors. The food serving were generous and the quality was very good for this type of eatery. A good variety of food and drink, served promptly and with courtesy and friendliness. Definitely would recommend and would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank makadalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balcony Bar & Oyster Co also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Balcony Bar & Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing